Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 12/03/2022 Rulings Update

Traptrix and miscellaneous Q&As.

 

 

Q: While I do not control any cards, my opponent’s Kashtira Fenrir attacks directly, and I activate the effect of Smoke Mosquito during damage calculation. In this case, it becomes the end of the Battle Phase, but can my opponent activate the effect of Kashtira Fenrir that banishes a card face-down?
A: No, they cannot activate it.

Source

 

Q: The effects of Vanity’s Fiend, Vanity’s Ruler, or Vanity’s Emptiness that prevent Special Summons are applying. In this situation, can I activate Interrupted Kaiju Slumber?
A: Monsters cannot be Special Summoned while the effects of Vanity’s Emptiness, etc. are applying, so Interrupted Kaiju Slumber cannot be activated. Also, if Vanity’s Emptiness is chained to the activation of Interrupted Kaiju Slumber, the part of the effect that destroys all monsters on the field will be applied, but afterward the part of the effect that Special Summons 2 “Kaiju” monsters from the Deck is not applied.

Source

 

Q: If I activate a Traptrix Holetaea that was Set by the effect of Traptrix Dionaea, and reach the End Phase of my next turn while it is Special Summoned as a monster, will it be banished by the effect of Traptrix Dionaea? Also, if Traptrix Holetaea was Set by the effect of Traptrix Genlisea, and then Special Summoned as a monster, will it be banished when it leaves the field?
A: Neither effect will apply. Once Traptrix Holetaea is no longer treated as a Trap when its effect resolves, any effects applied to it while it was in the Spell & Trap Zone are removed. In other words, after that point, the effects “banish it during the End Phase of your next turn” and “banish them when they leave the field” are no longer applied to it.

Source

 

Q: A Traptrix Holetaea was Set this turn, and the effect of either Temple of the Kings, Absolute King Back Jack, Legendary Knight Critias, Boogie Trap, Trap Trick, Boo-Boo Game, Angel of Blue Tears, Labrynth Cooclock, or Exchange of Despair and Hope allows it to be activated this turn. If I activate that Traptrix Holetaea, can I still discard a Normal Trap to activate it, as written in its own text?
A: You can choose to discard to activate it, or activate it without discarding. (You can activate it this turn by applying the effect that already allows it to be activated during the turn it was Set, or by the method written in its own text.)

Source

 

Q: I activated the effect of Traptrix Rafflesia by sending Delusion Trap Hole to the Graveyard as cost. When resolving the effect, after destroying the targeted monster, can I also banish a monster from my opponent’s Graveyard if that Delusion Trap Hole is still in my Graveyard?
A: Yes, you can.

Source

 

Q: When is an activated Delusion Trap Hole sent from the Spell & Trap Zone to the Graveyard?
A: As long as another card’s effect is not involved, Delusion Trap Hole will remain in the Spell & Trap Zone while the Chain is resolving and is sent to the Graveyard after the entire Chain finishes resolving.
In other words, when Delusion Trap Hole is activated, its effect resolves while Delusion Trap Hole itself is still in the Spell & Trap Zone. (On its own, it does not fulfill its condition to apply the part of the effect that banishes a monster from your opponent’s Graveyard.)
However, this does not apply if Delusion Trap Hole is used as the cost of another effect activated on the same Chain or leaves the Spell & Trap Zone due to the effect of another card on the same Chain. For example, if Delusion Trap Hole is sent to the Graveyard due to the cost or effect of another card activated on the same Chain, its effect resolves while Delusion Trap Hole itself is in the Graveyard. In that case, it fulfills its condition to apply the part of the effect that banishes a monster from your opponent’s Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: Can Traptrix Holetaea be sent to the Graveyard as cost to activate the effect of Traptrix Rafflesia?
A: No, you cannot. The first effect of Traptrix Holetaea can only be applied when the card Traptrix Holetaea itself is activated. Therefore, it cannot be applied by effects such as Traptrix Rafflesia that apply another card’s effect as their own effect.

Source

 

Q: I control Ancient Gear Howitzer (Machine) and Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomyniad (Warrior), and both are unaffected by other cards’ effects. In this situation, if the effect of my opponent’s Rivalry of Warlords is applied, do I have to send either Ancient Gear Howitzer or Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomyniad to the Graveyard?
A: One of them must be sent to the Graveyard. The effect of Rivalry of Warlords is one that imposes upon each player the condition that each can only control 1 Type of face-up monster. (It is not an effect that affects monsters.)
If this condition is not met, each player must send monsters from their field to the Graveyard so that they only control 1 Type. Sending monsters to the Graveyard is something each player must perform when they control a monster that cannot exist on their field. It is not an effect applied to the monsters.
Therefore, even monsters unaffected by Trap effects will be sent to the Graveyard. Also, this is not treated as a monster being sent to the Graveyard by a the effect of a Trap Card.
The same applies to the effects of the following cards:
– Gozen Match
– There Can Be Only One
– Ocean Dragon Lord – Kairyu-Shin

Source

 

Q: I control Ancient Gear Howitzer and Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomyniad, and both are unaffected by other cards’ effects. In this situation, when resolving the effect of my opponent’s Evenly Matched and the only card my opponent controls is that Evenly Matched, do I have to banish either Ancient Gear Howitzer or Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomyniad face-down?
A: One of them must be banished face-down. When resolving the effect of Evenly Matched, the opponent of the activating player must banish cards they control face-down until they control the same number of cards as their opponent. As a result, the opponent of the activating player will banish cards from their own field face-down. Cards banished when resolving this effect are not treated as being banished by this effect.
Therefore, even monsters unaffected by Trap effects will be banished face-down. Also, this is not treated as a monster being banished face-down by a the effect of a Trap Card.
The effects of the following cards are also not considered to affect cards in the hand, field, or Graveyard, just like Evenly Matched:
– Apoqliphort Towers
– Battle of the Elements
– Brutal Beast Battle
– Bubble Crash
– Cyber Angel Dakini
– Cyber Angel Izana
– Evil★Twins Ki-sikil & Lil-la
– Extinction on Schedule
– Ferret Flames
– Forbidden Apocrypha
– Harr, Generaider Boss of Storms
– Herald of the Abyss
– Kashtira Big Bang
– Magikey Spirit – Vepartu
– Maple Maiden
– Millennium Revelation
– Rikka Flurries
– Share the Pain
– Switch Point
– Trickstar Light Stage
– Ursarctic Quint Charge
– Vola-Chemicritter Methydraco
– Weight Measuring

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.