[OCG] 11/27/14 Rulings

11/27/2014
Assorted rulings

Q: My opponent controls 3 “Elemental HERO” monsters, and 1 Spell/Trap Card, while I control 2 Spell/Trap Cards. If my opponent activates R – Righteous Justice, can I chain Starlight Road?
A: In this example, since 2 Spell/Trap Cards you control would be destroyed, you can activate Starlight Road. However, if it is uncertain that the effect of R – Righteous Justice will destroy 2 Spell/Trap Cards you control, you cannot activate Starlight Road. (For example, if each player controls 2 Spell/Trap Cards and your opponent controls 3 “Elemental HERO” monsters when they activate R – Righteous Justice, your 2 Spell/Trap Cards will not necessarily be destroyed. Starlight Road cannot be chained.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14450&keyword=&tag=0

Q: My opponent controls 3 “Elemental HERO” monsters, and each player controls 2 Spell/Trap Cards. If my opponent then Normal Summons Elemental HERO Stratos and activates its first effect, can I chain Starlight Road?
A: Since the effect of your opponent’s Elemental HERO Stratos can destroy any number of Spell/Trap Cards on the field up to the number of “HERO” monsters the opponent controls, you cannot activate Starlight Road. If your opponent activates the effect of Elemental HERO Stratos, they can choose to only destroy 1 Spell/Trap Card on the field, and does not have to destroy the same number of them as the number of “HERO” monsters they control (3 in your example). Thus, when the effect of Elemental HERO Stratos activates, it is uncertain whether or not it will destroy 2 or more of your Spell/Trap Cards, so Starlight Road cannot be chained.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9550&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Solemn Warning be chained to the effect of Maiden with Eyes of Blue that activates when it is targeted for an attack? Also, can Solemn Warning be chained to the effect of Maiden with Eyes of Blue that activates when it is targeted by a card effect?
A: Solemn Warning can be chained to either effect of Maiden with Eyes of Blue.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9072&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When my Superheavy Samurai Big Benkei attacks while in face-up Defense Position, if I activate Limiter Removal, what happens to the ATK of Superheavy Samurai Big Benkei?
A: In this case, the ATK of Superheavy Samurai Big Benkei will double from 1000 to 2000, but during damage calculation, its DEF of 3500 will be applied as its ATK. Note that even in this case, because Superheavy Samurai Big Benkei was affected by Limiter Removal, it is destroyed during the End Phase.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11371&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Nitro Warrior is Synchro Summoned using Quickdraw Synchron and Quillbolt Hedgehog as Synchro Materials. If Nitro Warrior is then targeted by De-Synchro, can Quickdraw Synchron and Quillbolt Hedgehog be Special Summoned from the Graveyard?
A: Even though Quickdraw Synchron is being used as a substitute for Nitro Synchron, it is still treated as the monster that was used for the Synchro Summon. (Both Quickdraw Synchron and Quillbolt Hedgehog can be Special Summoned from the Graveyard.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9003&keyword=&tag=0

Q: The only card on my side of the field is 1 face-up monster. If my opponent uses the effect of Number 61: Volcasaurus to destroy that monster and inflict damage, can I Special Summon Gorz the Emissary of Darkness from my hand?
A: The effect of Number 61: Volcasaurus destroys the targeted monster and inflicts damage simultaneously. Therefore, since you took damage from a card your opponent controls and now control no cards, you can Special Summon Gorz the Emissary of Darkness from your hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6501&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I target a Stronghold the Moving Fortress being treated as a monster, or a Metal Reflect Slime treated as a Machine-Type because of DNA Surgery, etc. with Machine Duplication?
A: Stronghold the Moving Fortress and Metal Reflect Slime are treated as monsters by their own effects, but the copies with the same names in your Deck are still Trap Cards. Since it is not possible to Special Summon any monsters from your Deck with Machine Duplication, it cannot be activated by targeting Stronghold the Moving Fortress, etc.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11367&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Sheep Token is being treated as a Machine-Type because of DNA Surgery, can it be targeted by Machine Duplication?
A: Since a Sheep Token does not exist in the Deck, it is not possible to Special Summon any monsters with Machine Duplication, so it cannot target a Sheep Token.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6&keyword=&tag=0

(Why don’t they just use a Machine-Type Token in the examples…?)

Q: When my opponent Special Summons a monster from my Graveyard with Monster Reborn, can I Special Summon Doppelwarrior from my hand?
A: Yes, you can.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10294&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Cyber Dragon and Machina Gearframe both exist in my Monster Zone. If Machina Gearframe is being affected by the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand, so that it becomes unaffected by any other card effects, can it still be sent to the Graveyard to Special Summon Chimeratech Fortress Dragon?
A: Summoning Chimeratech Fortress Dragon by the method described in its text is not a card effect, so even a monster under the effects of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand can be sent to the Graveyard to Special Summon it.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10692&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While the effect of Skill Drain is applying, if the effect of Mobius the Frost Monarch is activated, can the effect of By Order of the Emperor be chained?
A: Even while the effect of Skill Drain is applying, if the effect of Mobius the Frost Monarch is activated, the effect of By Order of the Emperor can be used to negate the activation and draw 1 card.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7639&keyword=&tag=0

Q: The effect of Raiza the Storm Monarch is activated, and the effect of By Order of the Emperor is chained. Furthermore, Compulsory Evacuation Device is chained, so that Raiza the Storm Monarch is returned to the hand. How does By Order of the Emperor resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of By Order of the Emperor, even if the monster whose effect was activated is not on the field anymore, the activation of its effect can still be negated, and the player who activated the effect of Raiza the Storm Monarch will still draw 1 card.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10308&keyword=&tag=0

Q: After Setting a Spell Card this turn, if Anti-Spell Fragrance is activated, can the Spell Card that was Set beforehand be activated this turn?
A: Any non-Quick-Play Spell Card that was Set this turn before Anti-Spell Fragrance was activated can still be activated during this turn. Any Quick-Play Spell Card that was Set this turn before Anti-Spell Fragrance was activated can be activated during the next turn (the opponent’s turn).
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10218&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If my opponent activates Eradicator Epidemic Virus by declaring Spell Cards, what happens to an Artifact Moralltach that is Set in my Spell & Trap Zone?
A: A Set Artifact Moralltach in your Spell & Trap Zone is considered a Spell Card, so it will be destroyed if your opponent activates Eradicator Epidemic Virus by declaring Spell Cards. In addition, if it was destroyed during your opponent’s turn, since it was destroyed while Set in your Spell & Trap Zone, it will be Special Summoned from the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8729&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Beast King Barbaros has been Normal Summoned without Tributes through its own effect, and is then targeted by the effect of Copycat, what does the ATK and DEF of Copycat become?
A: In this case, since the original ATK of Beast King Barbaros has become 1900, the ATK and DEF of Copycat will become 1900 and 1200, respectively.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=60&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Mono Synchron and Tuningware are used for a Synchro Summon, can the effect of Tuningware which treats it as a Level 2 monster be applied?
A: When Mono Synchron is used for a Synchro Summon, the other materials are treated as Level 1. The effect of Tuningware cannot be applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9434&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When my opponent Synchro Summons Black Rose Dragon and activates its effect, I chain Void Trap Hole. If my opponent then chains Book of Moon, so that Black Rose Dragon is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does Void Trap Hole resolve?
A: When resolving Void Trap Hole, if the opponent’s monster does not have 2000 or more ATK, the effect is not applied. (The monster’s effects are not negated, and it is not destroyed.) In this situation, the effect of Black Rose Dragon at Chain Link 1 will resolve normally and destroy all cards on the field.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9068&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While DDD Leonidas the Rebellious King exists in my Monster Zone, if Destruction Ring is activated, what happens to the damage that each player receives?
A: If Destruction Ring targets a monster other than DDD Leonidas the Rebellious King, the damage you take becomes 0, and your opponent still takes 1000 damage. If Destruction Ring targets DDD Leonidas the Rebellious King, since it is destroyed, its effect will not be applied, and both players take 1000 damage.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13492&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Cyber Repair Plant target a Fusion Monster like Cyber Twin Dragon or an Xyz Monster like Cyber Dragon Nova?
A: Yes, those monsters can be targeted. (They are returned to the Extra Deck instead.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11370&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A Number 39: Utopia equipped with ZW – Asura Strike attacks an opponent’s Ruffian Railcar, but the opponent activates the effect of Construction Train Signal Red from their hand, and damage calculation is performed. After that battle is finished, can Number 39: Utopia attack either Ruffian Railcar or Construction Train Signal Red?
A: In this case, since the effect of Construction Train Signal Red makes itself the attack target, it cannot be attacked again by Number 39: Utopia equipped with ZW – Asura Strike. In addition, the Ruffian Railcar which was attacked when the opponent activated the effect of Construction Train Signal Red also cannot be attacked again.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10214&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I activate Soul Exchange by targeting a face-down monster on my opponent’s side of the field, can I activate Deck Devastation Virus?
A: To activate Deck Devastation Virus, you would need to Tribute a DARK monster with 2000 or more ATK that you control. The face-down monster targeted by Soul Exchange cannot have its ATK or Attribute verified, it cannot be Tributed to activate your Deck Devastation Virus. (So in your example, if you do not Tribute a DARK monster with 2000 or more ATK that you control, you cannot activate Deck Devastation Virus.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6180&keyword=&tag=0

Q: During my Draw Phase, if my Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys is destroyed by Raigeki Break, when will its effect to Special Summon itself activate?
A: If Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys is destroyed and sent to your Graveyard during your Draw Phase, it will Special Summon itself during the next Standby Phase, which is the Standby Phase of that same turn. (During the Standby Phase that immediately follows that Draw Phase, you will Special Summon it.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6146&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Stardust Dragon chain its effect to any of the following cards, which require a coin toss or die roll to determine whether or not they will destroy a card(s) on the field? Examples: Time Wizard, Barrel Dragon, Blowback Dragon, Blind Destruction, Sand Gambler, Dangerous Machine Type-6, Snipe Hunter, Gambler of Legend, & Twin-Barrel Dragon.
A: Stardust Dragon cannot chain its effect to an effect that requires a die roll or coin toss to determine whether or not it will destroy a card(s) on the field. However, in a situation in which both players control monsters when the effect of Time Wizard is activated, the effect of Stardust Dragon can be chained.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7407&keyword=&tag=0

Q: After the effect of Zubaba General has been activated and resolved once, if Skill Drain is activated, what happens to the Warrior-Type monster equipped to Zubaba General?
A: If the effects of Zubaba General are negated, it cannot remain equipped with that monster. It will be destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6412&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When Cyber Network is sent from the field to the Graveyard, if I control no other Spell/Trap Cards, how does the effect of Cyber Network resolve?
A: The effect of Cyber Network will always activate when it is sent from the field to the Graveyard, even if you do not control any other Spell/Trap Cards. In this case, the effect resolves as much as possible and Special Summons the banished LIGHT Machine-Type monsters. (You still cannot conduct your Battle Phase this turn.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10235&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When the effect of my own monster activates, can I activate Madolche Nights? If I can, and I also control Madolche Puddingcess, can I also apply the effect of shuffling 1 random card in my opponent’s hand into the Deck?
A: You can chain Madolche Nights to your own monster effects. (However, if you activate a monster effect, and your opponent chains their own card/effect to it, you can no longer activate Madolche Nights in response to your monster effect.) If you also control Madolche Puddingcess, the effect of shuffling 1 random card in your opponent’s hand into the Deck will be applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=24&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Time Wizard is activated, but a card like Compulsory Evacuation Device or Forbidden Dress is chained, so that no monsters are destroyed by the effect of Time Wizard even if the coin toss was called correctly, can Dark Sage still be Special Summoned?
A: When resolving the effect of Time Wizard, if there are no monsters on your opponent’s side of the field because of Compulsory Evacuation Device, or if the only monster on your opponent’s side of the field cannot be destroyed by card effects because of Forbidden Dress, if you called the coin toss correctly, you can still Special Summon Dark Sage.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9553&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I activate the effect of Time Wizard if my opponent controls no monsters?
A: Yes, you can. If you call the coin toss correctly, the effect of destroying monsters is not applied. If you call the coin toss incorrectly, the effect of destroying all monsters you control and taking damage equal to the destroyed monsters’ total ATK is still applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9312&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Dark Rule Ha Des is face-up on my side of the field, if a Fiend-Type monster I control destroys an opponent’s monster by battle, such as Giant Rat, Cockroach Knight, Treeborn Frog, Dogu, etc., are the effects of that monster which activate in the Graveyard still negated? Furthermore, if Dark Ruler Ha Des is later destroyed, do the effects of your opponent’s Treeborn Frog, etc. return to a state of not being negated?
A: While Dark Rule Ha Des is face-up on your side of the field, if a Fiend-Type monster you control destroys an opponent’s monster by battle, its effects which activate in the Graveyard are negated. Furthermore, even if Dark Ruler Ha Des is later destroyed, the effects of those monsters remain negated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6500&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a face-down Defense Position Fire King High Avatar Garunix is destroyed by Dark Hole, will its effect to Special Summon itself during the next Standby Phase activate?
A: Yes, it will activate.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10048&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I activate Call of the Atlanteans, but my opponent chains D.D. Crow to banish one of the targeted monsters, how does Call of the Atlanteans resolve?
A: If all 3 of the monsters targeted by Call of the Atlanteans cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard, the effect does not apply. Therefore, in your example, no monsters are Special Summoned.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9064&keyword=&tag=0

Q: After Spear Cretin is flipped face-up, if it is Tributed to activate the effect of Cannon Soldier, how does each effect resolve?
A: In this case, first resolve the effect of Cannon Soldier by inflicting 500 damage to your opponent. After completing the resolution, the effect of Spear Cretin will activate in a new chain as Chain Link 1.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6282&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Earthbound Whirlwind is activated, but Compulsory Evacuation Device is chained so that the player who activated Earthbound Whirlwind no longer controls an “Earthbound Immortal” monster when it resolves, is its effect applied?
A: Yes, the effect of destroying all Spell/Trap Cards the opponent controls will still apply.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=40&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While the effect of Dimension Fortress Weapon is applying, Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter is flipped face-up and its effect is activated by targeting Dimension Fortress Weapon. Will the effect of sending the top 3 cards of the Deck to the Graveyard still apply?
A: If Dimension Fortress Weapon is destroyed by the effect of Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter, its effect stops applying at that point, so the effect of Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter which sends the top 3 cards of the Deck to the Graveyard will be applied normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7971&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When performing a Ritual Summon with Gishki Photomirror, is it possible to apply the effects of Gishki Shadow or Gishki Vision?
A: Gishki Photomirror does not require monsters to be Tributed to perform the Ritual Summon. Therefore, it is not possible to apply the effects of Gishki Shadow or Gishki Vision when performing a Ritual Summon with Gishki Photomirror.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10245&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Tail Swipe is activated, but Book of Moon is chained so that the targeted Level 5 or higher Dinosaur-Type monster is face-down when Tail Swipe resolves, is its effect applied? Also, if Compulsory Evacuation Device is chained so that the targeted Level 5 or higher Dinosaur-Type monster is not on the field when Tail Swipe resolves, is its effect applied?
A: When Tail Swipe resolves, if the targeted Level 5 or higher Dinosaur-Type monster is no longer face-up on the field, the effect is not applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9551&keyword=&tag=0

Q: During my Standby Phase, if my opponent controls Aqua Spirit, and I have Treeborn Frog in my Graveyard, how are their effects resolved?
A: If both players have effects that can activate during the Standby Phase, the turn player can choose to activate their effects before the opponent can. (In this case, you can choose to activate the effect of Treeborn Frog first. If your opponent chooses to activate the effect of their Aqua Spirit, it does not chain to the effect of Treeborn Frog, but is activated once the effect of Treeborn Frog has resolved.) In addition, if the turn player chooses not to activate any effects first, the opponent can activate their effects. (In this case, after the opponent has activated and resolved the effect of Aqua Spirit, the turn player may activate the effect of their Treeborn Frog.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6172&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons