[OCG] 11/13/14 Rulings

11/13/14 Assorted rulings.

Q: If the Xyz Summon of Number 53: Heart-eartH is negated by Solemn Judgment, can its effect that Special Summon Number 92: Heart-eartH Dragon from the Extra Deck be activated?
A: If the Xyz Summon of Number 53: Heart-eartH is negated by Solemn Judgment, and it is destroyed, its effect that Special Summon Number 92: Heart-eartH Dragon does not activate.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14085&keyword=&tag=0
(Note that the Japanese text lacks the handy “on the field” part that the English text has, making it unclear.)

Q: An Elemental HERO Nova Master attacks a face-down Jowls of Dark Demise, which is destroyed by battle. After damage calculation, the effect of Jowls of Dark Demise is activated, and control of Elemental HERO Nova Master is switched to the opponent. What happens regarding the effect of Elemental HERO Nova Master to draw 1 card?
A: The effect of Elemental HERO Nova Master activates at the end of the Damage Step. In the scenario above, because the effect of Jowls of Dark Demise makes Elemental HERO Nova Master switch control to the opponent after damage calculation, the opponent will activate its effect and draw 1 card.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14081&keyword=&tag=0

Q: An Elemental HERO Nova Master attacks a face-down Tsukuyomi, which is destroyed by battle. After damage calculation, the effect of Tsukuyomi is activated, and Elemental HERO Nova Master is changed to face-down Defense Position. What happens regarding the effect of Elemental HERO Nova Master to draw 1 card?
A: The effect of Elemental HERO Nova Master activates at the end of the Damage Step. In the scenario above, because the effect of Tsukuyomi changes Elemental HERO Nova Master to face-down Defense Position after damage calculation, its effect to draw 1 card will not activate.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14080&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Macro Cosmos is active, is it possible to activate the effect of Naturia Exterio?
A: While Macro Cosmos is active, it is not possible to send cards from the top of the Deck to the Graveyard, so the effect of Naturia Exterio cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14096&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can the effect of T.G. Warwolf that Special Summons it from the hand be activated during the opponent’s turn?
A: If a Level 4 or lower monster is Special Summoned, either during your turn or your opponent’s, you can activate the effect of a T.G. Warwolf in your hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14088&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I activate Monster Slots by targeting monsters with a Level that no other monsters in my Deck have?
A: Yes, you can. Even so, the targeted monster in the Graveyard is banished, you draw 1 card and reveal it, and if it is not a monster that has the same Level as the target on the field, it will remain in your hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14084&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can the second effect of Neo Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon be activated during Main Phase 2?
A: Yes, it can. In that case, the effect will detach all Xyz Materials from the opponent’s monsters and Neo Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon will gain 500 ATK for each of them. (Since the Battle Phase has concluded, the part of the effect that allows Neo Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon to attack multiple times does not apply.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9691&keyword=&tag=0

Q: After a Fusion Monster is Fusion Summoned with Polymerization, the effect of Book of Moon is used to change it to face-down Defense Position. If that Fusion Monster is then destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by Dark Hole, can the effect of Branch! be activated?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Branch! can be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14076&keyword=&tag=0

Q: An Edge Imp Sabres that was used as a Fusion Material monster for Frightur Bear is then Special Summoned by its own effect. If Edge Imp Sabres is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard once again, and if Frightfur Bear is then destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, can the effect of Branch! be used to Special Summon the Edge Imp Sabres?
A: In this case, once Edge Imp Sabres is Special Summoned from the Graveyard, it is no longer treated as a Fusion Material monster that was used for the Fusion Summon of that Frightfur Bear. Therefore, even if Edge Imp Sabres is once again destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, it cannot be Special Summoned by the effect of Branch!
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14077&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Fusion Monster that was Special Summoned with Monster Reborn is once again destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, can the effect of Branch! be activated?
A: No, the effect of Branch! cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14078&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Does the effect of March of the Monarchs also apply to monsters that were Tribute Summoned or Set before it was activated?
A: Yes, it does.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10194&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A Number 17: Leviathan Dragon with Xyz Material is on the field, and Forbidden Lance is used so that it becomes unaffected by Spell/Trap effects. In this case, if Xyz Veil is activated and resolved, can that Number 17: Leviathan Dragon be targeted by card effects?
A: Even an Xyz Monster that is unaffected by Trap effects, as long as it has Xyz Material, cannot be targeted by card effects while the effect of Xyz Veil is applying.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14091&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While the effect of Mystical Fairy Elfuria is applying, preventing either player from Xyz Summoning using monsters that have a different Level than the one revealed to activate the effect, is it possible to Xyz Summon Number C39: Utopia Ray using Number 39: Utopia as the Xyz Material?
A: Even if the effect of Mystical Fairy Elfuria is applying, since Xyz Monsters do not have Levels, Number C39: Utopia Ray can be Xyz Summoned using Number 39: Utopia as the Xyz Material.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7960&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a LIGHT monster activates its effect while Constellar Belt is active, can Divine Wrath be activated in a chain?
A: Yes, Divine Wrath can still be activated. In that case, since Constellar Belt prevents the activation of LIGHT monsters’ effects from being negated, the activation is not negated, and the monster is not destroyed either.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14083&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can the effect of Evigishki Merrowgeist be activated when it destroys a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster by battle?
A: Yes, the effect of Evigishki Merrowgeist can be activated after damage calculation even if it destroys a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster by battle. In that case, the destroyed monster is returned to its owner’s Extra Deck.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14087&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can the effect of Evigishki Merrowgeist be activated when it destroys a Token by battle?
A: No, the effect of Evigishki Merrowgeist cannot be activated if it destroys a Token by battle.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14086&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can the effect of Gem-Knight Iolite be activated by targeting a Fusion or Xyz Monster?
A: The effect of Gem-Knight Iolite can be activated by targeting a monster like Gem-Knight Master Diamond or Gem-Knight Pearl. In that case, the monster returns to the Extra Deck instead of being added to the hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14093&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Mini-Guts be activated by targeting a monster whose original ATK is ? or 0?
A: Yes, Mini-Guts can be activated by targeting a monster whose original ATK is ? or 0. In that case, its current ATK will become 0 until the end of the turn. If that monster is destroyed by battle and sent to your opponent’s Graveyard, the second effect of Mini-Guts will activate, but it will not inflict any damage.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14090&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a face-down D.D. Destroyer is destroyed and banished by Nobleman of Crossout, can the effect of D.D. Destroyer be activated?
A: Yes, the effect can be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14092&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Compulsory Evacuation Device is chained to the effect of Decoy Dragon, so that Decoy Dragon is no longer on the field when its effect resolves, does the effect apply?
A: Even if Decoy Dragon is no longer on the field when its effect resolves, the effect is applied normally. The targeted monster is Special Summoned, and battle damage is conducted. (No replay occurs.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14079&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Bonfire Colossus is Special Summoned by the effect of another card, rather than by its own effect, will its effect to destroy 2 FIRE monsters on the field still activate?
A: Even if Bonfire Colossus is Special Summoned by another card effect such as Monster Reborn, its effect to destroy 2 FIRE monsters on the field will still activate. Note that if the player does not control another FIRE monster, even though the effect will activate and start a chain, since it is unable to target 2 FIRE monsters, its effect will not apply.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11540&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Earthbound Revival is activated, but the opponent chains D.D. Crow so that one of the targeted cards is no longer in the Graveyard when Earthbound Revival resolves, will its effect apply?
A: When resolving Earthbound Revival, even if one of the targeted cards is no longer in the Graveyard, the other is still added to the hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14089&keyword=&tag=0

Q: After the effect of Worm Dimikles has resolved, if Skill Drain is activated, what will the ATK and DEF of Worm Dimikles become?
A: In that case, since Skill Drain negates the effects of Worm Dimikles, its ATK and DEF will return to what they were before they were increased by its effect. Additionally, even after Skill Drain is no longer applying, the gained ATK and DEF of Worm Dimikles will not return.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14095&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Forbidden Lance is applying to a monster equipped with Vylon Component, will that monster still inflict piercing battle damage to the opponent when it attacks a Defense Position monster?
A: No, the effect of Vylon Component will not apply.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14094&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Wind-Up Bat is activated, but Enemy Controller is chained so that Wind-Up Bat switches control to the opponent’s side of the field, how does the effect of Wind-Up Bat resolve?
A: In this case, since Wind-Up Bat has switched control and is now on the opponent’s side of the field, the player who activated the effect is no longer able to switch that face-up Attack Position card they control to Defense Position. Also, the targeted “Wind-Up” monster in the Graveyard cannot be added to that player’s hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14082&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons