[OCG] 05/22/2014 OCG rulings

05/22/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: When the Xyz Summon by the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Quick Chaos would be performed, can the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh be activated to negate that Xyz Summon?
A: A Special Summon treated as an Xyz Summon is performed placing a “Number C” monster on top of the targeted monster when hte effect of Rank-Up-Magic Quick Chaos resolves.
The effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh cannot be activated in a chain to the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Quick Chaos.
(The effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh cannot be activated at the time the “Number C” monster is Special Summoned by the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Quick Chaos either)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13244&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Shadoll Falcon or Broww, Huntsman of Dark World are included among the 5 discarded cards to activate the (1) effect of Guarded Treasure, do their effects activate?
A: The 5 cards from the hand are sent to the Graveyard as a cost to activate Guarded Treasure when it’s placed face-up on the field.
Therefore, even if Shadoll Falcon or Broww, Huntsman of Dark World are indluced among the cards discarded from the hand, those cards are not considered to be discarded from the hand by a card effect, so their effects do not activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13245&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When an opponent’s monster declares an attack on a face-up Attack Position monster you control, Doble Passe was activated.
If Fiendish Chain is activated in a chain targeting that monster that declared an attack, how does Doble Passe resolve?
A: In the proposed scenario, the monster that declared an attack becomes unable to attack as a result of Fiendish Chain being activated as a chain to Doble Passe.
As a result, the attack cnanot be performed, and also, the attacking monster and the attack target monster stop existing as such.
Therefore, the part of the effect that inflicts damage equal to the ATK of the attack target monster and that makes the attack a direct attack is not applied.
Furthermore, even in that case, the part of the effect that makes that monster you control able to attack directly during your next turn is still applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13246&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the opponent controls a face-up Vanity’s emptiness neither player can perform Special summons, but if Ice Hand is destroyed by battle or card effects by the opponent and is sent to the Graveyard, can the effect of Ice Hand be activated?
A: Even in that case, as long as Ice Hand is destroyed by battle or card effects by the opponent, the effect of Ice Hand can be activated. (The part of the effect that destroys an opponent’s Spell or Trap Card is performed)
Furthermore, providing Vanity’s Emptiness is targeted as the Spell or Trap Card to be destroyed by the effect of Ice Hand, the part of the effect that Special Summons Fire Hand can be performed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13247&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You activated Soul Charge during the Main Phase 1 of your turn.
During that Main Phase 1, if you destroy an opponent’s set Artifact Ignition by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon, which Battle Phase is skipped by the effect of Artifact Ignition?
A: During the turn in which you activate Soul Charge, you cannot conduct your Battle Phase.
If you cannot conduct your Battle Phase, the Battle Phase of that turn is not skipped by the effect of an opponent’s Artifact Ignition.
Therefore, your next Battle Phase is skipped by the effect of the opponent’s Artifact Ignition.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13248&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If an Xyz Monster Special Summoned by the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Admiration Of The Thousands is later destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, can that monster be Special Summoned by the effect of Monster Reborn?
A: The Xyz Monster Special Summoned by the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Admiration Of The Thousands is not considered to be Special Summoned by the appropriate method.
Therefore, even in that case, it cannot be Special Summoned by the effect of Monster Reborn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13249&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the opponent’s monster targeted to be destroyed by the effect of Fire Hand is returned to the hand by the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device activated in a chain, how does the effect of Fire Hand resolve?
A: In the proposed scenario, since the targeted monster is returned to the hand by the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device when the effect of Fire Hand resolves, it cannot be destroyed.
In that case, the part of the effect that Special Summons Ice Hand from the Deck is not performed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13250&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Soul Charge was activated targeting 3 monsters in your Graveyard.
If the opponent activates D.D. Crow in a chain to that, targeting 1 of those monsters, how does the effect of Soul Charge resolve?
A: In the proposed scenario, 1 of the 3 targeted monsters for Soul Charge is banished by the effect of D.D. Crow, so that a target is no longer in the Graveyard, but even in that case, the remaining 2 monsters are still Special Summoned.
Furthermore, in that case, since you only Special Summoned 2 monsters, you lose 2000 Life Points for the part of the effect that makes you lose 1000 Life Points for each Special Summoned monster.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13251&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Soul Charge be activated during the first turn of the Duel?
A: Providing you have 1 or more elligible monsters to Special Summon to target in your Graveyard, Soul Charge can be activated during the first turn of the Duel.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13252&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a monster Special Summoned by the effect of Relay Soul is used for an Xyz Summon, so that it becomes an Xyz Material, how do the parts of the effect that prevent you from taking damage and make you lose the Duel apply?
A: In that case, the part of the effect that prevents you from taking damage is no longer applied.
Also, if a monster on the field is used for an Xyz Summon, so that it becomes an Xyz Material, that monster is not considered to leave the field.
Therefore, the part of the effect that makes you lose the Duel is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13253&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can The Eye of Timaeus be activated targeting an Elemental HERO Prisma whose name is being treated as “Dark Magician” by its own effect?
A: The Eye of Timaeus can be activated targeting an Elemental HERO Prisma whose name is being treated as “Dark Magician” by its own effect.
Even in that case, that Elemental HERO Prisma is sent to the Graveyard, and 1 Fusion Monster that lists Dark Magician as its Fusion Material is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13254&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Breakthrough Skill is activated targeting a Kuribandit that was Normal Summoned that turn, so that the effect of Kuribandit is negated, how does it resolve during the End Phase?
A: A monster that has its effects negated by Breakthrough Skill has its effects negated until the end of that turn.
Therefore, the effect of Kuribandit can be activated during the End Phase by tributing it, but that effect is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13255&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: How does the effect of Kuribandit resolve if all 5 excavated cards are Monster Cards?
A: In that case, since there are no Spell or Trap Cards to be added to the hand by the part of the effect that adds 1 Spell or Trap Card among the excavated cards to the hand, the part of the effect that sends all remaining excavated cards to the Graveyard is performed, sending all 5 Monster Cards to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13256&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons