[OCG] 05/14/20 Rulings Update

Someone in Japan is still making sure we know how our cards work in the middle of a pandemic.

 

Q: If Compulsory Evacuation Device is chained to the effect of Ignition Beast Volcannon, so that either Ignition Beast Volcannon or the targeted monster are not on the field when the effect resolves, what happens?
A: When resolving the effect of Ignition Beast Volcannon, if either that Ignition Beast Volcannon or the targeted monster are no longer on the field, the effect is not applied. (No monsters are destroyed, and no damage is inflicted.)

Source

(Note: This one is about a month old and I never got a chance to post it. It changes Ignition Beast Volcannon slightly, compared to the functionality reflected in its current TCG text.)

 

Q: I activate the effect of Crystron Quan, Special Summoning a Beta The Electromagnet Warrior from my hand and then Synchro Summoning a Crystron Quandax. In this case, is it possible to activate the effect of Beta the Electromagnet Warrior?
A: The monster Special Summoned by the effect of Crystron Quan is Special Summoned with its effects negated, then immediately sent to the Graveyard when used as a material to perform the Synchro Summon of a Machine monster. In this scenario, since Beta The Electromagnet Warrior has already been sent to the Graveyard before its effect can be activated, that effect cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: When Special Summoning Grinder Golem by its own procedure, can my opponent use Solemn Judgment to negate the Special Summon of the Grinder Tokens?
A: The Special Summon of the Grinder Tokens cannot be negated by Solemn Judgment. Note that the Special Summon of Grinder Golem itself can be negated by Solemn Judgment, and in that case, Solemn Judgment is activated after the Grinder Tokens are Special Summoned to your Monster Zone and Grinder Golem is being Special Summoned from your hand to your opponent’s Monster Zone. (In this case, only Grinder Golem is destroyed by the effect of Solemn Judgment and not the Grinder Tokens, also, since the Special Summon of Grinder Golem was negated, you can still Normal Summon/Set that turn.)

Source

 

Q: If I perform a Fusion Summon using the effect of Soprano the Melodious Songstress, can I apply the effect of Chain Material?
A: When performing a Fusion Summon using the effect of Soprano the Melodious Songstress, you can apply the effect of Chain Material and banish the required materials from your field, hand, Deck, or Graveyard. Even in this case, Soprano the Melodious Songstress itself must be included as a material. (All the materials used for the Fusion Summon are banished, you cannot attack during this turn, and the Fusion Summoned monster is destroyed during the End Phase.)

Source

 

Q: If my opponent has less than 2 cards in their Extra Deck, can I activate the second effect of Maximus Dragma?
A: The second effect of Maximus Dragma cannot be activated if either player has less than 2 cards in their Extra Deck. Furthermore, if you have 2 cards in your Extra Deck but they have the same name, you cannot activate the effect of Maximus Dragma, even if your opponent has 2 or more cards in their Extra Deck.

Source

 

Q: What happens if either player has less than 2 cards in their Extra Deck when resolving the second effect of Maximus Dragma?
A: If you have 1 or less cards in your Extra Deck when the effect of Maximus Dragma resolves, then you cannot send any monsters from your Extra Deck to the Graveyard, but your opponent still sends 2 monsters from their Extra Deck to the Graveyard. If your opponent has 1 or less cards in your Extra Deck when the effect of Maximus Dragma resolves, you still send 2 monsters with different names from your Extra Deck to the Graveyard, but your opponent does not send any monsters from their Extra Deck to the Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: If I perform a Fusion Summon using the effect of Albus’s Nullius Filius, can I apply the effect of Chain Material?
A: When performing a Fusion Summon using the effect of Albus’s Nullius Filius, you can apply the effect of Chain Material and banish the required materials from your field, hand, Deck, or Graveyard. Even in this case, Albus’s Nullius Filius itself must be included as a material, and since the effect states you cannot use any other monsters on your field as materials, Albus’s Nullius Filius is the only material you can use from your field. (All the materials used for the Fusion Summon are banished, you cannot attack during this turn, and the Fusion Summoned monster is destroyed during the End Phase.)

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of Chaos Ruler the Chaotic Demonic Dragon, and Felis, Lightsworn Archer is among the 5 excavated cards. If that Felis, Lightsworn Archer is sent to the Graveyard without being added to my hand, will its effect activate?
A: If a card that was excavated with the effect of Chaos Ruler the Chaotic Demonic Dragon is sent to the Graveyard, it is considered to be sent from the Deck to the Graveyard. Therefore, in this scenario, the effect of Felis, Lightsworn Archer that was sent to the Graveyard will activate.

Source

 

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, can I activate Disciple from Nadir?
A: Even in this scenario, you can activate Disciple from Nadir. In this case, when sending a monster from your Extra Deck to the Graveyard, you must still pick a monster that has ATK equal to or greater than the ATK of a “Dragma” monster or Albus’s Nullius Filius in your Deck or Graveyard. However, due to the effect of Macro Cosmos, that monster is banished from your Extra Deck instead of being sent to the Graveyard, and you cannot add a “Dragma” monster or Albus’s Nullius Filius from your Deck or Graveyard to your hand. (You still cannot Special Summon from the Extra Deck for the rest of the turn.)

Source

 

Q: When my opponent activates Monster Reborn, but I chain Blizzard and target that Monster Reborn, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Monster Reborn is negated by the effect of the chained Blizzard. After the Chain is finished resolving, Monster Reborn is returned to your opponent’s hand instead of being sent to the Graveyard. Furthermore, your opponent can activate that Monster Reborn again, but since the effect of Blizzard negates the activated effects of Spells with the same name, the effect will be negated again. (At that time, Monster Reborn is no longer treated as the same targeted card, so after its effect is negated, it is sent to the Graveyard normally.)

Source

 

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, when my opponent activates Twin Twisters, but I chain Blizzard and target that Twin Twisters, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Twin Twisters is negated by the effect of the chained Blizzard. After the Chain is finished resolving, Twin Twisters is banished by the effect of Macro Cosmos instead of being sent to the Graveyard. (It is not returned to your opponent’s hand by the effect of Blizzard.)

Source

 

Q: When I activate Pot of Extravagance at the start of my Main Phase 1, then chain Forbidden Droplet, can I send that Pot of Extravagance to the Graveyard as the cost of activating Forbidden Droplet?
A: In this scenario, since the Pot of Extravagance that was activated as Chain Link 1 is a card on your field, you can send it to the Graveyard as cost to activate Forbidden Droplet as Chain Link 2. (Your opponent will not be able to chain a Spell or Spell effect directly to the activation of that Forbidden Droplet.)

Source

 

Q: I activate Forbidden Droplet, by sending to the Graveyard a Conquistador of the Golden Land that was Special Summoned to the Monster Zone by its own effect. In that case, which card types can my opponent not chain to Forbidden Droplet?
A: When activating Forbidden Droplet, your opponent cannot chain cards or effects with the same original card types as the cards sent to the Graveyard as the cost. In this scenario, since Conquistador of the Golden Land is a Trap Card, your opponent cannot chain Trap Cards to Forbidden Droplet.

Source

 

Q: I activated Dragon Cycle of Celestial Illusions, by Tributing a Tenyi Spirit Token. When resolving the effect, can I Special Summon a Wyrm monster from my Deck instead of adding it to my hand?
A: In this scenario, since you Tributed a non-Effect Monster to activate Dragon Cycle of Celestial Illusions, you can Special Summon a Wyrm monster from your Deck instead of adding it to your hand.

Source

 

Q: I activate Dragma Punishment, targeting a face-up Incineration Dragon Bastard in my opponent’s Monster Zone. If Book of Moon is chained and that Incineration Dragon Bastard is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Dragma Punishment resolve?
A: The effect of Dragma Punishment sends a monster from your Extra Deck to the Graveyard with an equal or higher ATK than the targeted monster’s when it resolves. In this scenario, if the targeted monster is in face-down Defense Position when Dragma Punishment resolves, you do not send a monster from your Extra Deck to the Graveyard or destroy the targeted monster. (You still cannot Special Summon from the Extra Deck for the rest of the turn.)

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.