[OCG] 04/10/2014 rulings

04/10/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: When White-Horned Dragon is Normal or Special Summoned successfully, if there are no Spell Cards in the opponent’s Graveyard, does its effect activate?
A: The effect of White-Horned Dragon is a mandatory effect that activates when it’s successfully Normal or Special Summoned.
Even if there are no Spell Cards in the opponent’s Graveyard when the effect of White-Horned Dragon activates the effect still starts a chain. However, since there are no cards to target, the effect is not applied and does not resolve.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13170&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effects of FLIP Monsters destroyed in battle by Blade Knight are negated, but if Slate Warrior is destroyed in battle, which of its effects are negated?
A: The effects of FLIP Monsters that Blade Knight negates are not just the effects that activate when the monster is flipped face-up, but also effects like Slate Warrior’s that activate in the Graveyard.
Therefore, in this case, both of Slate Warrior’s effects are negated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13171&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Skill drain is being applied, can Photon Thrasher attack even if you control other monsters?
A: In that case, since the effect of Photon Thrasher that prevents it from attacking if you control other monsters is negated, Photon Thrasher can perform an attack.
Furthermore, if an attack is performed in that scenario and Skill Drain is destroyed during the Battle Step so that its effect is no longer applied, Photon Thrasher becomes unable to attack.
(You do not proceed into the Damage Step, and the attack is stopped)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13172&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Twin-Headed Behemoth that was Special Summoned by its own effect is later flipped face-down by the effect of Book of Moon, and later becomes face-up, what does its ATK/DEF become?
A: In that case, when it becomes face-up afterwards, its ATK and DEF return to its printed values (1500 ATK/1200 DEF).

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13173&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Even if the effect of Skill Drain is being applied, if a Twin-Headed Behemoth is destroyed in the Field and sent to the Graveyard, can it activate its effect during the End Phase?
A: The effect of Twin-Headed Behemoth to Special Summon itself activates in the Graveyard.
It is not negated by the effect of Skill Drain.
Furthermore, even if Twin-Headed Behemoth is Special Summoned by its own effect while Skill Drain is being applied, its ATK and DEF still become 1000.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13174&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The opponent activated Forbidden Lance in a chain to the activation of your Smashing Ground.
During the resolution of Smashing Ground, if the monster with the highest DEF the opponent controls has become unaffected by spell Cards, how does this resolve?
A: Smashing Ground does not target.
At the time of the resolution of Smashing Ground, the face-up monster with the highest DEF the opponent controls is destroyed.
In the proposed scenario, during the resolution of Smashing Ground, since the face-up monster with the highest DEF the opponent controls has become unaffected by Spell Cards, the end result is that that monster is not destroyed.
(The effect of Smashing Ground is not applied, and no other monsters are destroyed instead)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13175&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a monster equipped with Dragon Shield becomes unaffected by the effects of Spell Cards by the effect of Forbidden Lance, are the effect that protect the monster from destruction and the effect that reduces the Battle Damage inflicted by that monster to 0 still applied?
A: In that case, the effect that prevents the monster from being destroyed is not applied, but the effect that reduces the Battle Damage inflicted by that monster to 0 is still applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13176&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Skilled White Magician has Spell Counters placed on itself, if Skill Drain is activated, what happens to the Spell Counters that have been placed?
Also, while the effect of Skill Drain is being applied, if either player activates a Spell Card, is a Spell Counter placed on Skilled White Magician?
A: If the effect of Skill Drain is being applied, the effects of Skilled White Magician are negated.
If the effects of Skilled White Magician are negated, since it cannot hold Spell Counters, all Spell Counters that have been placed on it are removed.
Furthermore, even if either player activates a Spell Card while the effect of Skill Drain is being applied, no Spell Counters are placed on Skilled White Magician.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13177&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Bound Wand and the Spellcaster-Type monster it is equipped to are destroyed simultaneously by the effect of Icarus Attack, can the effect of Bound Wand be activated?
A: In that case, the effect cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13178&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Mystic Tomato is destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard, can the effect of Mystic Tomato and the effect of Time Machine be activated?
A: Yes, they can.
In that case, the effect of Mystic Tomato is chain link 1 and the effect of Time Machine is chain link 2.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13179&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the opponent controls an Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster after activation, when you activate Secret Barrel, how much damage is inflicted?
A: An Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster after activation is also treated as a Trap Card and is treated as occupying 1 Spell & Trap Zone, but it does not exist in the Spell & Trap Zone as a card and is treated as existing only in 1 Monster Zone.
Therefore, in that case, if you activate Secret Barrel, the damage inflicted is 200.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13180&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the opponent controls 2 copies of Marauding Captain, can you conduct your Battle Phase?
If you can conduct a Battle Phase, can you declare attacks?
A: Even if the opponent controls 2 copies of Marauding Captain, you can conduct your Battle Phase.
Furthermore, if the effect of each copy of Marauding Captain is being applied, since all Warrior-Type monsters the opponent controls including Marauding Captain cannot be attacked, and the only monsters the opponent controls are 2 copies of Marauding Captain, you cannot attack any monsters.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13181&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If White-Horned Dragon is Normal or Special Summoned, its effect activates and up to 5 Spell Cards in the opponent’s Graveyard are targeted, but can you choose not to target any cards in the opponent’s Graveyard?
A: The effect of White-Horned Dragon is a mandatory effect that activates when it’s successfully Normal or Special Summoned.
Also, if activated, Spell Cards in the opponent’s Graveyard must be targeted.
Therefore, you cannot choose not to target any Spell Cards in the opponent’s Graveyard.
You can target any number of cards from 1 to 5.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13182&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During a turn in which you have activated Scapegoat you are unable to Normal, Flip or Special Summon monsters, but when a Spellcaster-Type Monster declares an attack, can either player activate Magician’s Circle?
A: Since the player who activated Scapegoat this turn (= you) cannot Special Summon, that player cannot activate Magician’s Circle.
Furthermore, the opponent can activate Magician’s Circle, and in that case, the player who activated Scapegoat (= you) cannot Special Summon by the effect of Magician’s Circle, and only the player who activated Magician’s Circle (= the opponent) can Special Summon monsters.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13183&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons