[OCG] 04/27/18 Weekly Rulings Update

More rulings for recent products, along with two new Jump promos.

04/27/18 Rulings

Q: Altergeist Protocol is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents the activations and activated effects of my “Altergeist” cards from being negated is applying. In this situation, when I Normal Summon Altergeist Marionetter and activate its effect that Sets an “Altergeist” Trap Card from my Deck, but my opponent chains Sky Striker Battlegear: Widow Anchor and targets that Altergeist Marionetter, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Sky Striker Battlegear: Widow Anchor is applied normally, negating the effects of Altergeist Marionetter and taking control of it until the End Phase, but since the effect of Altergeist Protocol is applying, the effect of Altergeist Marionetter that was activated is not negated, and you Set an “Altergeist” Trap Card from your Deck normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12521&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Altergeist Protocol is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents the activations and activated effects of my “Altergeist” cards from being negated is applying. In this situation, when I Special Summon Altergeist Multifaker and activate its effect that Special Summons an “Altergeist” monster from my Deck, but my opponent chains Traptrix Trap Hole Nightmare, what happens?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Altergeist Protocol is applying, the activated effect of Altergeist Multifaker is not negated by Traptrix Trap Hole Nightmare, and it Special Summons an “Altergeist” monster from your Deck normally. Note that in this case, Altergeist Multifaker is not destroyed by Traptrix Trap Hole Nightmare.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10038&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: It is a turn during which the effect of Action Spell – Full Turn is applying. If my face-up Attack Position Blue-Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon attacks my opponent’s face-up Defense Position Sentry Soldier of Stone, what is the resulting battle damage?
A: Blue-Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon has an effect that inflicts battle damage to your opponent equal to twice the difference between its ATK and the other monster’s DEF when it attacks a Defense Position monster. In this scenario, the 4000 damage (twice the difference between its ATK and the DEF of Sentry Soldier of Stone) is doubled by the effect of Action Spell – Full Turn, and inflicted to your opponent. (In this case, your opponent takes 8000 damage.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12895&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Metaphys Daedalus is Special Summoned by the monster effect of Metaphys Decoy Dragon, can I activate the effect of Metaphys Daedalus? Also, if Metaphys Daedalus is Special Summoned by the Pendulum Effect of Metaphys Decoy Dragon, can I activate the effect of Metaphys Daedalus?
A: If a Metaphys Daedalus is Special Summoned by the monster effect of Metaphys Decoy Dragon, it was Special Summoned by the effect of a “Metaphys” monster, so you can activate its effect that banishes all face-up Special Summoned monsters. Also, if Metaphys Daedalus is Special Summoned by the Pendulum Effect of Metaphys Decoy Dragon, it was not Special Summoned by the effect of a “Metaphys” monster, so you cannot activate its effect.

A quick reversal of the ruling that was posted last week, and a much more sensible one.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13626&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Zirdras, the Magicrystal Dragon in my Monster Zone is destroyed by the effect of Sky Striker Maneuver: Afterburner, and afterward the effect of Sky Striker Maneuver: Afterburner also destroys a Spell/Trap Card on my field. In this case, can I activate the effect of that destroyed Zirdras, the Magicrystal Dragon that Special Summons it from the Graveyard?
A: The effect of Sky Striker Maneuver: Afterburner does not destroy a monster and the Spell/Trap Card at the same time. In this scenario, since Zirdras, the Magicrystal Dragon is already in your Graveyard when a Spell/Trap Card on your field is destroyed, you can activate its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=57&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate the effect of Borrelsword Dragon that changes an Attack Position monster to Defense Position, targeting my face-up Magnarokket Dragon, then chain the effect of that Magnarokket Dragon that destroys itself, how does the effect of Borrelsword Dragon resolve?
A: In this scenario, since the Magnarokket Dragon that was targeted by the effect of Borrelsword Dragon is no longer on the field when that effect resolves, it is not changed to Defense Position. Even so, the effect still allows Borrelsword Dragon to attack twice during each Battle Phase this turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12889&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Stegocyber that was Special Summoned by its own effect is face-up on my field. In this situation, can I activate Celestial Sextant by returning that Stegocyber to the bottom of the Deck?
A: Since a Stegocyber that was Special Summoned by its own effect is banished when it leaves the field, it cannot be returned to the bottom of your Deck to activate Celestial Sextant.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7023&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent activates Crusade Palladion, can I chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring from my hand?
A: If Crusade Palladion was activated by Tributing a “Palladion” or “World Legacy” monster, its effect would Special Summon a different “Palladion” or “World Legacy” monster from the Deck or Graveyard, so you can chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring from your hand. If no monster was Tributed when Crusade Palladion was activated, you cannot chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12945&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Attack Position Wind-Up Rabbit is the only card on my opponent’s field. In this situation, if I activate Cybernetic Overflow, but my opponent chains the effect of Wind-Up Rabbit and banishes it so that there are no cards on my opponent’s field afterward, how does the effect of Cybernetic Overflow resolve?
A: The effect of Cybernetic Overflow banishes Cyber Dragons up to the number of cards on your opponent’s field. In this scenario, since there are no cards on your opponent’s field when Cybernetic Overflow resolves, you do not banish any copies of Cyber Dragon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12914&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Barrier Statue of the Inferno is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone, and its effect that prevents players from Special Summoning non-FIRE monsters is applying. In this situation, if I activate The Deep Grave, can I target a monster other than a FIRE monster?
A: Even if the effect of Barrier Statue of the Inferno is applying, you can activate The Deep Grave targeting a monster other than a FIRE monster. If the effect of Barrier Statue of the Inferno is no longer applying during your next Standby Phase, you can Special Summon the targeted monster as usual. (If its effect is still applying during your next Standby Phase, you do not Special Summon.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10917&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent declares an attack with Evilswarm Thunderbird, I activate the Pendulum Effect of Hope Magician. If my opponent then chains the effect of Evilswarm Thunderbird and banishes it, how does the effect of Hope Magician resolve?
A: In this scenario, if the monster that declared an attack is no longer on the field when the Pendulum Effect of Hope Magician resolves, since you cannot negate the attack, Hope Magician is not destroyed by its own effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21869&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the monster effect of Hope Magician that Special Summons a Level 7 or lower Pendulum Monster from my hand, then places Hope Magician in my Pendulum Zone. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Hope Magician to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Hope Magician resolve?
A: In this scenario, if the Hope Magician whose effect was activated is in face-down Defense Position when that effect resolves, the part of the effect that Special Summons a Pendulum Monster from your hand is applied normally, but you cannot place that Hope Magician in your Pendulum Zone.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21870&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Relinquished Anima, targeting my opponent’s Power Injector in the zone it points to. If my opponent chains Column Switch and moves Power Injector to a different Main Monster Zone, how does the effect of Relinquished Anima resolve?
A: In this scenario, even if the monster targeted by the effect of Relinquished Anima has moved to a different Main Monster Zone than the one Relinquished Anima points to, the effect is applied normally. (In this case, Power Injector is equipped to Relinquished Anima.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21872&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Relinquished Anima, targeting my opponent’s Magician of Dark Illusion in the zone it points to. If my opponent chains the effect of Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit and destroys that Relinquished Anima, how does its effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, if the Relinquished Anima whose effect was activated is no longer on the field when that effect resolves, you cannot equip the targeted monster to it, so that monster (Magician of Dark Illusion in this case) is sent to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21871&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.