Troll and Toad Ad

[Duel Links] Effect Resolution Revisions

Duel Links is providing details on how it will implement Rule Revisions. Read on for important clarifications.

 

1* Monsters effects that are triggered when the monster leaves the field

Before: 
Monster effects with the text “When/If” this card leaves the field” will/can activate when said monster is sent from the field to the Extra Deck.

After:
Monster effects with the text “When/If” this card leaves the field” will NOT activate  after said monster is sent from the field to the Extra Deck.

Example:
The effects of monsters such as “Mokey Mokey King”, “Samurai Destroyer” and “Goyo Emperor” will not/cannot activate when they are sent from the field to the Extra Deck.

  • Monsters with effects that activate when they are sent from the field to the Extra Deck will still activate when they are sent from the field to the Extra Deck.
  • (Japanese: monsters such as “Elemental HERO Storm Neos” with effects with the text “When returned to the Extra Deck” will still activate as before)

2. Activation conditions for Trigger Effects

Before:
With some exceptions, cards were able to activate their Trigger Effects as long as their activation condition was met, even if they were sent to a different location or a location that is not openly displayed.

After:
Cards can no longer activate their Trigger Effects if it was sent to a different location or a location that is not public knowledge. If the location of a card was moved from where it fulfilled its activation requirement before its effect activates, that effect will/can no longer activate. (If the card text says “When this card is Summoned,” this means it must remain in the Monster Zone until its effect activates. If the card text says “When this card is sent to the Graveyard,” it must be in the Graveyard to activate If the card text says “When this card is destroyed,” it must be either in the Graveyard or banished.)

Example 1:
If a Flip Effect monster is flipped face-up at Chain Link 2 or higher, and “Spellbook of Fate” is activated on the same chain link to flip the Flip Effect monster face-down again, the effect of the Flip Effect monster will not activate.

Example 2:
If a Flip Effect monster in Defense Position is attacked by “Ehren, Lightsworn Monk” flipped face-up, then returned to the Deck with the effect of “Ehren, Lightsworn Monk,” its effect will not activate.

Example 3:
If the effect of “Black Rose Dragon” that destroys and banishes all cards on the field(*) is activated, and you chain “Graceful Revival” to that effect in order to Special Summon “Cyber Petit Angel,” its effect cannot be activated, because it will not be on the field when the chain resolves.

* The Japanese Text mentions nothing about banishing.

3. Cards’ conditions that prevent you from Special Summoning with other effects until the end of the turn.

(Japanese: “”So-and-So” can only be Special Summoned once per turn” and “For the rest of this turn, you cannot Special Summon monsters except with the effects of this card”.)

Before:
You were unable to Special Summon with other card effects when the Special Summon was negated.

After:
Special Summon restrictions will now be based on the number of times you successfully Special Summoned, rather than the number of time{s} you Special Summoned (If a Special Summon is negated, it is not counted.)

Example:
If the Synchro Summon of “Shiranui Squiresaga” is negated by “Champion’s Vigilance,” you can still Special Summon “Shiranui Squiresaga” on the same turn.

4. Continuous Traps that are treated as monsters when activated.

Before:
When a Continuous Trap Card that is treated as a monster is activated, the Spell & Trap Card Zone that the card was originally placed cannot be used until that Continuous Trap Card leaves the field.

After:
When a Continuous Trap Card that is treated as a monster is activated, the Spell & Trap Zone that the card was originally placed can be used to Set or activate Spell/Trap Cards.

Example:
If you activate a Set “Embodiment of Apophis” and Special Summon it to your Monster Zone, you can still use the Spell & Trap Zone that “Embodiment of Apophis” was Set in.

* If “Embodiment of Apophis” is flipped face-down, it will be set in the player’s Spell & Trap Zone.

* If “Embodiment of Apophis” is changed to face-down Defense Position, it will be placed face-up in the player’s Spell & Trap Zone)

(Japanese: If “Embodiment of Apophis” et al is negated, it is placed face-up in the player’s Spell & Trap Zone.)

(Clarification: The English version mentions changing face-down Defense will place face-up in S&T Zone, the Japanese mentions no such thing, merely if a Trap Monster is negated by some other card, it is placed face-up in the Player’s Spell & Trap Zone, as a result, the English explanation appears to be some sort of transcription error.)

(Ness Clarification: In the Japanese announcement, this bullet point refers to Embodiment of Apophis et al having their effects negated resulting in them being placed face-up in the player’s Spell & Trap Zone, not ‘being changed to face-down Defense Position’ like the English announcement says. The Japanese announcement follows existing rules. The English one is giving two different results for the same scenario of flipping the monster face-down)

* If “Embodiment of Apophis” is flipped face-down or negated while you have no open spaces in your Spell & Trap Zone, it will be sent to the Graveyard.

NeoArkadia

NeoArkadia is the 2nd number of "The Organization" and a primary article writer. They are also an administrator for the forum Neo Ark Cradle. You can also follow them at @neoarkadia24 on Twitter.