10/17/2013 OCG rulings

10/17/2013
Assorted rulings:

Q: Can a face-down WATER monster be Banished by the effect of Different Dimension Deepsea Trench?
A: It cannot.
The WATER monster that will be Banished by the effect of Different Dimension Deepsea Trench must be face-up.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12938&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=ja

Q: If Mystical Space Typhoon is chained to the activation of Different Dimension Deepsea Trench, so that that card is destroyed, what happens with the effect that Banishes a WATER monster?
Also, what happens with the effect that Special Summons the Banished monster when that card is destroyed?
A: If Mystical Space Typhoon is chained to the activation of Different Dimension Deepsea Trench, so that that card is destroyed, the effect that Banishes a WATER monster is not applied.
Also, in this case, the effect that Special Summons the Banished monster when that card is destroyed does not activate. (It does not start a chain)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12939&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=ja

Q: If after the effect of Lemuria, the Forgotten City that increases the Level of WATER monsters you control a new Field Spell Card is activated or Lemuria, the Forgotten City is destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon, what happens with the Level increment?
A: The Level increment caused by the effect of Lemuria, the Forgotten City is an effect that is applied during the turn that the effect of Lemuria, the Forgotten City is activated and only while Lemuria, the Forgotten City exists on the Field.
Therefore, in the proposed scenarios, the Levels of the WATER monsters you control return to their Original value.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12940&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=ja

Q: After the effect of Lemuria, the Forgotten City resolves, increasing the Level of WATER monsters you control, if one of those monsters is affected by Forbidden Lance, what does its Level become?
A: In that case, the increased Level of that monster returns to its Original value.
Also, the monster is not affected by the effect of  Lemuria, the Forgotten City that increases the ATK and DEF of WATER monsters by 200 as a result of the effect of Forbidden Lance.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12941&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=ja

Q: If Skill Drain is applied after the effect of Double Shark that reduces the Level of all Fish-Type Monsters you control by 1 is applied, what happens with the Level decrement?
A: Even in that case, the Levels reduced the effect of Double Shark remain reduced.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12942&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=ja

Q: If Book of Moon is chained to the effect of Hammer Shark so that it is in face-down Defense Position when its effect resolves, does its effect still resolve?
A: In that case, it is not possible to reduce this card’s Level, so the effect that Special Summons a monster from the hand is not performed either.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12943&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=ja

Q: If Mischief of the Youkai is chained to the activation of the effect of Hammer Shark, so that at the time of its resolution its Level became 1, how does the effect resolve?
A: Even in that case, the effect is applied normally.
In this case, Hammer Shark’s Level becomes 1 as a final result.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12944&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=ja

Q: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of Blizzard Falcon its ATK is no longer higher than its Original ATK, is the effect that inflicts damage to the opponent still applied?
A: Even in that case, the effect is applied.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12945&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=ja

Q: If the activation of the effect of Bahamut Shark or its effect are negated by the effect of Light and Darkness Dragon or Skill Drain, can that Bahamut Shark perform an attack during that turn?
A: If the activation of the effect of Bahamut Shark is negated by the effect of Light and Darkness Dragon, that Bahamut Shark can perform an attack this turn.
Also, if the effect of Bahamut Shark is negated as a result of Skill Drain being activated in a chain to its activation, that Bahamut Shark can perform an attack this turn.
Furthermore, if Skill Drain is applied after an Xyz Monster has been Special Summoned by the effect of Bahamut Shark, that Bahamut Shark cannot perform an attack this turn.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12946&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=ja

Q: If Enemy Controller is chained to the activation of the effect of Ice Beast Zerofyne so that its controller changes, how does its effect resolve?
A: When the effect of Ice Beast Zerofyne resolves, the effects of face-up cards the opponent controls are negated.
In the proposed scenario, if control of Ice Beast Zerofyne changes, the effect of Ice Beast Zerofyne resolves normally and the effects of all face-up cards the opponent controls are negated, including Ice Beast Zerofyne.
Furthermore, the effect of Ice Beast Zerofyne that increases its ATK is also applied, but is immediatly negated and its ATK returns to its Original value as a result.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12947&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=ja

Q: If the only cards the opponent controls are Normal Monsters,  can the effect of Ice Beast Zerofyne be activated?
A: In order to activate the effect of Ice Beast Zerofyne, there must be at least 1 card whose effects can be negated.
Therefore, since the opponent only controls 1 Normal Monster and there are no face-up Spell or Trap Cards, the effect of Ice Beast Zerofyne cannot be activated.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12948&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=ja

Q: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of Ice Beast Zerofyne that card stops being face-up on your side of the Field, is the effect that negates the effects of all face-up cards the opponent controls still applied?
Also, if after the effect of Ice Beast Zerofyne  resolves that card stops being face-up on your side of the Field, what happens with the effect that negates the effects of all face-up cards the opponent controls?
A: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of Ice Beast Zerofyne that card stops being face-up on your side of the Field, the effect that increases the ATK of that card is not applied, but the effect that negates the effect of all face-up cards the opponent controls is still applied.
Also, if after the effect of Ice Beast Zerofyne  resolves that card stops being face-up on your side of the Field, the effect that negates the effects of all face-up cards the opponent controls remains applied normally.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12949&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=ja

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons