[OCG] Structure Deck R: Curse of the Dark Rulings

Initial rulings for SR06.

SR06-JP000 Lilith, Lady of Lament

Q: My Lilith, Lady of Lament is face-up in my Monster Zone, and has an original ATK of 1000 due to its own effect. If Book of Moon is activated and Lilith, Lady of Lament is changed to face-down Defense Position, what will its ATK be?
A: If a Lilith, Lady of Lament whose original ATK is 1000 due to its own effect is changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon, its effect no longer applies. Therefore, when Lilith, Lady of Lament is flipped face-up again, its ATK will be 2000.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21797&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate the effect of Lilith, Lady of Lament, my opponent chains Hand Destruction. As a result, if there are less than 3 Normal Trap Cards remaining in my Deck, what happens?
A: In this scenario, if you do not have 3 Normal Trap Cards in your Deck when resolving the effect of Lilith, Lady of Lament, the effect cannot be applied. (You do not reveal any Normal Trap Cards in your Deck.) Also, if you do not already have 3 Normal Trap Cards in your Deck, you cannot activate the effect of Lilith, Lady of Lament.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21796&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I activate the effect of Lilith, Lady of Lament, but my opponent chains Call of the Haunted and Special Summons Dark Simorgh from the Graveyard, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Lilith, Lady of Lament will resolve while the effect of your opponent’s Dark Simorgh prevents you from Setting cards. Since you cannot Set cards, the effect does not apply. (You do not reveal any Normal Trap Cards in your Deck.) Also, while the effect of Dark Simorgh is applying, you cannot activate the effect of Lilith, Lady of Lament.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21795&keyword=&tag=-1

SR06-JP001 Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone, and all face-up monsters on the field become DARK-Attribute. In this situation, if a face-up monster that isn’t originally DARK is Tributed on my field, can I then activate the effect of a Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair in my hand or Graveyard that Special Summons it?
A: In this scenario, even if a monster was Tributed that isn’t originally DARK, but is treated as DARK by the effect of Lair of Darkness, you can activate the effect of Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair that Special Summons it. However, if the effect of Lair of Darkness was used to Tribute a DARK monster on your opponent’s field when activating a card effect, you cannot activate the effect of Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair that Special Summons it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21794&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When using the effect of Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair that makes the opponent place 1 card from their hand on the top or bottom of their Deck, is that card shown before being placed on the top or bottom the Deck?
A: When resolving the effect of Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair, your opponent chooses 1 card in their hand and places it either on the top or the bottom of the Deck. This effect does not involve you looking at the card, so you do not get to see which card it is when your opponent places it on the top or bottom of their Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21793&keyword=&tag=-1

SR06-JP002 Ahrima, King of Wickedness

Q: Thunder King Rai-Oh is face-up on my opponent’s field, and its effect prevents either player from adding cards from the Deck to the hand except by drawing. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Ahrima, King of Wickedness by Tributing a DARK monster?
A: Even if the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is applying, you can activate the effect of Ahrima, King of Wickedness. In that case, due to the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh, you cannot add cards from your Deck to your hand other than by drawing. Therefore, even if you Tributed a DARK monster other than Ahrima, King of Wickedness, you can only draw 1 card.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21792&keyword=&tag=-1

SR06-JP003 Duke Shade, King of the Umbra

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone, Infernal Dragon is face-up in my Monster Zone, and Fiendish Rhino Warrior is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this scenario, by applying the effect of Lair of Darkness that allows me to Tribute 1 of my opponent’s DARK monsters when activating a card effect, can I Tribute my Infernal Dragon and my opponent’s Fiendish Rhino Warrior to activate the effect of Duke Shade, King of the Umbra that Special Summons it?
A: When activating the effect of Duke Shade, King of the Umbra that Special Summons it from your hand, you can apply the effect of Lair of Darkness and Tribute 1 of your opponent’s DARK monsters. Since the effect of Lair of Darkness only allows you to Tribute 1 of your opponent’s monsters, even if you Tribute multiple monsters to activate the effect of Duke Shade, King of the Umbra, you cannot Tribute 2 or more of your opponent’s monsters.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21790&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating the effect of Duke Shade, King of the Umbra that adds a Level 5 or higher DARK monster in my Graveyard to my hand, can I target a Fusion or Synchro Monster?
A: When activating the effect of Duke Shade, King of the Umbra that adds a Level 5 or higher DARK monster in your Graveyard to your hand, you can target a Fusion or Synchro Monster. That monster will return to your Extra Deck instead of being added to your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21791&keyword=&tag=-1

SR06-JP022 Lair of Darkness

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone. In this situation, if my opponent activates the effect of their Breaker the Magical Warrior while Doomcaliber Knight is face-up in my Monster Zone, can I apply the effect of Lair of Darkness when activating the effect of Doomcaliber Knight, so that I Tribute my opponent’s Breaker the Magical Warrior for the cost?
A: When applying the effect of Lair of Darkness that allows you to Tribute an opponent’s DARK monster when activating a card or effect, the Tributed monster must be an appropriate monster to Tribute for that effect. Since the effect of Doomcaliber Knight is activated by Tributing itself, you cannot apply the effect of Lair of Darkness to Tribute an opponent’s DARK monster instead.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21788&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone. In this situation, if there is a face-up Kuribandit on my opponent’s field, can I activate Majespecter Tornado and apply the effect of Lair of Darkness, so that I Tribute my opponent’s Kuribandit for the cost?
A: When applying the effect of Lair of Darkness that allows you to Tribute an opponent’s DARK monster when activating a card or effect, the Tributed monster must be an appropriate monster to Tribute for that effect. Since Majespecter Tornado is activated by Tributing a WIND Spellcaster-Type monster, you cannot apply the effect of Lair of Darkness to Tribute an opponent’s DARK monster instead.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21787&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone. In this situation, if there is a face-up Hunter Dragon on my opponent’s field that is unaffected by Spell effects due to the effect of Forbidden Lance, can I activate a card such as Grinning Grave Virus and apply the effect of Lair of Darkness, so that I Tribute that opponent’s Hunter Dragon for the cost?
A: In this scenario, since your opponent’s Hunter Dragon is unaffected by the effects of Spell Cards, it is also unaffected by the effect of Lair of Darkness that allows you to Tribute it when activating a card or effect. Therefore, in this scenario, you cannot Tribute that Hunter Dragon when activating a card or effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21789&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my opponent’s End Phase, the effect of Lair of Darkness activates, and 2 Shadow Tokens are Special Summoned to my opponent’s field. In this case, which player chooses the Main Monster Zones to place the Shadow Tokens in?
A: When a Shadow Token is Special Summoned by the effect of your Lair of Darkness, even if Special Summoned to your opponent’s field, you (the one who activated the effect of Lair of Darkness) chooses which Main Monster Zones they are Special Summoned in.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21786&keyword=&tag=-1

SR06-JP030 Grinning Grave Virus

Q: When activating Grinning Grave Virus, can I Tribute a DARK monster with less than 500 ATK?
A: The cost of activating Grinning Grave Virus is to Tribute a DARK monster on your field with 3000 or less ATK, but since the effect destroys an opponent’s card for every 500 ATK the Tributed monster had, you cannot activate it by Tributing a monster with less than 500 ATK.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21785&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: There are no cards in my opponent’s hand, and 5 cards remaining in my opponent’s Deck. In this situation, can I activate Grinning Grave Virus by Tributing a monster such as Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair that has 3000 ATK?
A: If the total number of cards in your opponent’s hand/Deck is 5 or less, you can activate Grinning Grave Virus by Tributing a monster with 3000 or more ATK such as Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair. In this case, your opponent must destroy a total of 6 cards in their hand and/or Deck, so they destroy as many as possible. (In this scenario, your opponent will destroy all 5 cards in their Deck.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21783&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Necrovalley is face-up in the Field Zone. In this situation, if Grinning Grave Virus is activated, is its effect negated by Necrovalley?
A: Since the effect of Grinning Grave Virus is not treated as one that affects cards in the Graveyard, it is not negated by the effect of Necrovalley.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21784&keyword=&tag=-1

SR06-JP029 Prohibition

Regarding the text changes to Prohibition…

Firstly, it’s a very minor change. None of the effects listed in bullets are “new”; the card already did all of those things, but under the blanket term “those cards cannot be used”, requiring several rulings to define what that effect meant.

However, there is a slight functional change in that the effects only apply to cards with the declared original names. This changes how Prohibition interacts with cards like Harpie Queen and SPYRAL Double Helix. With its former text, if you declared SPYRAL Super Agent, you’d be able to Special Summon SPYRAL Double Helix but its name would become SPYRAL Super Agent on the field and the listed effects would all apply to it. The new text allows SPYRAL Double Helix to completely bypass any restrictions if SPYRAL Double Helix was not declared directly.

No new rulings for Prohibition were posted this week, but several existing ones were removed from the database following this change.

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.