[OCG] Structure Deck: Masters of the Spiritual Arts Rulings

In case you need something to do after putting all the reprint staples in your trade binder.

 

SD39-JP005 Awakening of the Possessed – Archfiend Reaper

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect. (You must send 1 face-up Spellcaster monster in your Monster Zone and 1 face-up Level 4 or lower EARTH monster in your Monster Zone to the Graveyard, then Special Summon this card. Special Summoning this card using this effect does not start a Chain.)
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower monster from your Graveyard is a Trigger Effect that activates on the field. (It does not target. It can be activated optionally when this card is Special Summoned by its own effect.)
  • This card’s effect that adds a “Spiritual Earth Art” card or “Possessed” Spell/Trap Card from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target. It can be activated optionally if this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard, including during the Damage Step.)

 

SD39-JP006 Awakening of the Possessed – Great Inari Fire

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect. (You must send 1 face-up Spellcaster monster in your Monster Zone and 1 face-up Level 4 or lower FIRE monster in your Monster Zone to the Graveyard, then Special Summon this card. Special Summoning this card using this effect does not start a Chain.)
  • This card’s effect that inflicts damage to your opponent is a Trigger Effect that activates on the field. (It does not target. It can be activated optionally when this card is Special Summoned by its own effect.)
  • This card’s effect that adds a “Spiritual Fire Art” card or “Possessed” Spell/Trap Card from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target. It can be activated optionally if this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard, including during the Damage Step.)

 

SD39-JP021 Grand Spiritual Art – Ichirin

  • This card’s effect that negates the effect of an opponent’s monster does not start a Chain. (If there is a Spellcaster monster with 1500 DEF face-up in your Monster Zone when resolving a monster effect activated by your opponent, that effect is negated once.)
  • This card’s effect that reveals a Spellcaster monster in your hand and adds a monster with the same Attribute from your Deck to your hand is an effect that activates on the field. (It does not target. It can be activated optionally during your Main Phase.)
  • Revealing a Spellcaster monster in your hand, adding a monster with the same Attribute from your Deck to your hand, and returning the revealed monster to the Deck all happen simultaneously.

 

Q: Eria the Earth Charmer is face-up in my Monster Zone, and Grand Spiritual Art – Ichirin is face-up in my Field Zone. In this situation, what happens if my opponent activates the first effect of The Legendary Fisherman III?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Grand Spiritual Art – Ichirin is applied when the effect of The Legendary Fisherman III resolves, but since The Legendary Fisherman III is unaffected by Spell/Trap effects, its effect resolves normally and banishes all monsters on the opponent’s field. Furthermore, since the effect of Grand Spiritual Art – Ichirin is still considered to have been applied that turn, it will not negate any other monster effects activated by your opponent that turn.

Source

Q: Aussa the Earth Charmer is face-up in my Monster Zone, and Grand Spiritual Art – Ichirin is face-up in my Field Zone. In this situation, my opponent activates the effect of a Sillva, Warlord of Dark World that was discarded to the Graveyard as Chain Link 1, and the effect of Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World as Chain Link 2. In that case, which monster’s effect is negated by the effect of Grand Spiritual Art – Ichirin?
A: When your opponent activates multiple monster effects on the same Chain, the effect of Grand Spiritual Art – Ichirin will negate the monster effect that resolves first. In this scenario, the effect of Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World that was activated as Chain Link 2 is negated.

Source

 

SD39-JP031 Teamwork of the Possessed

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Spellcaster monster with 1500 DEF from your hand or Graveyard is the effect applied when this card’s activation resolves. (It does not target. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Special Summoning a Spellcaster monster from your hand or Graveyard and destroying 1 face-up card on the field do not happen simultaneously.
  • This card’s effect that places a “Possessed” Spell/Trap Card from your Graveyard face-up on your field is an effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It targets 1 “Possessed” Continuous Spell Card or “Possessed” Continuous Trap Card in your Graveyard. It can be activated optionally during either player’s turn, but cannot be activated during the Damage Step. Banishing this card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect.)

 

SD39-JPP05 Masters of the Spiritual Arts

  • This card does not target.
  • Discarding 1 card from your hand is the cost to activate this card.
  • This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
  • Adding a card to your hand and Setting a card to your field happen simultaneously.

 

Q: Mistake is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect is applying. In this case, can I activate Masters of the Spiritual Arts?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Mistake is applying, neither player can add cards from the Deck to the hand except by drawing. In that case, you cannot activate Masters of the Spiritual Arts. Also note that if Masters of the Spiritual Arts is activated, and Mistake is chained to it, the effect of Masters of the Spiritual Arts is not applied. (You do not select any cards from your Deck.)

Source

Q: Vanity’s Emptiness is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect is applying. In this case, can I activate Masters of the Spiritual Arts?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is applying, neither player can Special Summon monsters. You cannot activate Masters of the Spiritual Arts if the only eligible cards in your Deck are monsters. (You can, for example, add a Hiita the Fire Charmer to your hand and Set a Teamwork of the Possessed to your Spell & Trap Zone. When selecting cards in your Deck, you must be able to Set a “Possessed” Spell/Trap Card to your field.)

Source

Q: Can I chain Solemn Warning to the activation of Masters of the Spiritual Arts?
A: Since Masters of the Spiritual Arts is a Spell Card with an effect that includes Special Summoning monsters, you can chain Solemn Warning to its activation.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.