[OCG] Premium Pack 2020 Rulings

Turning your Altergeist monsters into Altergeist monsters.

 

20PP-JP001 Giltia-Gearfried the Magical Steel Knight

  • This card’s effect that negates the effect of a card that targets this card and destroys 1 card on the field is a Quick Effect. (It does not target, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Negating the effect and destroying 1 card on the field happen simultaneously.
  • This card’s effect that allows it to attack twice during each Battle Phase is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that increases its ATK by half its DEF is a Quick Effect. (It does not target. Banishing 1 Spell Card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect.)

 

20PP-JP002 Crystal Girl

  • This card’s effect that adds a Level 5 or higher WATER monster from your Deck to your hand during the End Phase of that turn is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Adding a Level 5 or higher WATER monster from your Deck to your hand during the End Phase does not start a Chain.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it is an Ignition Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target.)
  • Banishing this card that was Special Summoned by its own effect when it leaves the field does not start a Chain. (This effect is also applied during the Damage Step.)

 

20PP-JP003 Altergeist Memorygant

  • This card’s effect that increases its ATK is a Quick Effect. (It does not target. Tributing 1 other monster in your Monster Zone is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • If this effect is activated during the Damage Step, it must be at the start of the Damage Step or before damage calculation.
  • This card’s effect that destroys a monster on your opponent’s field and allows this card to attack again is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • This card’s effect that prevents it from being destroyed by banishing a monster from your Graveyard instead is a Continuous Effect. (This effect is also applied during the Damage Step.)

 

Q: When activating the effect of Altergeist Memorygant that increases its ATK, can I Tribute a monster with 0 ATK?
A: When activating the effect of Altergeist Memorygant that increases its ATK, you cannot Tribute a monster with 0 ATK.

Source

 

20PP-JP004 Altergeist Pookuery

  • This card’s effect that allows it to be used as a Link Material for an “Altergeist” Link Monster while in your hand is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that adds it to your hand is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target.)

 

Q: I Link Summon an Altergeist Hexstia, using an Altergeist Multifaker on my field and an Altergeist Pookuery in my hand by applying its first effect. In this situation, can I then activate the effect of that Altergeist Pookuery that adds it from the Graveyard to my hand?
A: When performing a Link Summon, monsters are first sent to the Graveyard as Link Materials, then the Link Monster is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck. When the Link Summon is successful, Altergeist Pookuery is already in your Graveyard, so its effect that adds it to your hand can be activated.

Source

 

20PP-JP005 Altergeist Fijialert

  • This card’s effect is a Trigger Effect that activates in the hand.
  • This effect targets 1 Link Monster in either player’s Monster Zone, other than the one that was just Link Summoned.
  • This effect finishes resolving by Special Summoning this card from your hand. (The part of the effect that treats the targeted monster as an “Altergeist” monster is applied immediately once this effect resolves.)

 

Q: I Link Summon an Altergeist Kidolga to a zone that my Altergeist Primebanshee points to. At this time, can I activate the effect of Altergeist Fijialert and target my Altergeist Primebanshee?
A: You can target an “Altergeist” Link Monster with the effect of Altergeist Fijialert. In that case, Altergeist Fijialert is Special Summoned to a zone Altergeist Primebanshee points to, and the part of the effect that treats Altergeist Primebanshee as an “Altergeist” monster is also applied normally.

Source

Q: I Link Summon an Altergeist Hexstia to a zone that my I:P Masquerena points to. At this time, if I activate the effect of Altergeist Fijialert in my hand, but my opponent chains Mind Crush and discards Altergeist Fijialert from my hand, how does its effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Altergeist Fijialert, if that Altergeist Fijialert is no longer in your hand, it cannot be Special Summoned, but the part of the effect that treats the targeted monster as an “Altergeist” monster this turn is still applied. (The targeted I:P Masquerena is treated as an “Altergeist” monster this turn.)

Source

 

20PP-JP006 Tindangle Dholes

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a “Tindangle” monster from your Graveyard in face-down Defense Position is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It targets 1 “Tindangle” monster in your Graveyard other than Tindangle Dholes, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect that sends a Spell/Trap Card from your Deck to the Graveyard is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • You can activate this effect even if this card is flipped face-up during the Damage Step.
  • This card’s effect that allows a “Tindangle” Link Monster that used is as Link Material to attack up to 3 times during each Battle Phase is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect.

 

20PP-JP007 Rose Princess

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it from your hand is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect. (Special Summoning this card with this effect does not start a Chain.)
  • This card that was Special Summoned by this effect is treated as a Tuner monster as long as it remains face-up in the Monster Zone.
  • This card’s effect that adds a White Rose Cloister from your Deck to your hand is an Ignition Effect that activates in your hand. (It does not target. Discarding this card from your hand is the cost to activate this effect.)

 

20PP-JP008 Morph King Stygi-Gel

  • This card’s effect that changes its Level and makes you gain Life Points is a Trigger Effect. (This effect targets 1 other face-up monster in either player’s Monster Zone, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Changing this card’s Level and gaining Life Points happen simultaneously.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Fiend monster from your hand is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target.)

 

Q: When activating the first effect of Morph King Stygi-Gel, can I target a monster with the same Level?
A: When activating the first effect of Morph King Stygi-Gel, you cannot target a monster with the same Level.

Source

 

20PP-JP009 Right-Hand Shark

  • This card’s effect that adds a Left-Hand Shark from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it is an Ignition Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target.)
  • This card’s effect that grants an additional effect to an Xyz Monster that was Xyz Summoned using this card as a material is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect. (A monster Xyz Summoned using only WATER monsters including this card on the field gains the listed “●” effect. It is not the effect of Right-Hand Shark itself.)
  • The gained “●” effect is a Continuous Effect.

 

20PP-JP010 Left-Hand Shark

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it is an Ignition Effect that activates in the hand or Graveyard. (It does not target.)
  • This card’s effect that changes its Level to 4 is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target, and activates whenever this card is Special Summoned from the Graveyard. It can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect that grants an additional effect to an Xyz Monster that was Xyz Summoned using this card as a material is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect. (A monster Xyz Summoned using only WATER monsters including this card on the field gains the listed “●” effect. It is not the effect of Left-Hand Shark itself.)
  • The gained “●” effect is a Continuous Effect.

 

20PP-JP011 White Rose Cloister

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a “Rose Dragon” monster or Plant monster from your hand starts a Chain. (It does not target.)
  • This card’s effect that reveals the top card of your Deck and increases the ATK of Level 7 or higher Synchro Monsters on your field starts a Chain. (It does not target. When activating this effect, you must declare a listed card type.)
  • After revealing the top card of your Deck, return it to the top of the Deck.
  • The effect that increases the ATK of all Level 7 or higher Synchro Monsters on your field is applied to all face-up Level 7 or higher Synchro Monsters in your Monster Zone during that turn.

 

20PP-JP012 Burning Soul

  • This card does not target.
  • This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
  • When this card’s effect resolves, you add 1 card from your Graveyard to your hand other than Burning Soul. After the effect finishes resolving, immediately perform a Synchro Summon using monsters in your Monster Zone as materials.
  • This card cannot be activated unless a Synchro Summon can be performed correctly using its effect.

 

20PP-JP013 Hidden Fangs of Revenge

  • The text that states cards and effects cannot be activated in response to this card’s activation is not an effect. (Neither player can chain any cards or effects to this card.)
  • This card does not target.
  • The 2 Set cards you destroy with this effect are chosen when resolving the effect.
  • If a Monster Card is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard with this effect, you then choose 1 of them and destroy monsters on your opponent’s field with less ATK than that monster’s DEF, then it becomes the End Phase of this turn.

 

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. In this situation, when my opponent declares an attack, can I activate Hidden Fangs of Revenge?
A: In this scenario, you can still activate Hidden Fangs of Revenge. The part of the effect that destroys 2 Set cards on your field and negates the attack is applied normally, but since the destroyed cards are banished due to the effect of Macro Cosmos, you cannot choose a monster in your Graveyard or destroy any of your opponent’s monsters, and it does not become the End Phase of this turn.

Source

 

20PP-JP014 Hyper Galaxy

  • Tributing 1 monster with 2000 or more ATK in your Monster Zone other than Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon is the cost to activate this card. (You can also Tribute a face-down Defense Position monster with 2000 or more ATK.)
  • This card targets 1 face-up Attack Position monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone with 2000 or more ATK.
  • Tributing the targeted monster and Special Summoning a Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon from your hand, Deck, or Graveyard happen simultaneously.

 

20PP-JP015 Pendulum Transfer

  • This card targets 1 or 2 face-up Pendulum Monsters in your Monster Zone.
  • You cannot activate this card if you have 2 cards in your Pendulum Zones. Also, if you have only 1 card in your Pendulum Zone, you can only target 1 monster with this card.

 

20PP-JP016 Pendulum Xyz

  • This card targets 2 cards in your Pendulum Zones.
  • When this card’s effect resolves, you Special Summon the 2 targeted Pendulum Monsters with their effects negated. After the effect finishes resolving, immediately perform an Xyz Summon using those 2 monsters as materials.
  • When performing the Xyz Summon, choose whether or not to apply the effect that treats the Level of 1 Special Summoned monster the same as the other monster’s. (If their Levels are different, choose which of their Levels to treat them as and perform the Xyz Summon.)
  • You cannot activate this card if you do not have an Xyz Monster in your Extra Deck than can be Xyz Summoned using the 2 cards in your Pendulum Zones as materials.

 

20PP-JP017 Dowsing Fusion

  • This card does not target.
  • This card banishes Pendulum Monsters from your Graveyard as materials for the Fusion Summon.
  • Banishing monsters from your Graveyard and Fusion Summoning a Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck do not happen simultaneously.

 

20PP-JP018 White Mirror

  • This card targets 1 Level 4 or lower Fish monster in your Graveyard.
  • After Special Summoning the targeted monster, choose whether or not to apply the part of the effect that adds a monster with the same name from your Deck to your hand. (If you do not add a monster to your hand, this effect finishes resolving by Special Summoning the targeted monster.)
  • Special Summoning the targeted monster and adding a monster with the same name from your Deck to your hand do not happen simultaneously.

 

20PP-JP019 The Ice-Bound God

  • This card’s effect that prevents a monster from attacking and negates its effects is the effect that applies by activating this card. (It targets 1 face-up monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect that Sets it to the field starts a Chain and activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Banishing this card that was Set by its own effect when it leaves the field does not start a Chain. (This effect is also applied during the Damage Step.)

 

20PP-JP020 Eternal Bond

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons “Photon” monsters from your Graveyard is the effect that applies by activating this card. (It targets any number of “Photon” monsters in your Graveyard, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect that takes control of an opponent’s “Photon” monster starts a Chain and activates in the Graveyard. (It targets 1 face-up “Photon” monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone. Banishing this card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This effect finishes resolving by taking control of the targeted monster. (The part of the effect that only allows you to declare an attack with that monster and changes its ATK is applied immediately once this effect resolves.)

 

Q: I activated the second effect of Eternal Bond and took control of my opponent’s Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon. During this turn, if I activate Tachyon Spiral Galaxy and target my Number 107: Galaxy-Eyes Tachyon Dragon, can I declare an attack with it?
A: During the turn you applied the second effect of Eternal Bond, you can only declare an attack with the targeted monster. In this scenario, you can only declare an attack with the Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon you took control of, and cannot attack with your Number 107: Galaxy-Eyes Tachyon Dragon unaffected by Trap effects.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.