Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] Perfect Rulebook 2017 Promo Rulings

I’ve heard she can make a pretty good Sanwitch.

If you don’t already know, Witch of the Black Forest is the latest classic card with revised text in the OCG, and these rulings cover its new effect. The new effect is as follows:

RB04-JP001 Witch of the Black Forest
If this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: Add 1 monster with 1500 or less DEF from your Deck to your hand, but you cannot activate cards, or the effects of cards, with that name for the rest of this turn. You can only use this effect of “Witch of the Black Forest” once per turn.

Q: Mistake is face-up on the opponent’s field, and its effect prevents players from adding cards from the Deck to the hand except by drawing. If my Witch of the Black Forest is sent from the field to the Graveyard in this situation, will its effect activate?
A: Even in this scenario, the effect of Witch of the Black Forest activates. In that case, you cannot add cards from your Deck to your hand due to the effect of Mistake, and the part of the effect that prevents you from activating cards or effects with that name is not applied as well. (You do not choose a monster from your Deck.) Even then, you cannot activate the effect of Witch of the Black Forest again during the same turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20711&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I add a Normal Monster with 1500 or less DEF from my Deck to my hand with the effect of Witch of the Black Forest?
A: You can add a Normal Monster with 1500 or less DEF from your Deck to your hand with the effect of Witch of the Black Forest. Even if that monster does not have an effect that can be activated, if you add a Pendulum Monster such as Mandragon, you cannot activate it as a Spell Card in your Pendulum Zone, and if there are monsters on your field with effects that treat them as having the same name as that monster, they cannot activate their effects.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20710&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Witch of the Black Forest and add a Foucault’s Cannon from my Deck to my hand. If I do, what will I not be able to do during this turn with it?
A: If you add a Pendulum Monster to your hand with the effect of Witch of the Black Forest, such as Foucault’s Cannon, you cannot activate cards or effects with the same name for the rest of this turn, so you cannot activate Foucault’s Cannon as a Spell Card in your Pendulum Zone. Also, if a Foucault’s Cannon already exists in your Pendulum Zone, you cannot activate its Pendulum Effect. However, you can still Normal or Special Summon Foucault’s Cannon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20709&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Witch of the Black Forest and add a Harpie Dancer from my Deck to my hand. If I do, what will I not be able to do during this turn with it?
A: As in this scenario, if you add a Harpie Dancer to your hand with the effect of Witch of the Black Forest, you are unable to activate cards or effects with the same name for the rest of the turn. You can Normal or Special Summon Harpie Dancer as usual, but you cannot activate the effects of cards with the name Harpie Dancer. However, since Harpie Dancer is treated as Harpie Lady while face-up on the field or in the Graveyard, you can still activate the effect of Harpie Dancer that returns a WIND monster on your field to the hand and allows you to Normal Summon an extra WIND monster. On the other hand, if Skill Drain is active and the effect of Harpie Dancer that treats it as Harpie Lady is negated, you cannot activate the effect of Harpie Dancer due to the effect of Witch of the Black Forest.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20708&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Witch of the Black Forest and add a Cyber Harpie Lady from my Deck to my hand. During this turn, can I activate the effect of a Harpie Harpist?
A: If you add a Cyber Harpie Lady to your hand with the effect of Witch of the Black Forest, since Cyber Harpie Lady is always treated as Harpie Lady, you cannot activate cards or effects with the name Harpie Lady this turn. Since the effect of Harpie Harpist treats it as Harpie Lady while face-up on the field or in the Graveyard, neither effect of Harpie Harpist can be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20707&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Witch of the Black Forest and add a Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin from my Deck to my hand. During this turn, can I activate the effect of a Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin?
A: As in this scenario, if you add a Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin to your hand with the effect of Witch of the Black Forest, you are unable to activate cards or effects with the same name for the rest of the turn. Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin is always treated as Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin, so you cannot activate its effect during this turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20704&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Witch of the Black Forest and add a Necro Gardna from my Deck to my hand. During this turn, can I activate the effect of a Necro Gardna that is already in my Graveyard?
A: As in this scenario, if you add a Necro Gardna to your hand with the effect of Witch of the Black Forest, you are unable to activate cards or effects with the same name for the rest of the turn. In this case, you cannot activate the effect of a Necro Gardna in your Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20706&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Witch of the Black Forest and add a Dogoran, the Mad Flame Kaiju from my Deck to my hand. During this turn, can I Special Summon Dogoran, the Mad Flame Kaiju from my hand with either of its effects?
A: As in this scenario, if you add a Dogoran, the Mad Flame Kaiju to your hand with the effect of Witch of the Black Forest, you are unable to activate cards or effects with the same name for the rest of the turn. However, the effect of Dogoran, the Mad Flame Kaiju that allows you to Special Summon it to your opponent’s field by Tributing 1 of their monsters, and the effect that allows you to Special Summon it to your field if your opponent controls a “Kaiju” monster, are not effects that activate. Even if you add Dogoran, the Mad Flame Kaiju to your hand with the effect of Witch of the Black Forest, you can Special Summon it from your hand during the same turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20701&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my Draw Phase, my Witch of the Black Forest is sent from the field to the Graveyard, and I activate its effect and add an Amorphage Goliath from my Deck to my hand. If an Amorphage Goliath already exists in my Pendulum Zone, do I still have to Tribute a monster during my Standby Phase?
A: As in this scenario, if you add a Amorphage Goliath to your hand with the effect of Witch of the Black Forest, you are unable to activate cards or effects with the same name for the rest of the turn. However, Tributing a monster for Amorphage Goliath or destroying it during each of your Standby Phases is not treated as a card effect, so even if you added Amorphage Goliath to your hand with the effect of Witch of the Black Forest, you must still carry out the maintenance cost.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20702&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Mystic Tomato is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, I activate its effect and Special Summon a Witch of the Black Forest from my Deck. This turn, if the effect of Witch of the Black Forest is activated, can I add a Mystic Tomato from my Deck to my hand?
A: When you activate the effect of Witch of the Black Forest, after the effect resolves, you are no longer able to activate cards or effects with the name of the added monster for the rest of the turn. Therefore, in this scenario, you can still add a Mystic Tomato to your hand with the effect of Witch of the Black Forest, even though you activated the effect of a Mystic Tomato previously that turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20703&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.