Close Menu
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    • News
      • OCG & TCG
      • Master Duel
      • Rush Duel
      • Set Spoilers
      • Forbidden & Limited Lists
    • Articles
      • Rulings
        • Summary of PSCT
      • Card Lores
      • Deck Building
      • Strategy Guides
      • Lists
        • TCG Only
        • OCG Only
    • Creative Decks
    • Wiki
    • Database
    • Newsletter
    • About Us
    YGOrganization
    YGOrganization
    FAQ Rulings Updates

    [OCG] October 2025 Rulings Update

    RedshiftBy RedshiftOctober 31, 20251 Comment

    Spooky month rulings.

     

     

    UPDATED ENTRIES

     

     

    “If an “/Assault Mode” monster Special Summoned by the effect of Assault Revival activates its effect to Special Summon a Synchro Monster, is the effect negated?”
    Q: If Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode is Special Summoned by the effect of Assault Revival, its effects are negated. However, when it is destroyed and banished, and I activate its effect that Special Summons a Red Dragon Archfiend from my GY, will that effect be negated?
    A: It will not be negated. (Since the effect activated while Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode was banished, the effect of Assault Revival that states “Its effect(s) is negated” is no longer applying.)
    The same applies if the following monsters Special Summoned by the effect of Assault Revival activate their effects that Special Summon a Synchro Monster:
    – Arcanite Magician/Assault Mode
    – Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode
    – Doomkaiser Dragon/Assault Mode
    – Hyper Psychic Blaster/Assault Mode
    – Colossal Fighter/Assault Mode
    – T.G. Halberd Cannon/Assault Mode
    – Crimson Blader/Assault Mode
    – Junk Warrior/Assault Mode

    Source

     

    “If I activated DNA Surgery by declaring Zombie-Type, and then Special Summoned a monster with a different Type, does the effect of Vampire Sucker activate?”
    Q: I activated DNA Surgery by declaring the Zombie-Type, so the effect “All face-up monsters become that Attribute” is applying. While this effect is applying, a monster with an original Type other than Zombie is Special Summoned from the GY.
    In this case, does the effect of Vampire Sucker, “If a Zombie monster(s) is Special Summoned from either GY: Draw 1 card”, activate?
    A: The effect will activate. (The Special Summoned monster’s Type in the GY is not taken into account.)
    Similarly, if the effect of DNA Transplant causes the Type of a monster in the Monster Zone to become the Type that corresponds with the following effects, the Special Summoned monster’s original Type is not taken into account, so each effect can be activated:

    Effects that activate if a Zombie monster is Special Summoned
    – Shinobi Necro
    – Seven Cities of the Golden Land

    Effects that activate if an Insect monster is Special Summoned
    – Humongous Hive Hegemon – Zexstagger

    Effects that activate if a Spellcaster monster is Special Summoned
    – Night’s End Administrator
    – Day-Breaker the Shining Magical Warrior

    Effects that activate if you Synchro Summon a LIGHT Beast Synchro Monster
    – Yummyusment★Acroquey

    Effects that activate if a Beast, Beast-Warrior, or Winged Beast monster is Special Summoned
    – Tri-Brigade Shuraig the Ominous Omen
    – Tri-Brigade Showdown

    Effects that activate if a Level 8 or higher Fish Synchro Monster is Special Summoned
    – White Reincarnation

    Effects that activate if a DARK Dragon monster is Special Summoned
    – Noctovision Dragon

    Source

     

    “If Necrovalley is in play, how does the effect of Ame no Murakumo no Mitsurugi apply when activated in the GY?”
    Q: The effect of Necrovalley is applying. In this situation, if the third effect of Ame no Murakumo no Mitsurugi is activated in the GY, how does it resolve?
    A: The part of the effect “add 1 “Mitsurugi” card from your Deck to your hand, except “Ame no Murakumo no Mitsurugi”” still applies, but the part of the effect “then you can Special Summon this card” cannot be applied.
    The same applies to the following effects:
    – Futsu no Mitama no Mitsurugi (second effect)
    – Ame no Habakiri no Mitsurugi (third effect)
    Similarly, the second effect of Cycle of the World can be activated even if the effect of Necrovalley is applying, and as cost you still return Cycle of the World to your Deck. You then resolve the part of the effect that adds End of the World from your Deck to your hand, but you cannot apply the part of the effect that adds Ruin, Queen of Oblivion or Demise, King of Armageddon from your GY to your hand.

    Source

     

     

    NEW ENTRIES

     

     

    “Can I use Monster Tokens or Dark Magician of Chaos to Special Summon Dark Magician of Destruction?”
    Q: During a turn a Spell Card was activated,
    (A) Can I Special Summon Dark Magician of Destruction using the method written in its text, by banishing Dark Magician of Chaos from the Monster Zone?
    (B) If a Mask Token Special Summoned by the effect of Ecole de Zone becomes Level 6 or higher due to another effect, can it be banished to Special Summon Dark Magician of Destruction?
    A:
    (A) Yes.
    (B) Yes. The Mask Token disappears, but Dark Magician of Destruction is Special Summoned successfully.
    Similarly, when Special Summoning the following monsters, you can also banish Monster Tokens or monsters with the effect “if this face-up card would leave the field, banish it instead” as Fusion Materials:
    – Trishula, the Dragon of Icy Imprisonment

    Source

     

    “When activating the second effect of Tellarknight Constellar Caduceus, which parts of the banished monster’s text do not apply?”
    Q:
    (A) Satellarknight Deneb has the condition in its text that states “You can only use this effect of “Satellarknight Deneb” once per turn”, but can I still activate the second effect of Tellarknight Constellar Caduceus by banishing Satellarknight Deneb during a turn I already activated the effect of Satellarknight Deneb?
    (B) If I apply the effect of Satellarknight Altair, does the text “monsters you control cannot attack for the rest of this turn, except “tellarknight” monsters” apply?
    A:
    (A) Yes, you can. The effect of Tellarknight Constellar Caduceus ignores the text “you can only use this effect once per turn” of the original “Tellarknight” or “Constellar” card.
    (B) It still applies. Regardless of whether or not the Special Summon is successful, if the effect of Satellarknight Altair applied by Tellarknight Constellar Caduceus was not negated, the part of the effect “monsters you control cannot attack for the rest of this turn, except “tellarknight” monsters” still applies.

    Source

     

    “While the effect ‘neither player can send cards from the Deck to the GY’ is applying, can I Tribute monsters from my Deck with the second effect of Mitsurugi Ritual?”
    Q: If the effects of Stellarknight Constellar Diamond or Dimension Fortress Weapon that prevents players from sending cards from the Deck to the GY are applying, and I activate the second “●” effect of Mitsurugi Ritual, can I Tribute monsters from my Deck?
    A: Yes, you can. Monsters Tributed from the Deck are still sent to the GY as a result.

    Source

     

    “When activating the effect of Evolzar Lars that has Apophis the Swamp Deity as an Xyz Material, how many materials need to be detached?”
    Q: If Evolzar Lars was Xyz Summoned using the Level 6 Reptile Apophis the Swamp Deity that was Special Summoned by its own effect, and then that Evolzar Lars activates its effect, how many Xyz Materials are detached?
    A: Apophis the Swamp Deity is not treated as a Reptile monster while it is an Xyz Material, so you must detach 2 materials to activate the effect of Evolzar Lars.

    Source

     

    “When activating the second effect of Yummy★Snatchy to perform a Synchro Summon, can I use a Tatsunoko on the field and a “Yummy” monster in my hand as materials?”
    Q: If I only control Yummy★Snatchy and Tatsunoko, and have Cupsy☆Yummy in my hand and Cupid Pitch in my Extra Deck, can I activate the second effect of Yummy★Snatchy? If so, can I Synchro Summon Cupid Pitch using the Tatsunoko I control and Cupsy☆Yummy in my hand as materials?
    A: Yes, you can activate the effect, and Synchro Summon Cupid Pitch using the Tatsunoko you control and Cupsy☆Yummy in your hand as materials.

    Source

     

    “Can I chain the effects of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring, Stardust Dragon, Dominus Impulse, etc. to the second effect of Darklord Ixchel?”
    Q:
    (A) When I activate the second effect of Darklord Ixchel by targeting Banishment of the Darklords, can the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring or Dominus Purge be chained?
    (B) When I activate the second effect of Darklord Ixchel by targeting Darklord Rebellion, can the effect of Stardust Dragon or Enneacraft – Archa.TAIL be chained?
    (C) When I activate the second effect of Darklord Ixchel by targeting Darklord Contact, can the effect of Dominus Impulse or Underworld Goddess of the Closed World be chained?
    A: They cannot be activated in any of these situations.
    The effect of Darklord Ixchel is one that applies the effect of the targeted card, then returns that card to the Deck. Therefore, it is not treated as an effect that “adds a card(s) from the Deck to the hand”, “that would destroy a card(s) on the field”, or that “includes an effect that Special Summons”.
    Similarly, the effects of the following cards are also not treated as effects that “add a card(s) from the Deck to the hand”, “that would destroy a card(s) on the field”, or that “include an effect that Special Summons”:
    – Darklord Amdusc
    – Darklord Tezcatlipoca
    – Darklord Nergal
    – Darklord Nasten

    Source

     

    “How do I activate the monster effects of Enneacraft – Atori.MAR on the field?”
    Q: How do I activate the effects of Enneacraft – Atori.MAR, “When your opponent activates a card or effect on the field during your turn (Quick Effect): You can change this Set card to face-up Defense Position; negate the activation, and if you do, destroy that card”, and “FLIP: Change all monsters your opponent controls to face-down Defense Position”?
    A: When your opponent activates an effect on the field while Enneacraft – Atori.MAR is in face-down Defense Position in your Monster Zone, you can first activate its Quick Effect by chaining to that opponent’s effect, and then resolve them.
    If Enneacraft – Atori.MAR is still face-up in the Monster Zone after that Chain resolves, its “FLIP” effect will activate as Chain Link 1.
    The same applies to the Quick Effects and “FLIP” effects of the following monsters, which are not activated on the same Chain:
    – Enneacraft – Archa.TAIL
    – Enneacraft “tromarIA”
    – Enneacraft “oknirIA”
    – Enneacraft “alazoneIA”
    – Enneacraft “orgIA”

    Source

     

    “If I activate Apophis the Serpent and Special Summon it, can I activate or Set other cards in the Spell & Trap Zone where it was originally Set?”
    Q: After activating and Special Summoning an Apophis the Serpent that was Set in the center Spell & Trap Zone, can I Set an “Apophis” Trap Card to the center Spell & Trap Zone when applying the part of the effect “then you can Set 1 “Apophis” Trap from your Deck”?
    A: Yes, you can. (Even if you activate Apophis the Serpent while you have 5 cards in your Spell & Trap Zones, you can still Set an “Apophis” Trap Card with its effect.)
    If you activate a Trap Card that Special Summons itself to the Monster Zone after activation, the Spell & Trap Zone it was originally in becomes usable.
    For example, if the following cards are Special Summoned from the Spell & Trap Zone, the Spell & Trap Zone it was in will become usable, allowing you to activate or Set other cards in it:
    – Embodiment of Apophis
    – Apophis the Swamp Deity
    – Eldlixir of the Glorious Golden Land
    – Conquistador of the Golden Land
    – Guardian of the Golden Land
    – Huaquero of the Golden Land
    – Tiki Peace
    – Tiki Curse
    – Tiki Soul
    – Argostars – Lightning Tydeu
    – Argostars – Slayer Eteo
    – Argostars – Swift Capane
    – Zoma the Spirit
    – Zoma the Earthbound Spirit
    – Kuebiko
    – Silhouhatte Trick
    – Angel Statue – Azurune
    – Statue of Anguish Pattern
    – Shaddoll Core
    – Time Thief Power Reserve
    – You’re Finished
    – Prey of the Jirai Gumo
    – Mimesis Elephant
    – Powerhold the Moving Battery
    – Dwimmered Glimmer
    – Crusadia Krawler
    – Altergeist Emulatelf
    – Space Dragster
    – Metalhold the Moving Blockade
    – Krystal Avatar
    – Dimension Reflector
    – Metamorphortress
    – King Scarlet
    – Swamp Mirrorer
    – Quantum Cat
    – Abyss Stungray
    – The First Monarch
    – The Door of Destiny
    – Shapesister
    – Copy Knight
    – Machine King – 3000 B.C.
    – Cyber Shadow Gardna
    – Stronghold the Moving Fortress
    – Metal Reflect Slime
    – The Phantom Knights of Shade Brigandine
    – The Phantom Knights of Tomb Shield
    – The Phantom Knights of Wrong Magnetring
    – The Phantom Knights of Lost Vambrace
    – Qlife’s End
    – Traptrix Holeutea

    Source

     

    “If the effect of The Man with the Mark is applying, will Treasures of the Kings be destroyed by an effect chained to its activation?”
    Q: While the effect of The Man with the Mark is applying, so that Temple of the Kings I control cannot be destroyed by card effects, if I activate Treasures of the Kings but Mystical Space Typhoon is activated on the same Chain, will Treasures of the Kings be destroyed?
    A: It will be destroyed. When Treasures of the Kings is activated, it is a card on the field, but while still resolving other effects on the Chain, the effect “This card’s name becomes “Temple of the Kings” while in the Field Zone” is not applying yet.
    Similarly, when Shining Sarcophagus is activated, it is a card in the Spell & Trap Zone, but its effect “Cannot be destroyed by monster effects” is not applying yet, so it can be destroyed by a monster effect activated on the same Chain.

    Source

     

    “What happens if a monster that was targeted by an opponent’s effect while the effect of my Elvennotes ~Reunion Tercet~ is applying is in my center Main Monster Zone when that effect resolves?”
    Q: While the first effect of my Elvennotes ~Reunion Tercet~ is applying, my opponent activates a card effect that targets my Elvennotes Lucina. If I chain the effect of Elvennotes ~Oracle Aristeia~ and move the targeted monster to my center Main Monster Zone, what happens?
    A: If your opponent activated an effect that targeted Elvennotes Lucina, it will be applied as written.
    While the first effect of Elvennotes ~Reunion Tercet~ is applying, your opponent cannot activate effects by targeting a monster in your center Main Monster Zone. In this scenario, your opponent already activated the effect that targeted your monster, so even if it can no longer be targeted afterward, the effect will be applied as written.
    The same applies if a monster that has already been targeted later becomes “untargetable” due to the following effects:
    – Maliss <P> March Hare
    – Killer Tune Loudness War
    – Artmage Finmel
    – Ukanomitsune-no-Onari
    – Ryu-Ge End
    – Fabled Gammajin
    – Tenyi Spirit – Mula Adhara
    – Max Metalmorph
    – Performage Trapeze Witch
    – Rescue-ACE Hydrant
    – Lady Labrynth of the Silver Castle
    – True Light
    – Transcode Talker
    – Starliege Photon Blast Dragon
    – Mudragon of the Swamp
    – Statue of Anguish Pattern
    – Forbidden Dress
    – Metalsilver Armor
    – Saint Azamina
    – Dark Contract with the Eternal Darkness

    Source

     

    “What happens if I activate the effect of Ame no Habakiri no Mitsurugi in the GY, but Ame no Habakiri no Mitsurugi is banished when its effect resolves?”
    Q: After Tributing an Ame no Habakiri no Mitsurugi that was Ritual Summoned, I activated its third effect in the GY, but it was banished by the effect of D.D. Crow that was chained to its effect. In this case, how does the effect resolve?
    A: The effect adds a “Mitsurugi” card other than Ame no Habakiri no Mitsurugi from your Deck to your hand, but since Ame no Habakiri no Mitsurugi is no longer in the GY from where its effect activated, you cannot Special Summon it.
    The same applies if the effects of the following monsters are activated in the GY, but have been banished by the effect of D.D. Crow by the time they resolve:
    – Ame no Murakumo no Mitsurugi
    – Futsu no Mitama no Mitsurugi

    Source

     

    “If I Special Summon “D/D/D” monsters from the Extra Deck with multiple card types, can I activate each effect of Dark Contract with the Entities?”
    Q: If a “D/D/D” Xyz/Pendulum Monster is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck, or if 2 or more “D/D/D” Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Pendulum Monsters are Special Summoned from the Extra Deck at the same time, how are the effects of Dark Contract with the Entities activated and resolved?
    A: You can activate each “●” effect that corresponds to those monsters. For example, if 1 Xyz/Pendulum Monster is Special Summoned, you can activate the “● Xyz” effect and the “● Pendulum” effect.
    When activated, all of them will be activated and resolved on the same Chain, but the player activating the effects of Dark Contract with the Entities can choose the order in which they are activated. (They do not have to chained in the written order of “● Fusion”, “● Synchro”, “● Xyz”, and “● Pendulum”.)

    Source

     

    “If the effects of Conduction Knight Plasma Magnum and Barrier Statue of the Drought are applying, can I Special Summon non-EARTH monsters?”
    Q: If the effect of my Conduction Knight Plasma Magnum that makes all face-up monsters on the field become EARTH is applying, and the effect of Barrier Statue of the Drought is also applying, can I Special Summon non-EARTH monsters?
    A: No, you cannot. If the effect of Barrier Statue of the Drought is applying, non-EARTH monsters cannot be Special Summoned. Even if the monster would become EARTH after being Special Summoned due to the effect of Conduction Knight Plasma Magnum, you cannot Special Summon non-EARTH monsters.
    However, you can still perform a Special Summon by activating Apophis the Serpent, which Special Summons itself as an EARTH monster, or by activating Quantum Cat by declaring EARTH.

    Source

     

    “Can I Special Summon Artmage Non Finito by Tributing a monster that had the second effect of Artmage Vandalism -Assault- applied to it?”
    Q: If a monster has the effect of Artmage Vandalism -Assault- applied to it, so that it can be treated as an “Artmage” monster when used as Fusion Material this turn, can I Tribute that monster to Special Summon Artmage Non Finito using the procedure written in its text?
    A: Yes, you can. Special Summoning Artmage Non Finito using the procedure written in its text is not a Fusion Summon, but the Tributed monster is treated as a Fusion Material.
    Also, if the effect of Fusion Tag is applied and a monster can be treated as an “Artmage” monster when used as Fusion Material, that monster can also be Tributed.

    Source

     

    “Can I activate the effects of Fallen of the White Dragon and Fallen of Albaz during the same turn?”
    Q: Fallen of the White Dragon states that it is always treated as “Fallen of Albaz” and that you can only use each of its effects once per turn, and Fallen of Albaz states that you can only use its effect once per turn. If I Normal or Special Summon Fallen of Albaz during a turn I activated either effect of Fallen of the White Dragon, can I activate its effect? Also, can I activate either effect of Fallen of the White Dragon during a turn I activated the effect of Fallen of Albaz?
    A: Both are possible.
    The same applies to Light Water Dragon and Water Dragon, and Odd-Eyes Arcray Dragon and Supreme King Z-ARC.

    Source

     

    “When I activate the second effect of Exosister Karmael, can the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion be chained?”
    Q: If I activate the second effect of Exosister Karmael as Chain Link 2, can my opponent activate the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion as Chain Link 3?
    A: No, they cannot. (The second effect of Exosister Karmael is not an effect that adds a card from the GY to hand, Deck, or Extra Deck.)

    Source

     

    “If I activate the third effect of Exosister Bat Mater, can I then activate the second effect of my Exosister Irene?”
    Q: I activated the third effect of Exosister Bat Mater, and made my opponent banish a monster from their GY. In this case, after the effect resolves, can I activate the effects of my Exosister Irene, Exosister Elis, Exosister Stella, or Exosister Sophia?
    A: You can activate their effects as long as it is not during the Damage Step. (Although you activated the effect of Exosister Bat Mater, the monster was banished by your opponent.)
    If you activated the effect of Exosister Bat Mater because a monster was destroyed by battle and sent to your opponent’s GY, it will be during the Damage Step, so you cannot activate the effect of your Exosister Irene, etc. The same applies to the second effect of Exosister Martha.

    Source

     

    “If my opponent chains the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring to the card activation of Exosister Bat Mater, can I then activate the third effect of Exosister Bat Mater?”
    Q: I activated the card Exosister Bat Mater, and my opponent chained the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring. In this case, since Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring was sent to my opponent’s GY, can I activate the third effect of the same Exosister Bat Mater that was activated after this Chain resolves?
    A: No, you cannot.

    Source

     

    “What happens if I chain Dominus Impulse to Apophis the Serpent?”
    Q: My opponent activates Apophis the Serpent, and I chain Dominus Impulse. What happens if there are no Trap Cards in my GY at this time?
    A: The activated effect of Apophis the Serpent is negated, so no effect is applied and it remains face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone. The effect of Dominus Impulse does not negate the activation of a card, so if the effect “if you have a Trap in your GY, destroy that card” is not applied, a Continuous Trap Card whose effect was negated will remain on the field.

    Source

     

    “When a Pendulum Monster Card is activated in the Pendulum Zone, can Borrel Reboot be chained?”
    Q: When my opponent activates a Pendulum Monster Card from their hand to the Pendulum Zone, can I chain Borrel Reboot?
    A: Yes, you can. If you do, the activation of the Pendulum Monster Card is negated. However, the part of the effect that Sets the card face-down cannot be applied, so the Pendulum Monster Card whose activation was negated will be sent to the GY.

    Source

    Share. Facebook Twitter Reddit
    Redshift

    Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

    Related Articles

    [OCG] November 2025 Rulings Update

    November 30, 2025

    [OCG] September 2025 Rulings Update

    September 30, 2025

    [OCG] Structure Deck: Power of Fellows + Limited Pack GX: Osiris Red Rulings

    September 16, 2025

    1 Comment

    1. Snow on November 2, 2025 9:38 pm

      I don’t think I knew that cards can’t meet their activation conditions, before their activation resolves. (Exosister Bat Mater ruling).

    Recent Posts

    Instructor Decks for “Gias Charge of the Nova” [Deck Recipes]

    December 4, 2025

    Tellarknight Constellar, ft. TW03 Support [CDP]

    December 4, 2025

    Weave A Wonderful “Fairy Tail” Story! [BLZD]

    December 3, 2025

    [MW] Shooting Stars on the Galactic Market With Aliens

    December 3, 2025

    And The Next Saikyo Jump Promo Is… [RUSH DUEL]

    December 3, 2025
    Facebook X (Twitter) YouTube Discord RSS
    • Terms of Service / Privacy Policy
    • Contact Us
    © 2025 YGOrganization. All rights reserved.

    Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.