[OCG] July 2020 Promo Rulings

The Cockathorium is here.

 

VP20-JP001 Time Wizard of Tomorrow

  • This card’s effect is an Ignition Effect that activates on the field. (It does not target.)
  • When this effect resolves, toss a coin once and call the result. The corresponding effect is applied depending on the result.
  • If you call the coin toss right, destroying all monsters on the field and inflicting damage to your opponent happen simultaneously.
  • If you call the coin toss wrong, destroying all monsters on the field and taking damage happen simultaneously.

 

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Time Wizard of Tomorrow, can I chain Starlight Road?
A: If there are 2 or more monsters in your Monster Zone, you can chain Starlight Road to the effect of your opponent’s Time Wizard of Tomorrow.

Source

Q: A Fusion Summoned Starving Venom Fusion Dragon activated its effect and gained the name and effects of Time Wizard of Tomorrow. In this case, can Starving Venom Fusion Dragon activate the effect it gained from Time Wizard of Tomorrow?
A: Even if a Fusion Summoned Starving Venom Fusion Dragon gains the name and effects of Time Wizard of Tomorrow, it cannot activate the effect of Time Wizard of Tomorrow that it gained.

Source

 

VP20-JP002 Slash Claw Harpie Lady

  • Being able to Synchro Summon this card by treating a “Harpie” monster as a Tuner is not treated as a card effect. When Synchro Summoning a Cyber Slash Harpie Lady, you can treat a face-up “Harpie” monster in your Monster Zone as its Tuner. (Even in this case, the other materials must be non-Tuner monsters.)
  • This card’s effect that treats its name as Harpie Lady is not classified as either an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that returns a monster to the hand is a Quick Effect that activates on the field. (It targets either 1 monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone or 1 face-up “Harpie” monster in your Monster Zone. It can be activated optionally by chaining directly to a Spell/Trap Card or Spell/Trap effect, but cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

VP20-JP003 Jinzo – Layered

  • This card’s effect that takes control of an opponent’s monster is an Ignition Effect that activates on the field. (It targets 1 face-up monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone. Detaching 1 Xyz Material from this card is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This card’s effect that Tributes a monster on your field and destroys a face-up card on the field is an Ignition Effect that activates on the field. (It does not target.)
  • Tributing 1 monster on your field and destroying a face-up card on the field happen simultaneously.

 

Q: I took control of my opponent’s Darklord Ixchel with the effect of Jinzo – Layered. Afterward, if the effect of Book of Moon is applied to that Darklord Ixchel and it changes to face-down Defense Position, which effects of Jinzo – Layered are applied?
A: In this scenario, even if the monster you took control of with the effect of Jinzo – Layered is then changed to face-down Defense Position, the effects of Jinzo – Layered are still applied. (You will control that monster until the End Phase, and you cannot activate its effects or declare an attack with it.)

Source

 

VJMP-JP187 Cockathorium, the Superheavy Shining Soarer

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it is an Ignition Effect that activates in your hand or Graveyard. (It does not target. Tributing 1 Beast, Beast-Warrior, or Winged Beast monster in your Monster Zone is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • Banishing this card that was Special Summoned by its own effect when it leaves the field does not start a Chain.
  • This card’s effect that copies the name, Type, Attribute, and Level of another monster is an Ignition Effect that activates on the field. (It does not target. Banishing 1 Level 4 or lower Beast, Beast-Warrior, or Winged Beast monster from your Deck is the cost to activate this effect.)

 

Q: When activating the second effect of Cockathorium, the Superheavy Shining Soarer, can I banish another Cockathorium, the Superheavy Shining Soarer from my Deck?
A: Unless the name, Type, Attribute, or Level of Cockathorium, the Superheavy Shining Soarer was changed by the effect of a card such as DNA Surgery, you cannot activate its second effect by banishing another Cockathorium, the Superheavy Shining Soarer from your Deck.

Source

Q: I activated the effect of Cockathorium, the Superheavy Shining Soarer by banishing a Peropero Cerperus from my Deck. During the same turn, if the effect of Forbidden Droplet is applied and the effects of Cockathorium, the Superheavy Shining Soarer are negated, what happens?
A: In this scenario, when the effects of Cockathorium, the Superheavy Shining Soarer are negated, its name will still be treated as Peropero Cerperus, buts its Type, Attribute, and Level return to Winged Beast/WIND/Level 4.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.