[OCG] Ice Barrier Rulings

Covering 3 products.

 

Structure Deck: Ice Barrier of the Frozen Prison

 

SD40-JP001 General Wayne of the Ice Barrier

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it is an Ignition Effect that can be activated in the hand. (This effect does not target.)
  • This card’s effect that adds an “Ice Barrier” Spell/Trap Card from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect that can be activated on the field. (This effect does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect that banishes Spell/Trap Cards that would be sent from the field to your opponent’s Graveyard is a Continuous Effect. (It also applies during the Damage Step.)

 

Q: If the effect of General Wayne of the Ice Barrier is applying, are Trap Cards treated as monsters or Pendulum Monsters in the Pendulum Zone also banished?
A: If a Trap Card treated as a monster would be sent from the field to your opponent’s Graveyard, it is banished instead. (There is no difference for monsters that are still treated as Trap Cards, such as Embodiment of Apophis, and monsters that are not still treated as Trap Cards such as The Phantom Knights of Lost Vambrace.) This effect does not apply if a Pendulum Monster leaves the field and is added face-up to the Extra Deck. (There is no difference whether it leaves the Monster Zone or Pendulum Zone.)

Source

 

SD40-JP002 Mirror Master of the Ice Barrier

  • This card’s effect that prevents your opponent from Tribute Summoning is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons an “Ice Barrier” Tuner monster from your Deck is an Ignition Effect that can be activated on the field. (This effect does not target. Discarding 1 card from your hand is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This effect finishes resolving by Special Summoning 1 “Ice Barrier” Tuner monster from the Deck. (The part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters other than WATER monsters for the rest of this turn is also applied immediately.)
  • This card’s effect that banishes it from your Graveyard is applied in the Graveyard and does not start a Chain.

 

Q: If I have no cards in my hand, can I activate an effect that requires me to send or discard a card from my hand, such as the effect of Strategist of the Ice Barrier, by applying the effect of a Mirror Master of the Ice Barrier in my Graveyard?
A: Even if you have no cards in your hand, you can activate the effect of an “Ice Barrier” monster by applying the effect of Mirror Master of the Ice Barrier.

Source

 

SD40-JP003 Vessel Miko of the Ice Barrier

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it is an Ignition Effect that can be activated in the hand. (This effect does not target.)
  • This card’s effect that prevents your opponent’s Defense Position monsters from changing their battle positions is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons an Ice Barrier Token is an Ignition Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (This effect does not target. Banishing this card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect.)

 

Q: While the effect of Vessel Miko of the Ice Barrier is applying, can the battle positions of Defense Position monsters that are unaffected by monster effects be changed?
A: The effect of Vessel Miko of the Ice Barrier is an effect that applies to monsters, so it does not affect monsters that are unaffected by monster effects. Therefore, even if the effect of Vessel Miko of the Ice Barrier is applying, the battle position of your opponent’s Defense Position monsters that are unaffected by monster effects can be changed.

Source

 

SD40-JP004 Frost Spirit of the Ice Barrier

  • This card’s effect that decreases the ATK and DEF of your opponent’s monsters is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that sends a Level 3 or lower “Ice Barrier” monster from your Deck to the Graveyard and changes this card’s Level is an Ignition Effect that activates on the field. (This effect does not target.)
  • This effect finishes resolving by sending a Level 3 or lower “Ice Barrier” monster from your Deck to the Graveyard. (The part of the effect that changes this card’s Level is also applied immediately.)

 

SD40-JP007 Prior of the Ice Barrier

This card isn’t new, but they published a new ruling for him anyway.

Q: If the Special Summon of Prior of the Ice Barrier by its own effect is negated, can I still Special Summon Level 5 or higher monsters that turn?
A: Yes, you can. The text that prevents you from Special Summoning Level 5 or higher monsters that turn is only applied if you successfully Special Summon this card using its own effect.

Source

 

SD40-JP026 The Calm After the Ice Barrier’s Storm

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons Level 4 or lower “Ice Barrier” monsters from your Deck is the effect applied when this card’s activation resolves. (This effect does not target. Tributing any number of “Ice Barrier” monsters you control is the cost to activate this card.)
  • This card’s effect that adds an “Ice Barrier” monster from your Graveyard or that is banished to your hand starts a Chain and activates in the Graveyard. (This effect targets either 1 “Ice Barrier” monster in your Graveyard or 1 of your banished “Ice Barrier” monsters. Banishing this card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect.)

 

SD40-JP027 Clear Wall of the Ice Barrier

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower “Ice Barrier” monster from your Graveyard is the effect that can be applied when this card’s activation resolves. (This effect targets 1 Level 4 or lower “Ice Barrier” monster in your Graveyard. If you choose to apply this effect, select the target when activating this card.)
  • This card’s effect that makes your “Ice Barrier” monsters unaffected by the activated effects of your opponent’s monsters Special Summoned from the Extra Deck does not start a Chain and applies on the field. (This effect only applies while you control 3 or more “Ice Barrier” monsters, and also applies during the Damage Step.)

 

Structure Deck: Ice Barrier of the Frozen Prison Melting Destiny Pack

 

SD40-JPP01 Trishula, Subzero Dragon of the Ice Barrier

  • This card’s effect that banishes up to 3 of your opponent’s cards is a Trigger Effect that activates on the field. (This effect does not target. The cards you banish are chosen when resolving this effect.)
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Trishula, Dragon of the Ice Barrier from your Extra Deck or Graveyard is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (This effect does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • When resolving this effect, Special Summon 1 Trishula, Dragon of the Ice Barrier from your Extra Deck or Graveyard and change its ATK to 3300, then halve the ATK of your opponent’s monsters and negate their effects. (These actions do not happen simultaneously.)

 

SD40-JPP05 Pulse of Trishula

  • This card’s effect that resolves based on the number of “Ice Barrier” Synchro Monsters with different names you control is the effect applied when this card’s activation resolves. (This effect does not target, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • When resolving this effect, each “●” effect is applied depending on the number of “Ice Barrier” Synchro Monsters with different names you control.
  • This card’s effect that negates the effect of an opponent’s card that targets an “Ice Barrier” Synchro Monster you control starts a Chain and activates in the Graveyard. (This effect does not target. This effect can be activated by chaining directly to an opponent’s card or effect that targets an “Ice Barrier” Synchro Monster you control. Banishing this card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

Q: When Pulse of Trishula is activated, can I chain the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion?
A: Yes, you can. This is true even if the player does not control more than 1 “Ice Barrier” Synchro Monster with a different name at the time Pulse of Trishula is activated.

Source

 

V-Jump January 2021 Promotional Card

 

VJMP-JP191 Attendant of the Ice Barrier

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Level 5 or higher “Ice Barrier” monster from your hand is an Ignition Effect that activates on the field. (This effect does not target. Tributing this card is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This card’s effect that reduces the Level of an WATER monster by 2 and Special Summons this card is an Ignition Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (This effect targets 1 Level 3 or higher WATER monster you control.)
  • When resolving this effect, reduce the targeted monster’s Level by 2, and Special Summon this card from your Graveyard. (These actions happen simultaneously.)
    Banishing this card when it leaves the field after it was Special Summoned by its own effect does not start a Chain.

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.