[OCG] April 2017 Promo Rulings

Rulings for Japan’s April promos.

YA03-JP001 D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace

Q: A face-up Defense Position D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace is on my field. If my opponent’s Odd-Eyes Phantom Dragon attacks my attacks my D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace, will the effect of D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace apply to prevent it from being destroyed by battle once per turn, and reduce the battle damage I take from that battle to 0?
A: In this scenario, if D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace is in Defense Position, you do not take battle damage from its battle with Odd-Eyes Phantom Dragon. Even so, since D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace would be destroyed by battle, its effect is still applied. (D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace is not destroyed.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20797&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Defense Position D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace on my field is equipped with Mist Body. In this situation, if my opponent’s Hi-Speedroid Kendama attacks my D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace, will the effect of D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace apply to prevent it from being destroyed by battle once per turn, and reduce the battle damage I take from that battle to 0?
A: In this scenario, since D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace is equipped with Mist Body, it cannot be destroyed by battle. In that case, its own effect that prevents it from being destroyed by battle once per turn is not applied. Therefore, since D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace is not destroyed by battle due to the effect of Mist Body, you take piercing battle damage from the effect of Hi-Speedroid Kendama. (The battle damage is not reduced to 0.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20795&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Defense Position D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace is on my field, and the effect of Phantom Knights’ Wing has been applied to it. In this situation, if my opponent’s Hi-Speedroid Kendama attacks my D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace, will the effect of D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace apply to prevent it from being destroyed by battle once per turn, and reduce the battle damage I take from that battle to 0?
A: In this scenario, when D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace would be destroyed by battle with Hi-Speedroid Kendama, the effects of both D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace and Phantom Knights’ Wing are applied. In that case, D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace is not destroyed, and you do not take piercing battle damage from the effect of Hi-Speedroid Kendama.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20794&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace on my field was not destroyed by battle during this turn after applying its effect. If Book of Moon is activated during the same turn, and D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace is changed to face-down Defense Position, can its effect be applied again when it is attacked by an opponent’s monster?
A: In this scenario, after D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace is changed to face-down Defense Position, its effect can be applied once again during the same turn when it would be destroyed by battle.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20793&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An Attack Position Amazoness Swords Woman is face-up on my opponent’s field. I attack Amazoness Swords Woman with D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace and activate the effect of D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace before damage calculation which makes its ATK become double the original ATK of the opponent’s battling monster, and although Amazoness Swords Woman is destroyed by battle as a result, I take the battle damage my opponent would take due to its effect. In this case, will the effect of D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace reduce that battle damage I take to 0?
A: The effect of D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace reduces the battle damage you take to 0 only when its effect that prevents it from being destroyed by battle is applied. In this scenario, only your opponent’s Amazoness Swords Woman was destroyed by battle, and not D/D/D Destiny King Zero Laplace. Therefore, you take the battle damage that your opponent would take, due to the effect of Amazoness Swords Woman. (The battle damage is not reduced to 0.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20796&keyword=&tag=-1

VJMP-JP131 Proxy Dragon

Q: Proxy Dragon is face-up in my Main Monster Zone, with Cyberse Gadget in a Monster Zone adjacent to it. In this situation, if my opponent activates Harpie’s Feather Duster, and multiple Spell/Trap Cards on my field would be destroyed, can I apply the effect of Proxy Dragon?
A: If your opponent activated Harpie’s Feather Duster, and multiple Spell/Trap Cards on your field would be destroyed, you can apply the effect of Proxy Dragon. In this scenario, the linked Cyberse Gadget is destroyed instead, and none of the Spell/Trap Cards on your field are destroyed by the effect of Harpie’s Feather Duster.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20950&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Proxy Dragon is face-up in my Main Monster Zone, with Bittron and Draconet in adjacent Monster Zones on either side of it. In this situation, if my opponent activates Icarus Attack and targets Bittron and Draconet, can I apply the effect of Proxy Dragon?
A: In this scenario, since Bittron and Draconet are both linked to Proxy Dragon and would be destroyed by the effect of Icarus Attack, you cannot apply the effect of Proxy Dragon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20951&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Proxy Dragon is in my leftmost Main Monster Zone with RAM Clouder in the Monster Zone adjacent to it, while another copy of Proxy Dragon is in my rightmost Main Monster Zone with Stack Reviver in the Monster Zone adjacent to it. In this situation, if Mystical Space Typhoon is activated and a Cybenet Universe in my Field Zone would be destroyed, how can the effect of each Proxy Dragon be applied?
A: In this scenario, you can choose which of your 2 Proxy Dragons’ effects to apply. (Both copies of Proxy Dragon cannot apply their effects at the same time.) For example, if you apply the effect of your rightmost Proxy Dragon, Stack Reviver will be destroyed instead, and Cybenet Universe is not destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20947&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Proxy Dragon is face-up in my Main Monster Zone, with Stargrail Shrine Maiden Eve in a Monster Zone adjacent to it. In this situation, if Proxy Dragon would be destroyed by battle, can I apply its effect?
A: In this scenario, Stargrail Shrine Maiden Eve is in a linked state with Proxy Dragon, so it is not destroyed by battle or cards effects, and cannot be targeted by your opponent’s card effects. Therefore, since you cannot destroy Stargrail Shrine Maiden Eve with the effect of Proxy Dragon, you cannot apply its effect, and it is destroyed by battle normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20949&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Proxy Dragon is face-up in my Main Monster Zone, with First of the Dragons in a Monster Zone adjacent to it. In this situation, if Proxy Dragon would be destroyed by the effect of my opponent’s Raigeki Break, can I apply its effect?
A: In this scenario, since First of the Dragons is unaffected by monster effects, you cannot destroy it with the effect of Proxy Dragon, so you cannot apply that effect and Proxy Dragon is destroyed by the effect of Raigeki Break.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20948&keyword=&tag=-1

MG05-JP001 Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon

Q: I activate the effect of Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon that negates an Effect Monster’s effects, targeting a face-up D/D/D Duo-Dawn King Kali Yuga on my opponent’s field. If Book of Moon is chained to this effect, and D/D/D Duo-Dawn King Kali Yuga is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon resolve?
A: In this scenario, if the targeted D/D/D Duo-Dawn King Kali Yuga is in face-down Defense Position when resolving the effect of Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon, its effects are not negated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20957&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon that was first Synchro Summoned is currently face-up in my Extra Deck after it was destroyed, Tributed, etc. During the Battle Phase, if I Special Summon that Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon with the effect of Pendulum Reborn, can I activate its effect that destroys all Level 5 or higher monsters on my opponent’s field?
A: In this situation, since Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon was added face-up to the Extra Deck after it was properly Synchro Summoned, it can be Special Summoned with the effect of Pendulum Reborn. However, that Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon is no longer treated as a Synchro Summoned monster, so you cannot activate its effect that destroys Level 5 or higher monsters on your opponent’s field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20956&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon is face-up on my opponent’s field. In this situation, during my Battle Phase, I activate the effect of Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon that destroys all Level 5 or higher monsters on my opponent’s field. If Book of Moon is chained to this effect, and D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon resolve?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon that destroys Level 5 or higher monsters on your opponent’s field, monsters that are face-down are not destroyed.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20955&keyword=&tag=-1

MG05-JP002 D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon

Q: I activate the effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon that targets an opponent’s Attack Position monster and destroys it, targeting a face-up Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon on my opponent’s field. If Book of Moon is chained to this effect, and Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon resolve?
A: Even if the monster targeted by the effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon is in face-down Defense Position when it resolves, that monster is still destroyed and damage is inflicted normally. (In this scenario, Odd-Eyes Wing Dragon is destroyed, and your opponent takes 1500 damage.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20954&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon whose current ATK is equal to its original ATK battles my D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon. In that case, can I activate the effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon that makes the opponent’s monster’s ATK become equal to its original ATK before damage calculation? Also, if my opponent activates Rising Energy before damage calculation and increases the ATK of Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon, can I chain the effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon?
A: The effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon can only be activated before damage calculation if an opponent’s battling monster has a current ATK that is different than its original ATK. Therefore, if the ATK of your opponent’s Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon is currently the same as its original ATK before damage calculation, you cannot activate the effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon. Also, since the effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon is a Trigger Effect, even if your opponent activated a card or effect that increases their monster’s ATK before damage calculation, you cannot chain the effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20952&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my opponent’s turn, my opponent activated the effect of Heavy Armored Train Ironwolf to allow it to attack directly, and also activated Limiter Removal. If my opponent attacks directly with Heavy Armored Train Ironwolf, can I activate the effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon that makes the opponent’s monster’s ATK become equal to its original ATK before damage calculation?
A: Even if your opponent’s monster is attacking directly, since it is an opponent’s monster battling, you can activate the effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon before damage calculation. In this scenario, the ATK of Heavy Armored Train Ironwolf has become 4400 due to the effect of Limiter Removal, but once the effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Purplish Armageddon is applied, the ATK becomes 2200.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20953&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.