Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 11/22/21 Rulings Update

Inspector Boarder, a Synchro Monster, and an Xyz Monster walk into a bar.

 

Q: After drawing for my normal draw during my Draw Phase, I activate Reload as Chain Link 1 and draw a monster with its effect. Afterward, can I activate the effect of Destiny HERO – Dasher in my Graveyard?
A: Yes, you can. However, if you draw a monster at a timing that is not the last thing to happen in a Chain, such as when you draw a monster by an effect that was activated as Chain Link 2 or higher, you cannot activate the effect of Destiny HERO – Dasher.

Source

 

Q: My hand is revealed due to the effect of Respect Play. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Destiny HERO – Dasher during the Draw Phase?
A: Even if your hand is revealed, you can show your opponent the card you drew during your Draw Phase and activate the effect of Destiny HERO – Dasher.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of a Destiny HERO – Dasher in my Graveyard that Special Summons a monster from my hand, but my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow and banishes Destiny HERO – Dasher from the Graveyard. In that case, will the effect of Destiny HERO – Dasher be applied?
A: If Destiny HERO – Dasher is not in your Graveyard when its effect resolves, the effect of Special Summoning is not applied.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of a Destiny HERO – Dasher in my Graveyard that Special Summons a monster from my hand, but the activation is negated due to an effect chained by my opponent. Can I still activate the effect again during my next turn?
A: If that Destiny HERO – Dasher remains in the Graveyard until the Draw Phase of your next turn, you cannot activate its effect again.

Source

 

Q: I control a Performapal Sword Fish. In this situation, I Special Summon monsters multiple times by effects activated on the same Chain. After that Chain resolves, how does the effect of Performapal Sword Fish activate?
A: In that case, regardless of the number of Special Summons, the effect of Performapal Sword Fish is only activated once after the Chain resolves.

Source

 

Q: I control a Magical Meltdown, and its effect that prevents my opponent from activating card effects when I Fusion Summon a monster is applying. During my turn, my opponent activates Tri-Brigade Revolt as Chain Link 1, and I chain the effect of Shaddoll Schism as Chain Link 2. When the Chain resolves, I first Fusion Summon El Shaddoll Construct, then my opponent Link Summons Tri-Brigade Shuraig the Ominous Omen. In this case, when I activate the effect of El Shaddoll Construct, can the effect of Tri-Brigade Shuraig the Ominous Omen be chained to it?
A: Yes, it can. After El Shaddoll Construct is Fusion Summoned at Chain Link 2, the Chain Link 1 effect resolves, so after the Chain finishes resolving, it is no longer “when a monster is Fusion Summoned”.

Source

 

Q: Inspector Boarder, a Synchro Monster, and an Xyz Monster are all on the field, and each player can activate monster effects up to twice each turn. In this situation, I activated a monster effect once, then activated another monster effect while Inspector Boarder was equipped with Axe of Fools and its effects were negated. Afterward, Axe of Fools is destroyed and the effect of Inspector Boarder is reapplied. If so, can I activate a third monster effect this turn?
A: Even in this scenario, you cannot activate a third monster effect. Monster effects activated while the effects of Inspector Boarder are negated still count toward the number of monster effects activated while Inspector Boarder is in the Monster Zone. However, while the effects of Inspector Boarder are being negated, you are able to activate monster effects any number of times.

Source

 

Q: The effect of DNA Surgery that was activated by declaring Machine-Type is applying. In this situation, I activate the effect of Vampire Sucker that Special Summons a monster from my opponent’s Graveyard. Will the Special Summoned monster become Zombie or Machine-Type?
A: It becomes Machine-Type. The monster becomes Machine-Type due to the effect of DNA Surgery after the effect of Vampire Sucker is applied. Afterward, if the effect of DNA Surgery is no longer applied, the monster returns to being Zombie-Type.

Source

 

Q: My opponent activates the effect of Unchained Soul of Disaster, targeting a “Sky Striker Ace” Link Monster I control, and using both monsters to Link Summon Unchained Soul of Rage. Afterward, can I activate the effect of Sky Striker Ace – Raye in my Graveyard?
A: No, you cannot. The effect of Unchained Soul of Disaster performs a Link Summon using itself and the targeted monster as a material. As a result, the targeted monster leaves the field. This is not treated as leaving the field because of an opponent’s card effect.

Source

 

Q: I activated Mischief of the Time Goddess while I had 7 or more cards in my hand. If I skip turns until the start of the Battle Phase of my next turn, do I discard for the hand size limit so that the number of cards in my hand becomes 6?
A: No, you do not.

Source

 

Q: During my opponent’s Battle Phase, my opponent controls a Geomathmech Final Sigma in the Extra Monster Zone, and its effect that makes it unaffected by the effects of cards other than “Mathmech” cards is applying. During that Battle Phase, if I activate and apply the effect of Mystical Elf – Mystical Burst Stream, does my opponent’s Geomathmech Final Sigma have to attack the Special Summoned Normal Monster?
A: It does not have to attack that monster. Your opponent can attack other monsters, or end the Battle Phase without attacking. The effect of Mystical Elf – Mystical Burst Stream is one that is applied to your opponent’s monsters, so it does not apply to monsters that are unaffected by monster effects.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of Destiny HERO – Destroyer Phoenix Enforcer that destroys 1 card I control and 1 other card on the field. What happens if I do not control any cards when the effect resolves?
A: In that case, you cannot choose a total of 2 cards to be destroyed, so no effect is applied. (No cards are destroyed.)

Source

 

Q: During a turn that the last effect of Destiny HERO – Destroyer Phoenix Enforcer was already activated, Prohibition is activated and “Destiny HERO – Destroyer Phoenix Enforcer” is declared. In this case, can the effect of Destiny HERO – Destroyer Phoenix Enforcer be applied during the next Standby Phase?
A: If the effect of Prohibition is applying during the next Standby Phase, the effect of Destiny HERO – Destroyer Phoenix Enforcer will not Special Summon a “Destiny HERO” monster from the Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: I control Floowandereeze and the Magnificent Map and a Mist Valley Apex Avian. In this situation, my opponent Normal Summons Armageddon Knight and activates its effect. In that case, can I activate the effect of Mist Valley Apex Avian as Chain Link 2, and the effect of Floowandereeze and the Magnificent Map as Chain Link 3?
A: You cannot form a Chain in that order. In this case, you can first activate the Spell Speed 1 effect of Floowandereeze and the Magnificent Map as Chain Link 2. If you do not activate it, you can activate the Spell Speed 2 effect of Mist Valley Apex Avian by chaining to the effect of Armageddon Knight.

Source

 

Q: If a Swordsoul Token Special Summoned by the effect of Swordsoul Blackout is equipped to a monster as an Equip Card, can I Special Summon monsters from the Extra Deck other than Synchro Monsters?
A: In that case, the Swordsoul Token treated as an Equip Card is no longer treated as having been Special Summoned by the effect of Swordsoul Blackout, so the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters from the Extra Deck other than Synchro Monsters is no longer applied.

Source

A note to readers: In Japanese text, the effects of Swordsoul cards that restrict you from Special Summoning are worded as “While there are Tokens Special Summoned by this effect,” instead of what we see in English, “While that Token is in the Monster Zone,”. They end up meaning the same thing as shown above, but it also explains why this question would need to be asked, and why the answer is worded the way it is.

 

Q: While I control no cards, I activate Rite of Aramesia, and my opponent chains Vanity’s Emptiness. As a result, if I cannot Special Summon an Adventurer Token by the effect of Rite of Aramesia, can I still place Journey of Destiny from my Deck face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone?
A: No, you cannot. If you successfully Special Summon an Adventurer Token with the effect of Rite of Aramesia and do not control Journey of Destiny, you can then place a Journey of Destiny from your Deck face-up in your Spell & Trap Zone. If the Adventurer Token cannot be Special Summoned, you cannot place Journey of Destiny onto the field.

Source

 

Q: I control an Icejade Empress Cosmocroix, and my opponent controls a Swordsoul Catastrophe – Qixing Longyuan that was Special Summoned during the previous turn. In this situation, if I activate Icejade Depths Inion Cradle, can my opponent chain the third effect of Swordsoul Catastrophe – Qixing Longyuan?
A: No, they cannot. When you activate Icejade Depths Inion Cradle to the Field Zone, it is treated as a card on the field, and the effect of Icejade Empress Cosmocroix will be applied.

Source

 

Q: I control a Number C39: Utopia Ray, Dinorphia Stealthbegia, and a face-down Zexal Alliance. If my Number C39: Utopia Ray is destroyed by battle or by my opponent’s card effect while my Life Points are 2000 or less, what cost do I pay to activate Zexal Alliance?
A: Even in this case, the effect of Dinorphia Stealthbegia allows you to activate Zexal Alliance without paying any Life Points. You can activate it even if your Life Points are 10 or less.

Source

 

Q: I control an Epigonos Token Special Summoned by the effect of Epigonen the Imitarian. Can I activate New Clear World targeting the Epigonos Token?
A: An Epigonos Token does not have an original Type or Attribute, so regardless of what Type and Attribute the Epigonos Token has on the field, New Clear World cannot target an Epigonos Token.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.