[OCG] 11/16/20 Rulings Update

Some of you never knew this Mechaba ruling, and it shows.

 

Q: Number 23: Lancelot, Dark Knight of the Underworld is on the field, and it is equipped with Xyz Unit. Furthermore, Xyz Override is on the field. In this case, when a Spell/Trap Card or another monster’s effect is activated, will the effect of Number 23: Lancelot, Dark Knight of the Underworld be activated?
A: The effect of Number 23: Lancelot, Dark Knight of the Underworld is a mandatory Quick Effect that must be activated. Even if Number 23: Lancelot, Dark Knight of the Underworld has no Xyz Materials, if it is equipped with Xyz Unit or if the effect of Xyz Override is applied, you will be able to pay the cost and activate the effect. (If the effects of both Xyz Unit and Xyz Override are applying, you can choose which card to use to pay the cost.)

Source

 

Q: The effect of Dinowrestler Pankratops is activated, Tributing itself. If the effect of Invoked Mechaba is chained to that effect, is Dinowrestler Pankratops banished?
A: You can chain the effect of Invoked Mechaba to an effect that activates on the field but the monster leaves the field for its cost, such as the effect of Dinowrestler Pankratops. In that case, the activation is negated, but the monster is not banished. The same applies when the effect of Invoked Mechaba is activated in response to the activation of an effect that activates in the hand but the monster leaves the hand for its cost, such as the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring.

Source

 

Q: If I have no available Main Monster Zones, by having monsters in all of my Main Monster Zones, etc., can I activate the effect of Number F0: Utopic Future Dragon?
A: Even in that case, you can activate the effect of Number F0: Utopic Future Dragon. If you do not have any Main Monster Zones available to gain control of your opponent’s monster, that monster will be destroyed while on your opponent’s field. Monsters destroyed this way are not treated as being destroyed by battle or card effects. (For example, if Ankuriboh is destroyed this way, its effect that activates when destroyed by battle or card effect cannot be activated.)

Source

 

Q: Can I target a monster that cannot be destroyed by card effects with Dogmatika Punishment?
A: When activating Dogmatika Punishment, you can target a monster that cannot be destroyed by card effects. In that case, you still send a monster with equal or higher ATK from your Extra Deck to the Graveyard, but the targeted monster is not destroyed. However, even in this case, you cannot Special Summon monsters from your Extra Deck until the end of your next turn.

Source

 

Q: Can I activate Dogmatika Punishment if the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying? If so, how does its effect resolve?
A: You can activate Dogmatika Punishment even if the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying. When resolving the effect, the monster that would be sent from your Extra Deck to the Graveyard is banished due to the effect of Macro Cosmos instead. Since you did not send a monster to the Graveyard with this effect, the targeted monster is not destroyed. (The effect finishes resolving after you banish a monster with equal or higher ATK from your Extra Deck.) Even in this case, you cannot Special Summon monsters from your Extra Deck until the end of your next turn.

Source

 

Q: Can I target Simorgh, Bird of Sovereignty with Tri-Brigade Revolt?
A: When activating Tri-Brigade Revolt, you cannot target a Simorgh, Bird of Sovereignty. The effect of Tri-Brigade Revolt is one that Special Summons monsters and performs a Link Summon using them as materials, so you must target monsters that can be used as Link Material.

Source

 

Q: Can I Special Summon Armed Dragon Catapult Cannon after I have Special Summoned VWXYZ-Dragon Catapult Cannon and Armed Dragon Thunder LV7?
A: The effect of Armed Dragon Thunder LV7 treats its name as Armed Dragon LV7 while face-up on the field or in the Graveyard, so if Armed Dragon Thunder LV7 was Special Summoned face-up, it is treated as the successful Special Summon of an Armed Dragon LV7. Therefore, if you have also Special Summoned VWXYZ-Dragon Catapult Cannon during this Duel, you can Special Summon an Armed Dragon Catapult Cannon by the method written in its text. However, if you Special Summoned an Armed Dragon Thunder LV7 in face-down Defense Position by the effect of Keeper of Dragon Magic, it is not treated as the Special Summon of an Armed Dragon LV7.

Source

 

Q: What kind of monsters is the first effect of Security Force Rappa Chiyomaru applied to? In which Monster Zones is a monster “facing” a “Security Force” monster?
A: This effect is applied to your opponent’s monsters that are in the same column as the Monster Zones in which your “Security Force” monsters are placed. If they are in the same column, the effect applies not only to your opponent’s monsters in the Main Monster Zones, but also your opponent’s monsters in the Extra Monster Zone.

Source

Note: The wording the OCG uses for these is the same used for a few older cards, such as Storm Shooter and Rampaging Rhynos. So it is likely that the TCG will simply spell out the meaning of the term “facing”, as described by this ruling, instead of using the word.

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.