Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 11/07/21 Rulings Update

Frequently asked questions indeed.

 

Q: Can Solemn Warning be chained to the activation of Magical Hats?
A: Yes, it can. (This is the activation of a Trap Card that includes the effect of Special Summoning.)

Source

 

Q: While I have 5 cards in my Spell & Trap Zones and 1 Crystal Beast Sapphire Pegasus in my Monster Zone, the effect of Judgment Dragon is activated and destroys all cards on the field. In this case, can I apply the effect of Crystal Beast Sapphire Pegasus that places it face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone?
A: If cards in your Spell & Trap Zone are destroyed so that you have available Spell & Trap Zones, you can apply the effect of a Crystal Beast Sapphire Pegasus that was destroyed at the same time from your Monster Zone, and place it in your Spell & Trap Zone.

Source

 

Q: Dragon’s Bind was activated targeting a Hunter Dragon with 1700 ATK, and its effect that prevents players from Special Summoning monsters with less ATK is applying. In this situation, what happens if the effect of Darklord Asmodeus that Special Summons Tokens is activated?
A: In this case, the Deus Token with 1200 ATK cannot be Special Summoned, so neither the Asmo Token nor the Deus Token are Special Summoned. (The effect must Special Summon 2 Tokens.)

Source

 

Q: There are face-up cards in the Field Zone, 2 face-down Defense Position copies of Earthbound Immortal Aslla piscu in my Monster Zone, and 2 face-down Defense Position copies of Earthbound Immortal Ccapac Apu in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, what happens if the 4 “Earthbound Immortal” monsters are flipped face-up at the same time by the effect of Ceasefire?
A: In that case, the turn player chooses 1 “Earthbound Immortal” monster they control, and all “Earthbound Immortal” monsters on the field other than that monster are destroyed.

Source

 

Q: While the effects of Macro Cosmos or Dimension Shifter are applying, can I activate the effect of Artifact Lancea that prevents players from banishing cards?
A: The effect of Artifact Lancea can be activated even if the effects of Macro Cosmos or Dimension Shifter are applying. In that case, the Artifact Lancea Tributed for its cost is banished, and once its effect resolves, neither player can banish cards.
If the effects of Dimension Shifter and Artifact Lancea are activated and applied during the same turn, cards cannot be banished that turn due to the effect of Artifact Lancea, but any cards that would be sent to the Graveyard during the next turn are banished due to the effect of Dimension Shifter.

Source

 

Q: Raiza the Mega Monarch is Tribute Summoned by Tributing a WIND monster, and its effect is activated. Can I target the same card on the field as one of the cards to return to the top of the Deck as well as the card to return to the hand?
A: No, you cannot. When targeting an additional card to return to the hand, you must select a different card than the one that was targeted to be returned to the Deck.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of Altergeist Marionetter, targeting an Altergeist Meluseek I control and an Altergeist Silquitous in my Graveyard. What happens if the targeted Altergeist Silquitous is no longer in my Graveyard when the effect resolves?
A: In that case, the targeted card on the field is sent to the Graveyard, and the effect finishes resolving.

Source

 

Q: I control a Nopenguin, and its effect that banishes cards that would be returned to the hand by the effect of a “Penguin” card is applying. In addition, my opponent controls a Metaphys Executor, which cannot be destroyed or banished by card effects. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Penguin Soldier by targeting that Metaphys Executor? If I can activate it, how does it resolve?
A: Even in this case, you can activate the effect of Penguin Soldier by targeting Metaphys Executor. When it resolves, the effect of Nopenguin is applied, and Metaphys Executor is banished instead of returning to the hand.

Source

 

Q: I control Eternal Soul, and my opponent controls a Skill Drain. In this situation, if I Special Summon Dark Magician the Dragon Knight from my Extra Deck or Graveyard, will its effects be negated?
A: In this case, the effects of Dark Magician the Dragon Knight are negated. (The result is the same whether it was Special Summoned from the Extra Deck or Special Summoned from the Graveyard.) Since the effects of Dark Magician the Dragon Knight are negated, its effect that treats its name as “Dark Magician” is not applied, so the effect of Eternal Soul that makes Dark Magician unaffected by the opponent’s card effects is not applied to it.

Source

 

Q: Dark Magician of Chaos is Special Summoned by the effect of Darkness Metal, the Dragon of Dark Steel, and the effects that negate its effects and place it on the bottom of the Deck when it leaves the field are applied. In this case, what happens if Dark Magician of Chaos leaves the field?
A: In this case, the effect of Dark Magician of Chaos that banishes it when it leaves the field is applied. (It does not return to the bottom of the Deck.)

Source

 

Q: When resolving the first effect of D/D/D Abyss King Gilgamesh, if I place a Go! – D/D/D Divine Zero King Rage in my Pendulum Zone, can the damage inflicted by the effect of D/D/D Abyss King Gilgamesh be reduced to 0 by the Pendulum Effect of Go! – D/D/D Divine Zero King Rage?
A: Even in this case, you will take 1000 damage when resolving the effect of D/D/D Abyss King Gilgamesh. (The effect of Go! – D/D/D Divine Zero King Rage can be applied once the effect of D/D/D Abyss King Gilgamesh has resolved.)

Source

 

Q: If the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring is chained to the activation of Fusion Destiny, so that the effect of Fusion Destiny is negated, is the part of the effect that prevents monsters other than DARK “HERO” monsters from being Special Summoned still applied?
A: It is not applied. Therefore, you can still Special Summon monsters other than DARK “HERO” monsters for the rest of the turn.

Source

 

Q: I Normal Set a monster from my hand with 1000 or less ATK. If that monster is later Flip Summoned, can I use that monster as Link Material for Salamangreat Almiraj?
A: Yes, you can.

Source

 

Q: If I activate Secrets of Dark Magic, can I Fusion Summon First of the Dragons using a Dark Magician and another Normal Monster?
A: If you use the Normal Monster Dark Magician as a Fusion Material, you can Fusion Summon First of the Dragons using the effect of Secrets of Dark Magic.

Source

 

Q: The effect of A Legendary Ocean that reduces the Levels of WATER monsters on the field and in the hands is applying. In this situation, if I activate the first effect of Bujinki Ahashima, can I Special Summon a Thunder Dragon (Level 5) from my hand and a Catapult Turtle (Level 5) from my Graveyard? Also, can I Xyz Summon using them as materials?
A: Even in this situation, since both the Thunder Dragon in your hand and Catapult Turtle in your Graveyard are Level 5, you can activate the effect of Bujinki Ahashima and Special Summon those 2 monsters. However, the Level of Catapult Turtle is immediately reduced by 1 due to the effect of A Legendary Ocean, to 4, so you cannot perform an Xyz Summon using the 2 Special Summoned monsters. They will remain in the Monster Zone.

Source

 

Q: Can I send a face-up Vanity’s Emptiness from my Spell & Trap Zone to the Graveyard as the cost of activating the effect of Eldlich the Golden Lord in my Graveyard?
A: Yes, you can. In that case, Eldlich the Golden Lord is added to your hand, and you can also Special Summon a Zombie monster from your hand.

Source

 

Q: While I control 4 monsters and have 2 copies of Bahalutiya, the Grand Radiance in my hand, my opponent activates Reinforcement of the Army and adds a Warrior monster from their Deck to their hand. In this case, can I activate the effects of both copies of Bahalutiya, the Grand Radiance in a Chain and Tribute Summon them?
A: In this case, you can only activate the effect of 1 Bahalutiya, the Grand Radiance. The effects of multiple copies of Bahalutiya, the Grand Radiance cannot be activated in the same Chain.

Source

 

Q: If my opponent adds a monster from their Deck to their hand, can I activate the effect of Bahalutiya, the Grand Radiance and the effect of Puppet King in the same Chain?
A: In this case, you can only activate the effect of one of them. You cannot activate both in the same Chain.

Source

 

Q: I control Judge of the Ice Barrier, an Ice Barrier Token, and Masquerade the Blazing Dragon. When my opponent activates a card effect and pays 600 Life Points due to the effect of Masquerade the Blazing Dragon, does my opponent lose another 500 Life Points due to the effect of Judge of the Ice Barrier?
A: In that case, your opponent does not lose Life Points from the effect of Judge of the Ice Barrier. The effect of Judge of the Ice Barrier is applied each time your opponent pays Life Points as the cost of activating a card effect. The Life Points paid due to the effect of Masquerade the Blazing Dragon are not treated as the cost of activating a card effect.

Source

 

Q: When performing a Ritual Summon, I applied the effect of Drytron Mu Beta Fafnir and detached a Djinn Disserere of Rituals that was attached to it as Xyz Material for the Ritual Summon. In this case, does the effect of Djinn Disserere of Rituals apply, making the Ritual Summoned monster unaffected by Trap effects?
A: In this case, the Djinn Disserere of Rituals detached as an Xyz Material for the Ritual Summon is not applied.

Source

 

Q: While a Lord of the Heavenly Prison is revealed in my hand due to its own effect, what happens to it if Prohibition is activated by declaring the name “Lord of the Heavenly Prison”?
A: Since the effect of Lord of the Heavenly Prison already resolved, it will remain revealed in your hand even if the effects of Prohibition are applied, and the part of the effect that prevents Set cards on the field from being destroyed by card effects will continue applying. However, if a Set Spell/Trap is activated in this situation, the second effect of Lord of the Heavenly Prison cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: If I activate a Metal Reflect Slime that was Set from the Deck by the effect of Lord of the Heavenly Prison and Special Summon it as a monster, will it be banished during the End Phase due to the effect of Lord of the Heavenly Prison? Also, if activate The Phantom Knights of Shade Brigandine that was Set from the Deck by the effect of Lord of the Heavenly Prison and Special Summon it as a monster, will it be banished during the End Phase due to the effect of Lord of the Heavenly Prison?
A: For cards such as Metal Reflect Slime that are still treated as Trap Cards after being Special Summoned, the effect of Lord of the Heavenly Prison will still apply to them even after they are Special Summoned. (They are banished during the End Phase of the next turn after they were Set.) Cards that are not still treated as Trap Cards after being Special Summoned, such as The Phantom Knights of Shade Brigandine, no longer have the effect of Lord of the Heavenly Prison applied to them once they are Special Summoned. (They are not banished during the End Phase of the next turn.)

Source

 

Q: While the effect of Necrovalley is applying, can the effect of Destiny HERO – Destroyer Phoenix Enforcer be activated when it is destroyed? Also, after the effect of Destiny HERO – Destroyer Phoenix Enforcer has resolved, what happens if the effect of Necrovalley is applying during the next Standby Phase?
A: Even if the effect of Necrovalley is applying, the effect of Destiny HERO – Destroyer Phoenix Enforcer can be activated, and the activated effect will not be negated. However, if the effect of Necrovalley is applying during the next Standby Phase, you do not Special Summon a “Destiny HERO” monster from your Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: During the turn my opponent already activated Chain Summoning, can I activate Floowandereeze and the Scary Sea?
A: Yes, you can.

Source

 

Q: I activate Smile Action, and each player banishes Spells from their Graveyard face-down. In this case, can I activate the effect of Exorsister Elaine that Special Summons an “Exorsister” Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck?
A: In this case, since your opponent banished cards from their Graveyard, you can activate the effect of Exorsister Elaine.

Source

 

Q: If Spells/Traps are Set from the Graveyard by the effect of my opponent’s Number 100: Numeron Dragon, can I activate the effect of Exorsister Elaine that Special Summons an “Exorsister” Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck?
A: When resolving the effect of your opponent’s Number 100: Numeron Dragon, if your opponent is the only one who Sets a Spell/Trap from their Graveyard, or if both players Set a Spell/Trap from their Graveyard, you can activate the effect of Exorsister Elaine. If you are the only one who Sets a Spell/Trap because there are no Spells/Traps in your opponent’s Graveyard, you cannot activate the effect of Exorsister Elaine.

Source

Author note: This situation probably assumes that Exorsister Elaine was somehow not destroyed by this effect of Number 100: Numeron Dragon, since it needs to be on the field to activate its effect.

 

Q: If the effect of Degenerate Circuit is applying and the effect of Materiactor Gigaboros is activated that adds 1 of its Xyz Materials to the hand, what happens?
A: Xyz Materials are not treated as cards on the field. Therefore, even if the effect of Degenerate Circuit is applying, the card attached to Materiactor Gigaboros is returned to the hand normally.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.