[OCG] 10/05/17 Rulings

The forehead returns.

10/05/17 Rulings

Q: My opponent activates the effect of Fairy Tail – Luna that returns it and a monster on my field to the hand. At this time, can I chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring?
A: When your opponent activates the second effect of Fairy Tail – Luna, you can chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11022&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating the effect of Crusader of Endymion that places a Spell Counter on a card, can I target a Breaker the Magical Warrior whose effects are negated?
A: If the effects of Breaker the Magical Warrior are negated, it is not treated as a card that you can place Spell Counters on, so it cannot be targeted with the effect of Crusader of Endymion.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9459&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activated Prohibition by declaring Snowy Weathery Pattern. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Snow Weathery Ciel, can I place a Snowy Weathery Pattern from my Deck face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone?
A: If the effect of Prohibition is applying, a declared Spell/Trap Card cannot be placed on the field by the effect of Snow Weathery Ciel.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10758&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I activate the effect of Subterror Behemoth Fiendess that sends a Flip monster from my Deck to the Graveyard and Special Summons a monster from my hand to a Main Monster Zone it points to, but my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns that Subterror Behemoth Fiendess to the Extra Deck, how does its effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Subterror Behemoth Fiendess, if that Subterror Behemoth Fiendess is no longer on the field, you still send a Flip monster from your Deck to the Graveyard, but it is not possible to apply the part of the effect that Special Summons a monster to a Main Monster Zone that Subterror Behemoth Fiendess points to.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7969&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-down Defense Position Subterror Behemoth Dragossuary is the only monster on my field, and the first effect of Subterror Behemoth Burrowing has been applied. If Subterror Behemoth Dragossuary is flipped face-up, what happens to that applied effect?
A: The effect of Subterror Behemoth Burrowing that prevents your face-down monsters from being destroyed by card effects, and your opponent from targeting them with card effects, only applies to those monsters while they remain face-down. Therefore, even if a monster was face-down when Subterror Behemoth Burrowing resolved, but is then flipped face-up, it can be destroyed by card effects and targeted by your opponent’s card effects as usual.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8384&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I activate Subterror Final Battle and choose the effect that prevents activated effects of “Subterror” cards from being negated this turn, can Solemn Judgment be chained to negate the activation?
A: Even if you activate Subterror Final Battle and choose the effect that prevents activated effects of “Subterror” cards from being negated this turn, Solemn Judgment can be chained. (The effect does not prevent Subterror Final Battle itself from being negated.) The activation of Subterror Final Battle is negated, and Subterror Final Battle is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8440&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Subterror Final Battle and choose the effect that changes a face-down Defense Position “Subterror” monster on my field to face-up Attack or Defense Position. If my opponent chains Raigeki Break and destroys my face-down “Subterror” monster so that the effect of Subterror Final Battle cannot be applied, is it still Set instead of sent to the Graveyard afterward?
A: As in this scenario, although the chosen “●” effect of Subterror Final Battle cannot be applied when it resolves due to a chained effect, Subterror Final Battle is still Set instead of sent to the Graveyard afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8389&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Prohibition is applying after it was activated by declaring SPYRAL Super Agent, can SPYRAL Double Helix be Link Summoned? Also, if Prohibition was activated by declaring SPYRAL Double Helix instead, can SPYRAL Double Helix be Link Summoned?
A: SPYRAL Double Helix can still be Link Summoned even if Prohibition was activated by declaring SPYRAL Super Agent, but the effect of SPYRAL Double Helix will treat it as SPYRAL Super Agent, so the effect of Prohibition will be applied to it. (SPYRAL Double Helix will not be able to declare an attack, activate its effects, be used as a Link Material, etc.) Furthermore, if Prohibition was activated by declaring SPYRAL Double Helix, SPYRAL Double Helix cannot be Link Summoned.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9204&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Prohibition is applying after it was activated by declaring SPYRAL Super Agent, if a SPYRAL Double Helix was sent from the field to the Graveyard after being Link Summoned, can it be Special Summoned from the Graveyard with the effect of Monster Reborn? Also, if Prohibition was activated by declaring SPYRAL Double Helix instead, can SPYRAL Double Helix be Special Summoned from the Graveyard with the effect of Monster Reborn?
A: The effect of SPYRAL Double Helix treats its name as SPYRAL Super Agent while it is face-up on the field or in the Graveyard. Even if the effect of Prohibition is applying after it was activated by declaring SPYRAL Super Agent, SPYRAL Double Helix will still be treated as SPYRAL Super Agent, so you cannot target it with Monster Reborn. Also, if the effect of Prohibition is applying after it was activated by declaring SPYRAL Double Helix, SPYRAL Double Helix is treated as SPYRAL Super Agent in the Graveyard so it can be targeted with Monster Reborn. (SPYRAL Double Helix will still be treated as SPYRAL Super Agent on the field, so you can declare attacks with it, activate its effects, use it as Link Material, etc. as usual.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13179&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Vanity’s Emptiness is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, can I activate the effect of SPYRAL Double Helix?
A: Even if the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is applying, you can activate the effect of SPYRAL Double Helix. If the type of card you reveal from the top of your Deck is what you declared, you cannot Special Summon a “SPYRAL” monster due to the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness. You will instead add 1 “SPYRAL” monster from your Deck or Graveyard to your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8458&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate the effect of SPYGAL Misty that returns a SPYRAL Super Agent on my field and 1 monster on my opponent’s field to the hand, but my opponent chains a card such as Raigeki Break and destroys either of the 2 targeted monsters, how does the effect of SPYGAL Misty resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of SPYGAL Misty, if one of the 2 targeted monsters is no longer on the field, the effect is not applied. (No monsters are returned to the hand.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14937&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My SPYRAL Super Agent is equipped with SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort, and the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort that allows the equipped monster to attack directly was activated this turn. Afterward, if my opponent activates Mystical Space Typhoon and destroys the equipped SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort, will the effect still apply?
A: The effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort that allows the equipped monster to attack directly will be applied to the equipped monster during the turn it was used. Therefore, if SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort is destroyed afterward, it is no longer equipped to a monster, so the effect is not applied. (In this scenario, SPYRAL Super Agent cannot attack directly with that effect.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6871&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My SPYRAL Super Agent is equipped with SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort, and the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort that allows the equipped monster to attack directly was activated this turn. Afterward, if my opponent activates Book of Eclipse and changes SPYRAL Super Agent to face-down Defense Position, will the effect still apply?
A: In this scenario, if SPYRAL Super Agent is changed to face-down Defense Position after the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort was applied, it can no longer attack directly with that effect. (Even if it is flipped face-up again that turn, it cannot attack directly using the effect of SPYRAL GEAR – Last Resort.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13816&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I Special Summon SPYRAL Sleeper, I activate SPYRAL MISSION – Recapture and target my opponent’s SPYRAL Quik-Fix. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes SPYRAL Quik-Fix to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of SPYRAL MISSION – Recapture resolve?
A: Even if the monster targeted with the effect of SPYRAL MISSION – Recapture is in face-down Defense Position when it resolves, the effects are applied normally. (In this scenario, you will gain control of SPYRAL Quik-Fix. If it is flipped face-up this turn, it cannot attack directly.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8459&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: F.A. Sonic Meister and F.A. Hang On Mach are face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate Space Dragster, but my opponent chains Ojama Trio, how does Space Dragster resolve?
A: In this scenario, due to the effect of Ojama Trio, you will not have any available Main Monster Zones. You cannot Special Summon Space Dragster in this case, and it is sent to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8446&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During the End Phase of the turn after the first effect of Future Fusion sent a monster from my Deck to the Graveyard, can I activate the effect of Fusion Recycling Plant and return one of those monsters to my hand? Also, during the End Phase of the turn after the second effect of Future Fusion Special Summoned the Fusion Monster from my Extra Deck, can I activate the effect of Fusion Recycling Plant and return one of the monsters that was sent to the Graveyard to my hand?
A: Future Fusion sends monsters that are listed as Fusion Materials on a Fusion Monster to the Graveyard during the first Standby Phase after the card’s activation, but those monsters are not treated as Fusion Materials until the Fusion Monster is Special Summoned during the second Standby Phase after the card’s activation. The effect of Fusion Recycling Plant can only return monsters to your hand if they were sent to the Graveyard as materials for a Fusion Summon that turn. Therefore, you cannot add a monster to your hand that was sent to the Graveyard with the effect of Future Fusion.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11067&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: D/D Savant Newton is face-up in my Monster Zone, and Pendulum Switch is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if my opponent activates Secret Blast, but I chain the effect of Pendulum Switch and place D/D Savant Newton in my Pendulum Zone, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the effect of your opponent’s Secret Blast will resolve after the effect of Pendulum Switch at Chain Link 2 placed your D/D Savant Newton in your Pendulum Zone. Since the effect of your opponent’s Secret Blast would inflict damage to you, you can apply the effect of D/D Savant Newton and negate the effect. (If you do, D/D Savant Newton is destroyed.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6076&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: D/D Savant Newton is in my Pendulum Zone, and Pendulum Switch is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if my opponent activates Secret Blast, but I chain the effect of Pendulum Switch and Special Summon D/D Savant Newton to the Monster Zone, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the effect of your opponent’s Secret Blast will resolve after the effect of Pendulum Switch at Chain Link 2 Special Summoned your D/D Savant Newton to the Monster Zone. Since the Pendulum Effect of D/D Savant Newton cannot be applied unless it is in the Pendulum Zone, the effect of Secret Blast will resolve normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6631&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Angel Sage Minerva has gained 500 ATK after applying its effect. Afterward, if Skill Drain is activated and the effects of Angel Sage Minerva are negated, what happens to its ATK?
A: If the effect of Skill Drain is applied to an Angel Sage Minerva whose ATK has increased by its own effect, its effects are negated and that gained ATK is lost. (Afterward, even if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying, Angel Sage Minerva does not regain the lost ATK.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10757&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.