[OCG] 08/04/17 Rulings

More rulings this week, mostly from Circuit Break (again).

08/04/17 Rulings

Q: Gaap the Divine Soldier is face-up on my opponent’s field. In this situation, can I Set monsters in face-down Defense Position?
A: Even while the effect of Gaap the Divine Soldier is applying, you can Set monsters in face-down Defense Position. That monster will then immediately change to face-up Attack Position by the effect of Gaap the Divine Soldier.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7246&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Gaap the Divine Soldier is face-up on my opponent’s field. In this situation, if I Set a Galaxy Serpent from my hand, but it is immediately changed to face-up Attack Position by the effect of Gaap the Divine Soldier, can my opponent activate Trap Hole?
A: Trap Hole can be activated when a monster with 1000 or more ATK is successfully Normal or Flip Summoned. In this situation, Galaxy Serpent was Normal Set and immediately changed to face-up Attack Position by the effect of Gaap the Divine Soldier. Galaxy Serpent is not treated as being Normal or Flip Summoned at this time, so your opponent cannot activate Trap Hole.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8432&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Pot of Duality this turn. During the same turn, can I also activate Monster Slots?
A: Pot of Duality cannot be activated during the turn you Special Summoned a monster, and you cannot Special Summon monsters during the turn you activated Pot of Duality. Monster Slots has an effect that Special Summons monsters, so you cannot activate it if you already activated Pot of Duality this turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12381&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate Monster Slots, my opponent chains the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring, and negates the effect. During this turn, can I activate Pot of Duality?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Monster Slots was negated by the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring, but since the effect of Monster Slots Special Summons monsters, you cannot activate Pot of Duality during this turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12653&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate Lullaby of Obedience, my opponent chains the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring, and negates the effect. During this turn, can I activate Pot of Duality?
A: In this scenario, if the effect of Lullaby of Obedience was negated by the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring, your opponent does not look in their Deck for the declared card, so neither “●” effect can be chosen. In this case, you can activate Pot of Duality during this turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6417&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Tribute Summoned a Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King by Tributing Disciples of the True Dracophoenix and Majesty Maiden, the True Dracocaster. At this time, will the effect of my Precious Cards from Beyond activate?
A: The effect of Precious Cards from Beyond will only activate if you Tribute 2 or more monsters for a Tribute Summon. In this scenario, since the only monster that was Tributed was Majesty Maiden, the True Dracocaster, the effect of Precious Cards from Beyond does not activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12373&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During this turn, my Autovarret Dragon and Magnuvarret Dragon were both destroyed by battle or card effect and sent to the Graveyard. During the End Phase, how does the effect of each monster activate and resolve?
A: In this scenario, when activating the effects of Autovarret Dragon and Magnuvarret Dragon during the End Phase, each effect is activated and resolved separately. (They are not activated together in a single Chain.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7995&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Mermail Abysslinde and Mermail Abyssteus are face-up on my field. In this situation, I activate the effect of a Mermail Abyssnereid by discarding it from my hand, targeting my Mermail Abyssteus. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Mermail Abyssteus to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Mermail Abyssnereid resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Mermail Abyssnereid, even if the targeted WATER monster is in face-down Defense Position, you still destroy your other WATER monster (Mermail Abysslinde), but the targeted monster will not gain any ATK or DEF.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9800&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Relinquished is face-up on my opponent’s field, and it used its effect to equip a Honeybot to it. In this situation, if I Summon The Accumulator, how much ATK does it gain?
A: In this scenario, the equipped Honeybot is treated as an Equip Spell Card and not a monster, so there are no Link Monsters on the field. The Accumulator will not gain any ATK by its own effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10459&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King that is unaffected by Spell and monster effects is face-up on my field. In this situation, if Duck Dropper is face-up on my opponent’s field and its effects are applying, how can Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King attack?
A: In this scenario, Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King is unaffected by monster effects, so its attacks do not become direct attacks by the effect of Duck Dropper, and it can attack monsters normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12823&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Destrudo, Dread of the Dead Drake was Special Summoned by its own effect. If my opponent activates Compulsory Evacuation Device and targets that Destrudo, Dread of the Dead Drake, will it return to the bottom of the Deck?
A: If the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device is applied to a Destrudo, Dread of the Dead Drake that was Special Summoned by its own effect, it returns to the bottom of the Deck. (It does not return to the hand.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8658&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Destrudo, Dread of the Dead Drake was Special Summoned by its own effect. Afterward, if that Destrudo, Dread of the Dead Drake is used as Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon and then detached, will it return to the bottom of the Deck?
A: When a Destrudo, Dread of the Dead Drake that was Special Summoned by its own effect is used as Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon, the part of its effect that returns it to the bottom of the Deck is not applied. If Destrudo, Dread of the Dead Drake is detached while it is an Xyz Material, it is sent to the Graveyard normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8463&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I banish a face-up Tragoedia from my field as the cost to activate Battle Over the World Legacy?
A: You cannot banish monsters with “?” printed as both their original ATK and DEF, such as Tragoedia, to activate Battle Over the World Legacy. In addition, even if the ATK and DEF of Tragoedia have increased by its own effect, it cannot be banished as the cost to activate Battle Over the World Legacy.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=134&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Battle Over the World Legacy by banishing a face-up Crawler Dendrite. If Burial from a Different Dimension is chained, and that Crawler Dendrite returns to the Graveyard, how does the effect of Battle Over the World Legacy resolve?
A: Even in this scenario, the effect of Battle Over the World Legacy is applied normally and the targeted monster loses 1300 ATK and 600 DEF, the original ATK and DEF values of Crawler Dendrite. Also, since Crawler Dendrite returned to the Graveyard, it does not return to the field during the End Phase.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6279&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: By applying the effect of Metaphys Factor, I Normal Summoned a Metaphys Daedalus without Tributing. If my opponent activates Book of Moon and changes that Metaphys Daedalus to face-down Defense Position, what happens during the End Phase of the next turn?
A: As in this scenario, if the effect of Metaphys Factor was applied in order to Normal Summon a “Metaphys” monster without Tributing, but that monster is changed to face-down Defense Position before the End Phase of the next turn, it is not banished and remains on the field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11045&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6 is Special Summoned by the effect of Premier Burial, are its effects negated?
A: Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6 is unaffected by Spell effects, so while it is equipped with Premier Burial, it is unaffected by the effect that negates the equipped monster’s effects. Therefore, the effects of Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6 are not negated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=19950&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Replenishment Squad is face-up on my field, and I have 1 card in my Deck. In this situation, if my opponent’s Megalosmasher X attacks directly and I take 2000 battle damage, what happens?
A: The effect of Replenishment Squad is one that activates each time you take 1000 or more damage from an opponent’s card. Even in this scenario, the effect of Replenishment Squad activates. You must draw 2 cards, but since there is only 1 card in your Deck, you are unable to draw and you lose the Duel.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11185&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While there are 2 copies of Burning Bamboo Sword on my field, if I activate Cursed Bamboo Sword, how is the effect of each Burning Bamboo Sword applied?
A: In this scenario, after Cursed Bamboo Sword resolves, you can activate the effect of each Burning Bamboo Sword in a new Chain. In that case, although the effect of each Burning Bamboo Sword is applied, only 1 of your opponent’s Main Phase 1s is skipped.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10351&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An Altergeist Silquitous equipped with Altergeist Camouflage is face-up on my opponent’s field. If I have an Attack Position Cyber Dragon on my field that is unaffected by Spell/Trap effects due to the effect of Forbidden Lance, can it attack Altergeist Silquitous?
A: While Altergeist Camouflage is equipped to a monster and its effects are applying, even monsters that are unaffected by Trap effects, such as Cyber Dragon in this scenario, cannot target the equipped monster for attacks. If there are no other monsters on your opponent’s field, Cyber Dragon can attack your opponent directly.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9024&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate the second effect of Ojama Duo by banishing it from the Graveyard, my opponent chains Ojama Trio, which results in only 1 Main Monster Zone on my field being available. In this case, how does the effect of Ojama Duo resolve?
A: The second effect of Ojama Duo is one that Special Summons 2 “Ojama” monsters with different names from your Deck. Therefore, in this scenario, if you only have 1 available Main Monster Zone when its effect resolves, the effect is not applied. (No “Ojama” monsters are Special Summoned.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13609&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.