[OCG] 07/01/17 Weekly Rulings Update

A colorful assortment.

07/01/17 Rulings

Q: Control of The Bewitching Phantom Thief that was targeted with Secrets of the Gallant this turn switches to my opponent by the effect of their Enemy Controller. If I then activate Owner’s Seal this turn to regain control of The Bewitching Phantom Thief and attack with it, will the effect of Secrets of the Gallant apply?
A: Even if control of the monster that was targeted with Secrets of the Gallant changes, the effect remains applied. In this scenario, if you regain control of that monster this turn and inflict battle damage to your opponent with it, the effect that makes your opponent discard 2 random cards is applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13863&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Instant Fusion and Special Summon Thousand-Eyes Restrict from my Extra Deck. During the same turn, if I activate Creature Swap and switch control of Thousand-Eyes Restrict with an opponent’s monster, will that Thousand-Eyes Restrict still be destroyed during my End Phase?
A: In this scenario, if Thousand-Eyes Restrict was Special Summoned by the effect of Instant Fusion, even if your opponent gains control of it with the effect of Creature Swap, the effect “but it cannot attack, also is destroyed during the End Phase.” remains. Therefore, when you reach your End Phase, Thousand-Eyes Restrict is destroyed.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8985&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Legendary Ocean is face-up in my Field Zone, and a Metal Reflect Slime treated as a monster by its own effect is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Sea Stealth Attack that makes it so that Spell/Trap Cards on my field are not destroyed by my opponent’s card effects this turn, by banishing Metal Reflect Slime until the End Phase?
A: When activating the effect of Sea Stealth Attack, you can do so by banishing a face-up Metal Reflect Slime treated as a WATER monster by its own effect. In that case, the effect prevents your Spell/Trap Cards from being destroyed by your opponent’s card effects this turn normally, but when the banished Metal Reflect Slime returns to the field, it will no longer be treated as a monster so it is immediately sent to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8194&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Phantom of Chaos has gained the name and effects of PSY-Framelord Zeta. In this situation, if I activate the effect that banishes it and an opponent’s face-up Attack Position monster until my next Standby Phase, what happens?
A: In this scenario, if the effect of PSY-Framelord Zeta gained by Phantom of Chaos is activated, Phantom of Chaos and the opponent’s targeted monster are banished normally. During your next Standby Phase, the banished monster returns to the opponent’s Monster Zone, but Phantom of Chaos will not return to the field and remains banished. Furthermore, while Phantom of Chaos is banished, it no longer has the name and effects of PSY-Framelord Zeta.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6129&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Stardust Spark Dragon and Dragunity Dux are face-up on my field, and a Dragunity Phalanx is equipped to Dragunity Dux. During this turn, the effect of Stardust Spark Dragon was activated by targeting the equipped Dragunity Phalanx, so that it is not destroyed by battle or card effects once this turn. Afterward, if Dragunity Phalanx is Special Summoned from the Spell & Trap Zone by its own effect, will the effect of Stardust Spark Dragon still be applied?
A: If the effect of Stardust Spark Dragon is applied to a Dragunity Phalanx treated as an Equip Card, and afterward that Dragunity Phalanx is Special Summoned to the Monster Zone, the effect of Stardust Spark Dragon will no longer apply.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11934&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A DNA Transplant that was activated by declaring the LIGHT Attribute is face-up on the field. In this situation, I activate Monster Reborn and Special Summon Darklord Superbia from my Graveyard, then activate its effect and Special Summon Mozarta the Melodious Maestra from the Graveyard. During the same turn, can I activate the effect of Mozarta the Melodious Maestra?
A: Even if you Special Summoned a Darklord Superbia (whose original Attribute is DARK) this turn while the effect of DNA Transplant was applying, you can activate the effect of Mozarta the Melodious Maestra. However, if you first activated the effect of Mozarta the Melodious Maestra, you cannot Special Summon monsters whose original Attributes are anything other than LIGHT, even if the effect of DNA Transplant is applying.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8469&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: D/D Savant Newton and D/D Savant Copernicus are face-up in my Pendulum Zones, and my Dark Contract with the Eternal Darkness is applying its effect. In this situation, can my opponent activate Pendulum Fusion?
A: While the effect of Dark Contract with the Eternal Darkness is applying, your opponent cannot target monsters on the field with Spell/Trap effects, Tribute them for a Tribute Summon, nor use them as materials for a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Summon. However, if your opponent activates Pendulum Fusion and uses 2 cards in their Pendulum Zones as materials, they can perform a Fusion Summon normally despite the effect of Dark Contract with the Eternal Darkness. (In other words, even if the effect of their opponent’s Dark Contract with the Eternal Darkness is applying, a player can activate Pendulum Fusion if there are 2 monsters in their Pendulum Zones and they are appropriate Fusion Materials for a Fusion Summon.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10364&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Icarus Attack by Tributing a Raidraptor – Arsenal Falcon that has Raidraptor – Revolution Falcon as Xyz Material. If the effect of D.D. Crow is chained and it banishes Raidraptor – Arsenal Falcon from my Graveyard, can I activate the effect of Raidraptor – Arsenal Falcon that Special Summons a “Raidraptor” monster from my Extra Deck, after this Chain resolves?
A: As in this scenario, if Raidraptor – Arsenal Falcon was sent to the Graveyard, but then banished before its effect could activate, it will not be possible to apply the part of the effect that attaches it from the Graveyard to the Special Summoned monster, so the effect itself cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10363&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The only monster on my opponent’s field is a face-up Trickstar Lycoris. In this situation, I activate Hero Blast targeting an Elemental HERO Neos in my Graveyard. In this case, when resolving the effect of Hero Blast, will the effect of my opponent’s Trickstar Lycoris that inflicts 200 damage each time I add a card to my hand be applied?
A: In this scenario, when Hero Blast resolves, the targeted Elemental HERO Neos in your Graveyard is added to your hand, and then your opponent’s Trickstar Lycoris is destroyed, so its effect that inflicts damage cannot be applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12738&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Trickstar Lycoris that Special Summons it from my hand, targeting a Trickstar Holly Angel in my Extra Monster Zone to return to the hand. When the effect resolves, if I Special Summon Trickstar Lycoris to a Main Monster Zone that Trickstar Holly Angel points to, will the effect of Trickstar Holly Angel that inflicts 200 damage to my opponent apply?
A: When the effect of Trickstar Lycoris resolves, it is Special Summoned from the hand, and the targeted monster returns to the hand. In this scenario, once Trickstar Lycoris is Special Summoned, the targeted Trickstar Holly Angel returns to the Extra Deck. Therefore, the effect of Trickstar Holly Angel that inflicts 200 damage to your opponent cannot be applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13601&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Stargrail Warrior Ningirsu that sends 1 card from each side of the field to the Graveyard. When the effect resolves, can I choose a Pendulum Monster on either my field or my opponent’s field?
A: A Pendulum Monster can be chosen when resolving the effect of Stargrail Warrior Ningirsu. The Pendulum Monster is added face-up to the Extra Deck instead of being sent to the Graveyard. Even so, the other chosen card is sent to the Graveyard normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6338&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Stargrail Swordsman Aurum is in an Extra Monster Zone, and it is pointing to a Stargrail’s Protector Dragon in my Main Monster Zone. In this situation, I activate the effect of Stargrail Swordsman Aurum by Tributing Stargrail’s Protector Dragon, and targeting a Stargrail Dragon Imduk in my Graveyard. If my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Stargrail Swordsman Aurum to the Extra Deck, how does its effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Stargrail Swordsman Aurum, if that Stargrail Swordsman Aurum is no longer on the field, there is no longer a Zone that it points to, so the targeted monster cannot be Special Summoned.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16134&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Stargrail Warrior Ningirsu that sends 1 card from each side of the field to the Graveyard. When the effect resolves, can I choose a Monster Token on either my field or my opponent’s field?
A: A Token can be chosen when resolving the effect of Stargrail Warrior Ningirsu. The Token disappears when it leaves the field. Even so, the other chosen card is sent to the Graveyard normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10823&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate March of the Night Brigade, targeting Lumina, Lightsworn Summoner in my Graveyard. If my opponent chains Imperial Iron Wall, how does March of the Night Brigade resolve?
A: In this scenario, March of the Night Brigade resolves while the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying. The targeted Lumina, Lightsworn Summoner is added to your hand normally, but you do not banish any cards from the top of your Deck. (March of the Night Brigade finishes resolving by adding the targeted monster to your hand as the last thing to happen.) Note that while the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is already applying, March of the Night Brigade cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6081&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent’s Ultimate Tyranno attacks a Nightmare Archfiend Token on my field, can I activate Transmission Gear?
A: Monster Tokens cannot be banished face-down. During damage calculation in which you and your opponent’s monsters battle, if either monster is a Token, Transmission Gear cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12719&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Black Pendant and equipped it to Red-Eyes Metal Knight Gearfried. When I activate the effect of Red-Eyes Metal Knight Gearfried that destroys the Equip Card and an opponent’s Spell/Trap Card, but my opponent chains Tailor of the Fickle and equips Black Pendant to a different monster, how does the effect of Red-Eyes Metal Knight Gearfried resolve?
A: In this scenario, even if the Equip Card that triggered the effect of Red-Eyes Metal Knight Gearfried is equipped to a different monster by the effect of Tailor of the Fickle when the effect of Red-Eyes Metal Knight Gearfried resolves, it is still destroyed, and you can then destroy 1 Spell/Trap Card on your opponent’s field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8466&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Red-Eyes Retro Dragon is equipped with Red-Eyes Fang with Chain, and the effect of Red-Eyes Fang with Chain is activated targeting an opponent’s The Legendary Fisherman. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Red-Eyes Retro Dragon to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Red-Eyes Fang with Chain that equips an Effect Monster to the monster it was equipped to, if that monster that was equipped is in face-down Defense Position, the targeted Effect Monster (The Legendary Fisherman) cannot be equipped to it and is sent to the Graveyard. Furthermore, the effect that changes the ATK and DEF of the equipped monster is not applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8470&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.