[OCG] 06/15/17 Weekly Rulings Update

Legend Duelist with a hint of Duel Links meme cards.

06/15/17 Rulings

Q: My Amazoness Fighter battled my opponent’s Gearfried the Iron Knight, and Amazoness Fighter was destroyed as a result. After damage calculation, although my “Amazoness” monster was destroyed by battle, can I activate the effect of Amazoness Ambush that banishes the opponent’s monster that it battled?
A: Even if your battling “Amazoness” monster was destroyed by battle as in this scenario, since it still battled an opponent’s monster, you can activate the effect of Amazoness Ambush. In that case, that opponent’s monster is banished, but your “Amazoness” monster is sent to the Graveyard at the end of the Damage Step as usual.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6221&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A DNA Transplant that was activated by declaring WATER is face-up on the field. If Umi is face-up in my Field Zone, and the only monsters on my field are Curse of Dragon and Rude Kaiser, can I activate Rage of Kairyu-Shin?
A: To activate Rage of Kairyu-Shin, Umi must be on the field, also there must be at least 1 WATER monster on your field whose original Level is 5 or higher. In this scenario, both Curse of Dragon and Rude Kaiser have an original Level of 5, although their original Attributes are not WATER. Even so, since the effect of DNA Transplant treats them as WATER monsters, it is possible to activate Rage of Kairyu-Shin. (You can target 1-2 monsters on your opponent’s field.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12143&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Sea Stealth Attack that prevents Spell/Trap Cards on my field from being destroyed by my opponent’s card effects this turn, by banishing The Legendary Fisherman II. After the effect resolves, if I activate Magic Planter and send Sea Stealth Attack to the Graveyard, what happens to its effect?
A: As in this scenario, after the effect of Sea Stealth Attack resolves, even if Sea Stealth Attack itself leaves the field, the effect continues to apply normally. Also, the monster that was banished as the cost to activate the effect (The Legendary Fisherman II in this case) returns to the field during the End Phase as usual.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12253&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If an equipped Cyberdark Claw is sent to the Graveyard, can I activate its effect targeting a Cyberdark Dragon?
A: Yes, you can. Cyberdark Dragon is a Fusion Monster, so it is added to the Extra Deck instead of the hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11917&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating the effect of a Cyberdarkness Dragon that negates the activation of an opponent’s card or effect, can I send a Set Equip Spell Card in my Spell & Trap Zone to the Graveyard as the cost?
A: When activating the effect of Cyberdarkness Dragon that negates the activation of an opponent’s card or effect, you must send an Equip Card from your field to the Graveyard as the cost. You cannot send an Equip Spell Card that is face-down in your Spell & Trap Zone.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8461&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Relinquished on my field is equipped by its own effect with a monster that was in face-down Defense Position. In this situation, when activating the effect of a Cyberdarkness Dragon that negates the activation of an opponent’s card or effect, can I send the face-down card equipped to Relinquished to the Graveyard as the cost?
A: When activating the effect of Cyberdarkness Dragon that negates the activation of an opponent’s card or effect, you must send an Equip Card from your field to the Graveyard as the cost. Monsters equipped to Relinquished are treated as Equip Cards even if they are equipped face-down. Therefore, when activating the effect of Cyberdarkness Dragon, you can send the face-down card equipped to Relinquished to the Graveyard as the cost.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12429&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Cyberdark Inferno, targeting a Cyberdark Keel on my field. If my opponent chains Book of Eclipse, changing Cyberdark Keel to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Cyberdark Inferno resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Cyberdark Inferno, even if the targeted monster is in face-down Defense Position, the effect is applied normally. Cyberdark Keel is returned to the hand, and you can then Normal Summon a “Cyberdark” monster.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6261&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Battle Fader is face-up on my opponent’s field. When activating the effect of Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base that Special Summons a “roid” monster from my Main or Extra Deck, can I target that Battle Fader?
A: If you have a “roid” monster in your Deck with 0 ATK, such as Mixeroid, you can activate the first effect of Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base by targeting an opponent’s monster with 0 ATK.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13833&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During the End Phase, I activate the second effect of Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base, targeting an Expressroid in my Main Monster Zone. If my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base to the Extra Deck, how does its effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base that returns a “roid” monster in your Main Monster Zone to the hand and then moves Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base to the Monster Zone it was in, if Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base itself is no longer on the field, the targeted “roid” monster will return to the hand but Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base itself will not move to its Main Monster Zone. (In this scenario, Expressroid returns to the hand.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10317&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During the End Phase, I activate the second effect of Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base, targeting an Expressroid in my Main Monster Zone. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base to face-down Defense Position, how does its effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base that returns a “roid” monster in your Main Monster Zone to the hand and then moves Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base to the Monster Zone it was in, if Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base itself is in face-down Defense Position, the effect applies normally. In this scenario, Expressroid returns to the hand, and the face-down Defense Position Super Vehicroid – Mobile Base moves to the Monster Zone it was in.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10288&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Mixeroid that is unaffected by Spell/Trap effects due to the effect of Forbidden Lance is face-up on my field. During damage calculation in which that Mixeroid is battling, if I activate the effect of Megaroid City that switches the original ATK and DEF of Mixeroid, what happens?
A: In this scenario, since your Mixeroid is battling, you can activate the effect of Megaroid City during damage calculation. However, since Mixeroid is unaffected by Spell effects, its original ATK and DEF will not be switched.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10278&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up on the field, and its effect that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. In this situation, if my opponent activates a Spell/Trap Card or monster effect, can I chain Red Roid Call?
A: Even in this scenario, Red Roid Call can be activated, and its effect negates the activation of your opponent’s card or effect normally. Since the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, any cards with the same name as the negated card in your opponent’s Main or Extra Deck are banished instead of sent to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10279&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Water Dragon Cluster that Special Summons 2 copies of Water Dragon from my hand and/or Deck. If my opponent chains Hand Destruction, and sends a Water Dragon in my hand to the Graveyard so that I only have 1 other Water Dragon in my hand/Deck, how does the effect of Water Dragon Cluster resolve?
A: The effect of Water Dragon Cluster that Special Summons 2 copies of Water Dragon will not be applied if you do not have the 2 copies in your hand and/or Deck. Therefore, the effect of Water Dragon Cluster is not applied in this scenario, and no copies of Water Dragon are Special Summoned.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10075&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The Unhappy Girl in face-up Attack Position attacks my opponent’s face-up Defense Position Golem Sentry, and neither monster is destroyed by battle. Then, if my opponent activates the effect of Golem Sentry that changes it to face-down Defense Position, what happens to the effect of The Unhappy Girl that was applied?
A: In this scenario, after The Unhappy Girl battles Golem Sentry, the effect of The Unhappy Girl that prevents Golem Sentry from attacking or changing its battle position is applied. However, if Golem Sentry is then changed to face-down Defense Position by its own effect, the effect of The Unhappy Girl disappears, so Golem Sentry can attack and change its battle position.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10635&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Tribute Summoned Mobius the Mega Monarch is face-up in my Monster Zone, 2 copies of Escalation of the Monarchs are face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and Thestalos the Mega Monarch is the only card in my hand. As Chain Link 1 during my opponent’s Main Phase, I activate the effect of an Escalation of the Monarchs. If my opponent chains Cosmic Cyclone and targets that Escalation of the Monarchs, can I chain the effect of the second Escalation of the Monarchs?
A: In this scenario, you can chain the effect of the second Escalation of the Monarchs to Cosmic Cyclone. In that case, the effect of that Escalation of the Monarchs that is Chain Link 3 resolves first, and Thestalos the Mega Monarchs is Tribute Summoned. Due to the effect of Cosmic Cyclone at Chain Link 2, the first Escalation of the Monarchs is banished, so its effect is not applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8462&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.