[OCG] 05/11/17 Weekly Rulings Update

These are fun.

05/11/17 Rulings

Q: While I have a face-up Attack Position Ultimate Conductor Tyranno on my field, my opponent enters their Main Phase. My opponent activates The Monarchs Stormforth, but I chain the effect of Miscellaneousaurus from my hand. In this case, how does each effect resolve?
A: If the effect of Miscellaneousaurus is applied, Dinosaur-Type monsters on your field will be unaffected by your opponent’s activated effects. In this scenario, although The Monarchs Stormforth was an activated card, applying its effect that allows your opponent to Tribute Summon using your monster is not an effect that starts a Chain. Therefore, even if the effect of Miscellaneousaurus is applying, your opponent can use the effect of The Monarchs Stormforth to Tribute your Dinosaur-Type monster for a Tribute Summon. (In this scenario, Ultimate Conductor Tyranno can be Tributed for an opponent’s Tribute Summon.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20255&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Prohibition is applying, which my opponent activated by declaring Zoodiac Thoroughblade. In this situation, if I activate Zoodiac Combo, can I attach a Zoodiac Thoroughblade from my Deck to a “Zoodiac” Xyz Monster on my field as Xyz Material?
A: While the effect of Prohibition is applying, you cannot choose a declared monster from your Deck for the effect of Zoodiac Combo.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7967&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Prohibition is applying, which my opponent activated by declaring Hazy Flame Peryton. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Hazy Pillar that attaches a “Hazy Flame” monster from my field or hand to an Xyz Monster on my field, can I attach a Hazy Flame Peryton?
A: While the effect of Prohibition is applying, you cannot attach a declared monster from your hand as an Xyz Material with the effect of Hazy Pillar. But even if a monster’s name was declared by Prohibition, if that monster is already on the field, then it can be attached as an Xyz Material to a monster with the effect of Hazy Pillar.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7471&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I previously activated the effect of Black Dragon Ninja twice, banishing one of my monsters and one of my opponent’s. In this situation, if Black Dragon Ninja leaves the field and its effect that Special Summons the banished monsters is activated, how do I Special Summon them?
A: When a banished monster is Special Summoned by the effect of Black Dragon Ninja, the player who activated that effect chooses both the battle position and the Main Monster Zone for each monster. (This applies not only to your monsters but also your opponent’s.) In this scenario, if 2 monsters were banished previously by the effect of Black Dragon Ninja, the player activating the second effect of Black Dragon Ninja chooses the battle position and Main Monster Zone for their own banished monster and their opponent’s banished monster. (The 2 monsters are considered Special Summoned simultaneously.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18793&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Exchange, and take my opponent’s Trickstar Lilybell in their hand and add it to mine. In this case, can I activate the effect of Trickstar Lilybell that Special Summons it from my hand?
A: Even in this scenario, since Trickstar Lilybell was added to your hand other than by drawing, you can activate its effect that Special Summons it from your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17299&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Trickstar Lilybell and Trickstar Candina are face-up on my field. In this situation, if I activate the effect of a Trickstar Lycorissica in my hand by targeting Trickstar Lilybell, but my opponent chains Ojama Trio, what happens?
A: In this scenario, 3 Ojama Tokens are Special Summoned to your side of the field by the effect of your opponent’s Ojama Trio, which means you have no vacant Main Monster Zones afterward. Since you cannot Special Summon Trickstar Lycorissica from your hand, it sent to the Graveyard instead, and the targeted Trickstar Lilybell remains on the field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15975&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent’s Stargrail Dragon Imduk is in the Extra Monster Zone, and my Stargrail’s Chosen is in my Main Monster Zone in the same column. If my opponent activates Mind Control and targets Stargrail’s Chosen, can I chain the effect of a Stargrail’s Protector Dragon to negate the activation and destroy it?
A: In this scenario, since the Stargrail’s Chosen on your field is linked to your opponent’s Stargrail Dragon Imduk, Mind Control is targeting a monster on your field in a linked state. Therefore, you can chain the effect of Stargrail’s Protector Dragon to negate the activation of Mind Control, and destroy it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10620&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Stargrail Swordsman Aurum in the Extra Monster Zone is the only Link Monster on my field. In this situation, if I activate the second effect of Stargrail’s Protector Dragon by banishing it from my Graveyard and targeting a Stargrail’s Beckoned in my Graveyard, but my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Stargrail Swordsman Aurum to the Extra Deck, what happens?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device was applied, there is no longer a Link Monster on your field, which means there are no Zones linked to a Link Monster on your field. In this case, the effect of Stargrail’s Protector Dragon is not applied. (The targeted Stargrail’s Beckoned remains in the Graveyard.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17300&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Traptrix Coronatus, targeting a Set Treacherous Trap Hole on my field. If I chain that Treacherous Trap Hole, what happens?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of Traptrix Coronatus, since you cannot return the Set target to the hand, you cannot Set a new Spell/Trap Card from your hand. (In this case, Treacherous Trap Hole is sent to the Graveyard normally.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18241&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Proto-Cyber Dragon, Cyber Dragon, Cyber Dragon Zwei, Cyber Dragon Drei, and Cyber Dragon Core are in my Graveyard. In this case, can I Special Summon a Hydralander the Orbital Shadowlite Weapon by its own procedure?
A: In this scenario, since Cyber Dragon Zwei, Cyber Dragon Drei, and Cyber Dragon Core are all treated as Cyber Dragon while in your Graveyard, you do not have 5 or more monsters in your Graveyard that all have different names, so you cannot Special Summon Hydralander the Orbital Shadowlite Weapon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8561&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I have Spell/Trap Cards in my Graveyard in addition to 5 monsters with different names, can I Special Summon a Hydralander the Orbital Shadowlite Weapon by its own procedure?
A: If there are 5 or more monsters in your Graveyard that all have different names, even if you have any Spell/Trap Cards in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon Hydralander the Orbital Shadowlite Weapon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13758&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Soul Charge, and Special Summon Topological Bomber Dragon and Cracking Dragon from my Graveyard at the same time. At this time, if either Topological Bomber Dragon or Cracking Dragon are Special Summoned to a Zone linked to a Link Monster in the Extra Monster Zone, will the effect of Topological Bomber Dragon that destroys all monsters in the Main Monster Zones activate?
A: If Topological Bomber Dragon and other monsters are Special Summoned at the same time, even to a Main Monster Zone linked to another Link Monster, the effect of Topological Bomber Dragon that destroys all monsters in the Main Monster Zones does not activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14120&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Topological Bomber Dragon is in an Extra Monster Zone. In this situation, if my opponent activates Compulsory Evacuation Device targeting Topological Bomber Dragon, but I chain Call of the Haunted and Special Summon a monster to my Main Monster Zone linked to Topological Bomber Dragon, will the effect of Topological Bomber Dragon that destroys all monsters in the Main Monster Zones activate?
A: In this scenario, a monster was Special Summoned to a Main Monster Zone linked to a Link Monster on the field, but Topological Bomber Dragon itself is no longer face-up on the field, so its effect will not activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8435&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Topological Bomber Dragon battles an opponent’s monster, but Clashing Souls is activated during damage calculation, how does each effect resolve?
A: As a result of applying the effect of Clashing Souls, if Topological Bomber Dragon is sent to the Graveyard after damage calculation, its own effect that inflicts damage to the opponent does not activate. If only the opponent’s monster is sent to the Graveyard as a result of applying the effect of Clashing Souls, the effect of Topological Bomber Dragon will activate, but since the opponent’s monster that battled is no longer on the field, no damage is inflicted to your opponent.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6092&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Gaiasaber, the Virtual Knight equipped with United We Stand, and Missus Radiant equipped with Mage Power, are both in my Main Monster Zones. If I activate the second effect of Castle Link and switch their Zones, what happens to their Equip Spell Cards?
A: Even if 2 monsters equipped with Equip Spell Cards switch Zones with the effect of Castle Link, the Equip Spell Cards remain equipped normally. (In this scenario, Gaiasaber, the Virtual Knight will still be equipped with United We Stand, and Missus Radiant will still be equipped with Mage Power.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8724&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.