[OCG] 05/08/14 Rulings

05/08/14
Assorted rulings:

Q: If Imperial Order is activated in response to a Pendulum Monster being activated as a Spell Card in the Pendulum Zone, what happens to the Pendulum Monster? Also, if Rank-Up-Magic Numeron Force negates the effects of a Pendulum Monster already in the Pendulum Zone, can that Pendulum Monster no longer be used to perform a Pendulum Summon?
A: If Imperial Order is activated in response to a Pendulum Monster being activated as a Spell Card in the Pendulum Zone, that Pendulum Monster will remain in the Pendulum Zone. The Pendulum effect of that monster is treated as a Spell effect and is negated by Imperial Order, but it is still possible to perform a Pendulum Summon if you have 2 cards in your Pendulum Zones. Also, even if Rank-Up-Magic Numeron Force negates the effects of a Pendulum Monster already in the Pendulum Zone, that Pendulum Monster can still be used to perform a Pendulum Summon.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13228&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When Special Summoning a Pendulum Monster from the Graveyard with Monster Reborn, is it possible to place that monster in the Pendulum Zone, instead of a Monster Card Zone?
A: No. For a Pendulum Monster to be placed in a Pendulum Zone, it needs to be activated as a Spell Card from the hand. In this case, the Pendulum Monster is Special Summoned by Monster Reborn to the Monster Card Zone as usual.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13225&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Pendulum Monster is in face-down Defense Position in a Monster Card Zone, and is then destroyed by Dark Hole, is it sent to the Graveyard? Also, if Relinquished equips itself with a Pendulum Monster, and that Pendulum Monster is then destroyed in the Spell & Trap Card Zone by Mystical Space Typhoon, is it sent to the Graveyard?
A: A face-down Defense Position Pendulum Monster in a Monster Card Zone will not be sent to the Graveyard when destroyed by Dark Hole, but is placed face-up in the Extra Deck. Similarly, if Relinquished equips itself with a Pendulum Monster, and that Pendulum Monster is then destroyed in the Spell & Trap Card Zone by Mystical Space Typhoon, it will not be sent to the Graveyard, and is placed face-up in the Extra Deck.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13227&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can a Pendulum Monster in a Pendulum Zone be replaced by activating another, as with Field Spell Cards?
A: Pendulum Monsters in a Pendulum Zone cannot be replaced by activating another, as with Field Spell Cards. Since each player controls 2 Pendulum Zones, they can only place Pendulum Monsters in each one-by-one. If you wish to place a Pendulum Monster in an occupied Pendulum Zone, the existing Pendulum Monster must first be removed by a card like Mystical Space Typhoon, and once the zone is free, the new Pendulum Monster can be placed there.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13226&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can the second effect of Artifact Durendal, which shuffles each player’s hand into the Deck and then has each player draw the same number of cards, be activated if either player does not have any cards in their hand?
A: Even if one or the other player does not have any cards in their hand, that effect of Artifact Durendal can be activated. (Only the player with cards in their hand will proceed with the effect.) Note that if both players have 0 cards in their hand, this effect cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13239&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Is it possible to activate Artifact Sanctum during the opponent’s turn? Also, if Artifact Sanctum is destroyed by the opponent during their turn, can its second effect be activated?
A: A Set Artifact Sanctum can be activated during the opponent’s turn. (The effect to Special Summon an “Artifact” monster from the Deck is applied normally.) If Artifact Sanctum is destroyed during the opponent’s turn by their Mystical Space Typhoon, its effect to destroy 1 card on the field can be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13236&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Is it possible to chain the effect of Breakthrough Skill from the Graveyard to other cards/effects?
A: The Graveyard effect of Breakthrough Skill is treated as Spell Speed 2. Therefore it is possible to chain this effect to other cards/effects, but not to Spell Speed 3 effects like Counter Trap Cards.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13240&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Are monsters Set by the effect of The Shallow Grave considered Special Summoned? For example, when a monster is Set by The Shallow Grave, can Torrential Tribute be activated?
A: Monsters Set by the effect of The Shallow Grave are considered Special Summoned. Thus, when a monster is Set by The Shallow Grave, Torrential Tribute can be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13233&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Stardust Spark Dragon targets an Evilswarm Thanatos which is made unaffected by other monster effects through its own effect, will the effects of Stardust Spark Dragon be applied to it? Furthermore, if the effect of Stardust Spark Dragon is used on Evilswarm Thanatos, and then later Evilswarm Thanatos activates its effect, will the effects of Stardust Spark Dragon be applied to it?
A: If Stardust Spark Dragon targets an Evilswarm Thanatos which is made unaffected by other monster effects through its own effect, the effect of Stardust Spark Dragon will not be applied. If this effect was already applied, and then later Evilswarm Thanatos activates its effects, the effect of Stardust Spark Dragon will continue to apply.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13232&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Which effects of Night Assailant are negated by Royal Command?
A: While Royal Command is active, the activation and effects of any Flip Effect monster’s effects will be negated. (Even if a monster with a Flip Effect has an additional Continuous effect, etc., it will be negated.) Thus, it will negate not only the Flip Effect of Night Assailant, but its effect that activates when it is sent from the hand to the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13230&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Which effects of Slate Warrior are negated by Royal Command?
A: While Royal Command is active, the activation and effects of any Flip Effect monster’s effects will be negated. (Even if a monster with a Flip Effect has an additional Continuous effect, etc., it will be negated.) Thus, it will negate not only the Flip Effect of Slate Warrior, but its effect that activates when it is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13229&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Suppose a monster that had its ATK/DEF halved by Blackwing – Gale the Whirlwind battles and Forbidden Scripture is activated during damage calculation. After damage calculation, what is the ATK/DEF of that monster?
A: Forbidden Scripture makes it so that damage calculation is conducted using the original ATK/DEF of the battling monsters, but the actual ATK/DEF is not changed. Therefore, after damage calculation, the ATK/DEF of that monster remains halved.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13231&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Suppose a Fire King High Avatar Garunix is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, then banished from the Graveyard by D.D. Crow, but then returned to the Graveyard by Burial from a Different Dimension. Is it possible to activate the effect of Fire King High Avatar Garunix during the next Standby Phase to Special Summon it from the Graveyard? Additionally, if Fire King High Avatar Garunix is destroyed and banished by Bottomless Trap Hole, but then returned to the Graveyard by Burial from a Different Dimension, is it possible to activate the effect of Fire King High Avatar Garunix during the next Standby Phase to Special Summon it from the Graveyard?
A: In both cases, it is not possible to activate the effect of Fire King High Avatar Garunix to Special Summon itself.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13234&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the first effect of Gorgonic Guardian is used on Dandylion, and during that same turn its second effect is used to destroy Dandylion, will the effect of Dandylion which activates in the Graveyard be negated?
A: Even if the effects of Dandylion were negated on the field by Gorgonic Guardian, its effect will not be negated when it is sent to the Graveyard. The effect to Special Summon 2 Fluff Tokens will be applied normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13235&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Gear Gigant X and a Level 3 or lower “Geargia” monster which is attached to it as an Xyz Material are sent to the Graveyard simultaneously, can the effect of Gear Gigant X Special Summon that same “Geargia” monster from the Graveyard?
A: If a Gear Gigant X and a Level 3 or lower “Geargia” monster which is attached to it as an Xyz Material are sent to the Graveyard simultaneously, the effect of Gear Gigant X can Special Summon that same “Geargia” monster from the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13237&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons