[OCG] 03/16/17 Weekly Rulings Update

OCG rulings for 03/16/17.

Q: I activate Soul Exchange, targeting my opponent’s Invoked Raidjin, but my opponent chains the effect of Invoked Raidjin and changes it to face-down Defense Position. In this situation, can I Special Summon a Cyber Tutubon from my hand by Tributing my opponent’s monster?
A: In this scenario, even if a face-up monster that was targeted with Soul Exchange is in face-down Defense Position when the effect resolves, the effect of Soul Exchange will still be applied. However, when Special Summoning Cyber Tutubon from your hand by its own effect, a face-down monster on your opponent’s field to which the effect of Soul Exchange is being applied cannot be Tributed. (You can Tribute a Warrior or Fairy-Type monster from your own field or hand normally.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10310&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Soul Exchange this turn, targeting my opponent’s face-up Alpha the Magnet Warrior. Afterward, if Book of Moon is activated and that Alpha the Magnet Warrior is changed to face-down Defense Position, will the effect of Soul Exchange continue to apply?
A: If a face-up monster, to which the effect of Soul Exchange is being applied, is then changed to face-down Defense Position, the effect of Soul Exchanges stops applying and you cannot Tribute that monster. (Since Soul Exchange was activated, you still cannot conduct your Battle Phase this turn.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10307&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Insect Queen has destroyed an opponent’s monster by battle this turn. During my Main Phase 2, if my opponent activates Raigeki Break and destroys Insect Queen, will its effect that Special Summons an Insect Monster Token still activate during the End Phase?
A: Even if Insect Queen destroyed a monster by battle this turn, if it is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard before the End Phase, its effect that Special Summons an Insect Monster Token does not activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8975&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activated Scapegoat during my Main Phase. In this situation, if I Special Summon a Gilasaurus from my hand with its own effect, how will the effect that allows my opponent to Special Summon a monster from their Graveyard resolve?
A: If Gilasaurus is Special Summoned from your hand with its own effect, its second effect that allows your opponent to Special Summon a monster from their Graveyard is mandatory to activate. In this case, since your opponent activated Scapegoat and cannot Special Summon other monsters, your opponent cannot Special Summon a monster from their Graveyard with the effect of Gilasaurus.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8592&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Mound of the Bound Creator, then chain Spell Reclamation. Afterward, what happens when Mound of the Bound Creator is destroyed by my opponent’s Mystical Space Typhoon?
A: As soon as a Spell Card is sent to the Graveyard after the effect of Spell Reclamation resolves, it is added from your Graveyard to your hand. In this case, you cannot activate the effect of Mound of the Bound Creator that adds a DIVINE monster from your Deck to your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8598&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Sword of Deep-Seated, then chain Spell Reclamation. Afterward, what happens when Sword of Deep-Seated is destroyed by my opponent’s Mystical Space Typhoon?
A: As soon as a Spell Card is sent to the Graveyard after the effect of Spell Reclamation resolves, it is added from your Graveyard to your hand. In this case, the effect of Sword of Deep-Seated that returns it to the top of the Deck does not activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8607&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Number 81: Superdreadnought Rail Cannon Super Dora that is unaffected by other card effects due to its own effect, and an Ultimate Tyranno, are face-up on my field in Attack Position. In this situation, if I enter my Battle Phase, which monsters can attack?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Ultimate Tyranno prevents other monsters from attacking as long as Ultimate Tyranno is able to attack, but Number 81: Superdreadnought Rail Cannon Super Dora is unaffected by that effect. In this case, you can attack with either Ultimate Tyranno or Number 81: Superdreadnought Rail Cannon Super Dora.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8621&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Mare Mare and Tatsunoko are face-up on my field. In this situation, after I activate the effect of Mare Mare and Special Summon a Mini Mare Mare Token, my opponent activates Torrential Tribute and destroys all monsters on the field. At this time, can I activate Torrential Reborn?
A: In this scenario, you can activate Torrential Reborn. In this case, since Mare Mare cannot be Special Summoned other than by the effect of a Wyrm-Type monster, only Tatsunoko is Special Summoned and your opponent takes 500 damage.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8126&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: There are 2 monsters on my opponent’s field with a current ATK higher than their original ATK. In this situation, if I activate the Pendulum Effect of Performapal Laugh Maker, how many Life Points do I gain?
A: The Pendulum Effect of Performapal Laugh Maker increases your Life Points by 1000. Even if there are 2 or more monsters on your opponent’s field with current ATK higher than their original ATK, the amount of Life Points you gain does not change.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8980&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I take battle or effect damage during the Battle Phase, I Special Summon a Speedroid Gum Prize from my hand with its own effect. During the same Battle Phase, that Speedroid Gum Prize is banished until the end of the Battle Phase by the effect of my opponent’s Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon. In this case, after Speedroid Gum Prize returns to the field, can I activate its effect that performs a Synchro Summon?
A: Even if a Speedroid Gum Prize that was Special Summoned by its own effect is banished by the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon during that Battle Phase, you can activate the effect that performs a Synchro Summon after it returns to the field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8988&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Flower Cardian Moonflower that lets me draw 1 card, but also skips my next Draw Phase. The drawn card is Flower Cardian Zebra Grass with Moon, so it is Special Summoned, but I do not attack directly with it. In that case, do I still skip my next Draw Phase?
A: Even if you do not attack directly with the monster Special Summoned by the effect of Flower Cardian Moonflower, you still skip your next Draw Phase as usual.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8822&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Flower Cardian Moonflower that lets me draw 1 card, but also skips my next Draw Phase. If my opponent chains the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring and negates the effect, do I still skip my next Draw Phase?
A: Skipping your next Draw Phase is part of the effect of Flower Cardian Moonflower. Therefore, in this scenario, since the effect is negated by the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring, your next Draw Phase is not skipped.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9465&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Windwitch – Ice Bell that Special Summons it from my hand and lets me Special Summon a “Windwitch” monster from my Deck. If my opponent chains the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring and negates the effect, can I still Special Summon monsters from my Extra Deck other than Level 5 or higher WIND monsters this turn?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring negates the effect of Windwitch – Ice Bell that Special Summons it from your hand. Even in that case, since the effect was successfully activated in your hand, you cannot Special Summon monsters from your Extra Deck this turn, other than Level 5 or higher WIND monsters.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14075&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Magical Meltdown is face-up in my Field Zone. If I activate Future Fusion, but my opponent chains Magic Jammer, will the activation be negated?
A: Since the activation of Future Fusion does not include an effect that Fusion Summons, the effect of Magical Meltdown will not be applied. Therefore, the activation of Future Fusion is negated by Magic Jammer, and it is destroyed.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8600&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Magical Meltdown is face-up in my Field Zone. If I activate the effect of a face-up Future Fusion during my Standby Phase, but my opponent chains the effect of Cosmic Blazar Dragon, will the activation be negated?
A: The effect of Future Fusion that sends monsters from your Main Deck to the Graveyard during the first Standby Phase after the card was activated is not an effect that performs a Fusion Summon, so the effect of Magical Meltdown will not be applied. (Your opponent can negate the activation of this effect with Cosmic Blazar Dragon.) The effect of Future Fusion that Special Summons the Fusion Monster during the second Standby Phase after it was activated is an effect that Fusion Summons a monster, so the effect of Magical Meltdown will be applied. (The activation will not be negated by the effect of Cosmic Blazar Dragon.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8797&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.