[OCG] 02/24/20 Rulings Update

Some reversals and minor updates.

 

Q: I begin my turn with my opponent having a face-up El Shaddoll Winda in their Monster Zone, and its effect that only allows each player to Special Summon once per turn is applying. If I activate the effect of SPYRAL Super Agent, and when it resolves the top card of my opponent’s Deck is not the card type that I declared, am I unable to Special Summon this turn?
A: In this scenario, the effect of SPYRAL Super Agent finishes resolving by revealing the top card of your opponent’s Deck. Since it was not Special Summoned, you can Special Summon monsters through other methods once that turn.

Source

 

Q: Can I activate Urgent Ritual Art during my Battle Phase by banishing Forbidden Arts of the Gishki?
A: You cannot conduct your Battle Phase during the turn you activate Forbidden Arts of the Gishki. The same applies when you apply the effect of Forbidden Arts of the Gishki using Urgent Ritual Art. If you activate Urgent Ritual Art during your Battle Phase, you cannot banish Forbidden Arts of the Gishki as the cost. (If you activate Urgent Ritual Art during your opponent’s Battle Phase, you can still banish Forbidden Arts of the Gishki as the cost.)

Source

 

Q: I activate Pendulum Xyz targeting my Odd-Eyes Phantom Dragon and Odd-Eyes Persona Dragon in my Pendulum Zones, with only Odd-Eyes Mirage Dragon in my Main Monster Zone. If my opponent chains Ojama Trio and Special Summons 3 Ojama Tokens to my field, how does Pendulum Xyz resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Pendulum Xyz cannot Special Summon the 2 monsters from your Pendulum Zones, so the effect is not applied. (Odd-Eyes Phantom Dragon and Odd-Eyes Persona Dragon both remain in your Pendulum Zones.)

Source

 

Q: The Fabled Unicore and Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror are both face-up on my field, and my opponent Tribute Summons a Caius the Shadow Monarch and activates its effect. If both players have the same number of cards in their hands when the effect resolves, how are the effects of The Fabled Unicore and Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror applied?
A: In this scenario, the effects of both The Fabled Unicore and Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror are applied, and the effect of Caius the Shadow Monarch is negated. (In this case, Caius the Shadow Monarch is destroyed by the effect of The Fabled Unicore.)

Source

 

Q: Orcustrated Babel is face-up in my Field Zone, and its effect that allows “Orcust” monsters to activate their effects as Quick Effects is applying. In this situation, when activating the effect of an “Orcust” monster as a Quick Effect, can I activate it during the Damage Step?
A: The effect of Orcustrated Babel allows you to activate the effects of “Orcust” monsters in your Graveyard and Link Monsters on your field with “Orcust” in their original names as Quick Effects during either player’s turn. However, even if these effects are activated as Quick Effects, only the effects of Orcustrion and Orcust Knightmare can be activated during the Damage Step. (If they are activated during the Damage Step, they must be activated at the start of the Damage Step or before damage calculation.)

Source

 

Q: I activate Necro Fusion, and use a Dark Magician and Red-Eyes B. Dragon in my Graveyard as materials to Fusion Summon Dragun of Red-Eyes. In this case, can I still activate the effect of Dragun of Red-Eyes twice per turn?
A: In this scenario, Dragun of Red-Eyes was Fusion Summoned using 2 Normal Monsters as materials. Therefore, you can activate its effect up to twice per turn.

Source

 

Q: Can I target a WIND Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster with the effect of Harpie Dancer?
A: You can target a WIND Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster with the effect of Harpie Dancer. In that case, the targeted monster returns to the Extra Deck instead of the hand, and you cannot apply the part of the effect that Normal Summons a WIND monster.

Source

 

Q: Can I target a FIRE Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster with the effect of Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Lion Emperor?
A: You can target a FIRE Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster with the effect of Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Lion Emperor. In that case, the targeted monster returns to the Extra Deck instead of the hand. Furthermore, the part of the effect that prevents you from Normal or Special Summoning that monster or monsters with the same name for the rest of this turn is applied normally.

Source

 

Q: Can I target a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster that’s treated as an Equip Card by the effect of Relinquished with the effect of Cosmic Fortress Gol’gar?
A: You can target a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster treated as an Equip Card with the effect of Cosmic Fortress Gol’gar. In that case, the targeted monster returns to the Extra Deck instead of the hand, so when you place A-Counters on monsters, the returned Fusion/Synchro/Xyz/Link Monster does not count towards the number of counters placed.

Source

 

Q: When activating the second effect of Cyber Repair Plant, can I target a LIGHT Machine Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster in my Graveyard such as Cyber Twin Dragon or Cyber Dragon Nova?
A: You can target a LIGHT Machine Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster in your Graveyard with the second effect of Cyber Repair Plant. In that case, the targeted monster returns to your Extra Deck instead of your Deck.

Source

 

Q: If the effect of Vanity’s Fiend is applying, can I activate Starlight Road? Also, can I activate Starlight Road even if I do not have a Stardust Dragon in my Extra Deck?
A: Even if the effect of Vanity’s Fiend is applying and you cannot Special Summon any monsters, you can still activate Starlight Road. (Regardless of whether or not you have a Stardust Dragon in your Extra Deck.) In that case, the effect of Starlight Road negates and destroys normally, but Stardust Dragon is not Special Summoned.

Source

 

Q: Performapal Momoncarpet is in my opponent’s Pendulum Zone, and its effect that halves battle damage is applying. In this situation, if my Muscle Medic attacks my opponent directly, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Muscle Medic makes your opponent gain Life Points instead of taking battle damage. Therefore, since your opponent does not take battle damage, the effect of Performapal Momoncarpet is not applied, and your opponent gains 2200 Life Points.

Source

 

Q: My Neo Super Quantal Mech King Blaster Magna is in the Extra Monster Zone, and my Super Quantal Mech Beast Lusterrex was Special Summoned from the Extra Deck to a Main Monster Zone it points to. When the effect of Neo Super Quantal Mech King Blaster Magna activates, if I chain Call of the Haunted and Special Summon another Super Quantal Mech Beast Lusterrex from my Graveyard, do I still draw a card?
A: As in this scenario, even if another monster with the same name as the one that made the effect of Neo Super Quantal Mech King Blaster Magna activate is face-up in your Monster Zone when that effect resolves, you draw a card normally.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of Starving Venom Fusion Dragon, targeting a face-up Meteor Dragon Red-Eyes Impact in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this case, when Starving Venom Fusion Dragon gains the name and effects of Meteor Dragon Red-Eyes Impact, is it no longer treated as a Fusion Monster, and can it not be targeted by De-Fusion?
A: If you activate the effect of Starving Venom Fusion Dragon targeting a Gemini monster, it will be treated as a Normal Monster due to the effect it gains, but it will not stop being treated as a Fusion Monster. Therefore, you can target that Starving Venom Fusion Dragon with De-Fusion normally.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.